We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bay Cafe' on Lopez Island”
Review of Bay Cafe - CLOSED

Bay Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Bay welcomes you with waterfront views, a cozy fireplace and bayside patio. We feature fresh, local ingredients throughout our continental-new American style menu along with personalized service from our friendly staff. Specialties include Tim's famous clam chowder, salads with island grown greens, stone fired pizzas and seasonal seafood specials. We look forward to welcoming you with amazing food, great service and of course, a table with a view. Summer Hours - Open 7 days a week June through October at 5pm for dinner and Friday, Saturday & Sunday at noon for lunch. Winter Hours - Wednesday through Sunday opening at 5pm for dinner, Saturday and Sunday open at noon for lunch
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Bay Cafe' on Lopez Island”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place deserves four stars, already rated by trip review. The food is well prepared and the service is friendly, unobtrusive and courteous. It's worth the 45 minute ferry ride from Anacortes to get here! This restaurant would stand up to any restaurant in Seattle for the quality of food and service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemteck60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    20
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“White Tableclothes on Lopez?”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Lopez Island is a funky place from the 1960"s. We didn't expect to see a white tablecloth kind of restaurant in the island but went to the Bay at the suggestion of our friends, who are island residents.
The Bay could hold it's own in an urban environment like Seattle. The food and service are first class. Add to that a waterfront view and location that set the stage for a wonderful experience. There were four in our party and all had wonderful meals. Due to the wine I cannot tell you what they ate but can say no one was disappointed.
Very professional service and wonderful food. What more could you ask in any restaurant?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank freelancesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, Lopez's best”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Great menu!!Host are the best, most helpful. Great well rounded selection. Views were very scenic and relaxing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zinger404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopez Island, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Favorite”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Bay's food and service is always wonderful. We have never had a bad meal since Tim and Kristin have been owners. You are always greeted with a warm welcome and smiles. The food is always prepared as requested.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, IL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Scallops”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This little unassuming "cafe" offered an interesting and delicious menu, a good selection of wines, and excellent views. Service was superb. I had a scallop risotto that was divine. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMGRiverton_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay Cafe also viewed

Lopez Island, San Juan Islands
Lopez Island, San Juan Islands
 
Lopez Island, San Juan Islands
Lopez Island, San Juan Islands
 
Lopez Island, San Juan Islands
Lopez Island, San Juan Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing