We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private but gloomy and dark”
Review of Blue Fjord Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lopez Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Fjord Cabins
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Private but gloomy and dark”
Reviewed July 31, 2007

A very private dark treed setting. Almost no light reached the cabin (Norway) so that you wouldn't know that it was a beautiful day outside. It was much colder in the cabin than the surrounding Island (and it's generally not hot on Lopez) so be prepared to put on your sweater when at the cabin. Sun was available at the gazebo but it was a 5 minute walk on a poor trail.

The cabin was well outfitted and comfortable but did smell musty or of mildew. The road was not suitable for a road bicycle but perfectly passable for a mountain bicycle or vehicle.

There are better lodging opportunities available on Lopez.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — light
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank seattlekite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cottonwood, ca
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We stayed at the Blue Fjord during our honeymoon in July. At the time we booked it was late in the summer and there was limited availability everywhere on the the island. I was happy choosing the Blue Fjords. Dealing with the owners was great for information and booking. They are very friendly and eager to help make your stay on Lopez a great one. When we arrived at the cabins we were content with our accommodations. This is because I had accurate expectations. This is not the Four Seasons. It is a rustic, one room cabin in a forested area (although you are actually only yards from the ocean - there is a great trail that leads you down to the water). The cabins were cozy and modestly decorated. The bed was WONDERFULLY, AMAZINGLY comfortable. There could be some upgrades, but when you are on Lopez you do not want to spend all your time in your room when you can be outside meeting the wonderful residents of the island and taking in the amazing views and landscape. The cabins are down a dirt road, but a previous poster said it was difficult to travel on in a sedan...hello? Where do you live...my driveway is bumpier than the road to the cabins. In fact, we rode our bikes to the cabin (which I do not recommend if you are out of shape :)

My only complaint was the musty odor. I am not sure what the owners can do about it, but it was slightly annoying. My husband can't smell and it didn't bother him at all. Also, you must love the outdoors to stay here. If you are a high-maintenance person who doesn't like getting dirty, or seeing wildlife this is probably not the right place for you, but I thought the area was gorgeous.

Overall our stay was pleasant, not luxurious, but pleasant. I would give the cabins a 7-8 out of 10. If you need a place to stay and want to be in a tranquil, serene setting, this is the place for you. I live in the country and I had the most peaceful nights rest ever during my stay.

  • Liked — The tranquil setting, the view of the ocean
  • Disliked — The musty smell
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wileyswoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pocoglow
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We came to the Blue Fjord Cabins (Sweden cabin) after having a noisy experience at the Lopez Islander. We found the cabin charming- clean, nicely furnished, and welcoming. While it is off the beaten path (down a gravel road) this was no impediment to our stay. We loved the tranquil setting in the woods- we felt the location helped us enjoy the island.

A lovely place!

  • Liked — The quiet setting
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pocoglow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle,wa
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2007

The cabin was secluded and all the comforts needed for a romantic and quiet get away from the big city. It was close enough to town to go out and eat a wonderful dinner. We took walks around the cabin and just enjoyed the peacefulness offered. The cabin description is totally as described on their website and the owners were very friendly in setting up our reservation. We will visit again!

  • Liked — quiet and secluded feeling
  • Disliked — nothing---it was perfect
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liftapint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

I'm a frequent visitor to Lopez Island (3-4 times a year). After reading wanderer78's review of Blue Fjord Cabins, I had to check twice to see if it wasn't my wife writing the review because it was, virtually word-for-word, our experience at this place several years ago. The musty smell, the old furnishings, the dark and gloom, rutted road and unwelcoming owners. It's sad to hear that nothing has changed.

Fortunately, we found a wonderful rental house with great owners on our next trip to Lopez and stayed there on all our trips. Unfortunately, the house's owners are taking it off the rental market next month, so we're on the hunt for a new place!

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Naarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

This place doesn't come close to the description and pictures on their website. We wanted a nice romantic weekend in a private, comfortable place with very nice amenities for the $130 something a night. All we got was a place that reminded us of our grandma's run-down cabin out in the boonies of nowhere. Location is way off the paved road. Fine, but the dirt road was poorly maintained and hard on a sedan. Driving on this long dirt bumpy road to explore Lopez and back was a nightmare. The cabin had a distasteful odor (a moldy, old person smell). The carpet was old you didn't want to take off your shoes. Same with the old linoleum in the bathroom. The whole cabin was cold, dark and creepy, as though no one has been there in years. Good managers would at least turn on the heat for their guests. The bathroom was worse than the ones at summer camps growing up. Old fixtures and sinks, unclean, I mean, spend $10 bucks and get decent shower curtains for goodness sake. And the brass bed came straight out of the 70's, with mismatching 70's sheets and so-called duvet covers to go with it. OLD, OLD, OLD. The flowery patterns are fading rapidly. Lack of detail and care is evident everything. (Please sweep deck for guests and clean the cheap plastic chairs.) Our favorite: 10-inch TV with a faded note saying "Don't move rabbit ears, only get channel 5." We didn't go close to those ears. And the owners were not the friendliest and didn't make any effort to work with us to make our stay better. They will want you to pay in CASH upfront, so don't do it!! There's a good reason they want CASH. And their form of receipt is to just write "Paid" on a sheet of paper. Classy, indeed. We made a huge mistake on wasting our money at Blue Fjord, and we hope you learn from our folly. The management's long-winded response to Tage was a desperate plea for customers, and speaks to how much they have to defend this place to get any business. Trust us, don't waste your money here. Lopez is so beautiful, and so many beautiful places to stay. For those who wrote positive reviews, well, we recommend for $130, go to Mackaye harbor Inn or the very romantic and private Lopez Farm cottages. Great accomodations, and good friendly owners. Same price, but it's like night and day!

  • Liked — Our own parking spot right below the cabin.
  • Disliked — Everything else.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2007

We stayed at Blue Fjord Cabins for a week and loved it. It was the perfect peaceful retreat, surrounded by nature and quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. The cabins are very small and rustic, and lack fancy amenities like cable TV, but if you are looking for an out-of-the-way retreat where you can relax and unwind, Blue Fjord Cabins can't be beat. The price was great for the San Juans. We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Peaceful atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was great!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank compuhund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopez Island
4.3 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
9.1 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
15.6 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
8.3 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
13.1 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#3 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Fjord Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Fjord Cabins

Property: Blue Fjord Cabins
Address: RR 1 BOX 1450, Lopez Island, WA 98261
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lopez Island
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two cozy chalet-style cabins in the woods provide tranquil seclusion. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing