We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn”
Review of MacKaye Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MacKaye Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lopez Island B&B and Inns
Riverton, IL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming Inn”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A friend and I traveled to Lopez Island to hike and bird watch. We stayed at MacKaye Harbor Inn one evening and wished we could have stayed longer. Each room was charmingly decorated, with marvelous views from each window. The large front porch was so inviting. Hosts Robin and Mike were friendly and welcoming. Robin served a delightful breakfast. I highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DMGRiverton_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
45
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We planned a stay here based upon reviews of prior guests. Every now and then you meet a couple like Robin and Mike(the couple in charge ). The hospitality was instant. Mike met us with a smile and gave us the tour & keys to our lovely room with a view of the Bay. We had a private deck to ourselves if you choose The Captains Room. Robin made us aware of all of the sights, hikes, restaurants. Mike fitted & provided us w/ bicycles & helmets. Kayaks are for rent on sight w/ or w/out a guide. The sightseeing brochure provided by Robin & Mike was spot on. The sights and hikes were close by on a mere bike trip or short auto trip. We took the bikes to a gorgeous Cove & had it to ourselves (except for an otter who swam around eating his lunch while curiously watching us). The breakfasts were superb, thanks to Robins gourmet cooking. Chatting w/the hosts and guests, all visiting, planning, sharing experiences starts your day right. Rooms were lovely, clean and quiet.
Evening chocolates w/ Port wine are the perfect choice for watching a lovely sunset across the Bay Harbor. Thanks, Robin & Mike for making ours a memorable stay. Your new Texas friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room Facing the Harbor. Well worth the few extra $.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this lovingly cared-for B & B on quiet, rural Lopez Island. The views and chairs on the beach and lawn make one feel very much at home. Near beautiful Agate Cove and Iceberg Point, this inn includes warm hosts and a delicious, home-cooked breakfast.
Every room is spotless and comfortable. Some have harbor views. We sat on the beach and saw an otter enjoying an evening swim.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I had stayed at nice B & Bs on San Juan Island, and also Orcas Island---this was our first visit to Lopez. We stayed in the Blue Room on the second floor with awesome views of the water and boats. Even though the bathroom was small, it posed no problem for us. Spotlessly clean room/bathroom, comfortable bed, peaceful setting, friendly and helpful hosts Mike and Robin, tasty/fresh/healthy breakfasts, complimentary bikes for use, kayaking nearby, port wine and chocolate each evening, fun hikes and lovely scenery----what's not to love!!! Looking forward to returning again someday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have stayed on Lopez before so knew the island. The location is perfect for seclusion but as bicyclists we found the location a problem for evening meals. We were in Blue Room with a perfect view for sunset and a view of the water in the harbour. Our only disappointment was the size of the shower stall. I am a small person but my elbows kept banging the walls of the shower stall which I hope didn't disturb the people in the next room. My husband was very surprised at the cost of the room. We have stayed in many cities and inns but felt the price was very high. Our hosts were friendly and helpful in every respect. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the evening port and chocolates. Lopez is a friendly pastoral island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large shower stall if that is your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinski, Owner at MacKaye Harbor Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We wish we knew your concerns during your visit but appreciate the opportunity to respond now.
The Blue Room has the smallest bathroom of all our rooms, shower being 2" less than standard. When remodeling is allowed by county regulations for historic homes but adding floor space is not, one does the best within the restrictions. Regarding the price, please compare any other room on Lopez or in the San Juans that is waterfront with private bath and includes breakfast for two, mt. bikes for two. We doubt it is available but if so, we will match that price.
Oh, I forgot the chocolate truffles and port available each evening. We also have a non-waterfront room for less with a very large bathroom that includes a shower 32" by 68" (large enough for two!). Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
Robin and Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I ventured to Lopez last week for a poetry writing workshop. Where I stayed was beside the point. I needed a bed. However, I hit upon a great place–The MacKaye Harbor Inn– offering sweet-simple comfort with a gorgeous view. The owners Mike and Robin have created an Inn that provides sweet relief from the bump and grind of the city. Home made pecan sticky buns, poached pears, gorgeous granola, fresh fruit... the whole thing wonderful served with a view.

In addition to the above, I locked my keys in the car and Mike and Robin knew who to call and how to get me to my workshop on time the next day. They go far to make sure there guests are comfortable but without being intrusive. They know there business well...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mde2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

this was my first trip to lopez island (we were there for a wedding) what a nice place. owners were very friendly and helpful. great place to kayak or bike-they have both free for guests. if u want peace and quiet ,stay here. we were in blue room which was a little small but worked out just fine. recommend it highly

Room Tip: the harbour suite across from us was bigger and a nicer bathroom for only 10$ more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopez Island
6.5 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
151 reviews
18.1 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
10.3 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
501 reviews
14.6 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
266 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKaye Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKaye Harbor Inn

Property: MacKaye Harbor Inn
Address: 949 Mackaye Harbor Rd, Lopez Island, WA 98261-8145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lopez Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacKaye Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location! Lopez Island's ONLY beachfront bed & breakfast inn. Delicious and plentiful breakfasts, complimentary mountain bikes and rental kayaks. Sandy beach, beautiful sunsets and chocolate truffles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your MacKaye Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing