We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Loved this B & B!"”
Review of MacKaye Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MacKaye Harbor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Lopez Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I had stayed at nice B & Bs on San Juan Island, and also Orcas Island---this was our first visit to Lopez. We stayed in the Blue Room on the second floor with awesome views of the water and boats. Even though the bathroom was small, it posed no problem for us. Spotlessly clean room/bathroom, comfortable bed, peaceful setting, friendly and helpful hosts Mike and Robin, tasty/fresh/healthy breakfasts, complimentary bikes for use, kayaking nearby, port wine and chocolate each evening, fun hikes and lovely scenery----what's not to love!!! Looking forward to returning again someday!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 87 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have stayed on Lopez before so knew the island. The location is perfect for seclusion but as bicyclists we found the location a problem for evening meals. We were in Blue Room with a perfect view for sunset and a view of the water in the harbour. Our only disappointment was the size of the shower stall. I am a small person but my elbows kept banging the walls of the shower stall which I hope didn't disturb the people in the next room. My husband was very surprised at the cost of the room. We have stayed in many cities and inns but felt the price was very high. Our hosts were friendly and helpful in every respect. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the evening port and chocolates. Lopez is a friendly pastoral island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large shower stall if that is your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinski, Owner at MacKaye Harbor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We wish we knew your concerns during your visit but appreciate the opportunity to respond now.
The Blue Room has the smallest bathroom of all our rooms, shower being 2" less than standard. When remodeling is allowed by county regulations for historic homes but adding floor space is not, one does the best within the restrictions. Regarding the price, please compare any other room on Lopez or in the San Juans that is waterfront with private bath and includes breakfast for two, mt. bikes for two. We doubt it is available but if so, we will match that price.
Oh, I forgot the chocolate truffles and port available each evening. We also have a non-waterfront room for less with a very large bathroom that includes a shower 32" by 68" (large enough for two!). Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
Robin and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I ventured to Lopez last week for a poetry writing workshop. Where I stayed was beside the point. I needed a bed. However, I hit upon a great place–The MacKaye Harbor Inn– offering sweet-simple comfort with a gorgeous view. The owners Mike and Robin have created an Inn that provides sweet relief from the bump and grind of the city. Home made pecan sticky buns, poached pears, gorgeous granola, fresh fruit... the whole thing wonderful served with a view.

In addition to the above, I locked my keys in the car and Mike and Robin knew who to call and how to get me to my workshop on time the next day. They go far to make sure there guests are comfortable but without being intrusive. They know there business well...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mde2trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

this was my first trip to lopez island (we were there for a wedding) what a nice place. owners were very friendly and helpful. great place to kayak or bike-they have both free for guests. if u want peace and quiet ,stay here. we were in blue room which was a little small but worked out just fine. recommend it highly

Room Tip: the harbour suite across from us was bigger and a nicer bathroom for only 10$ more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

While many destinations and inns oversell themselves as a getaway, MacKaye Harbor Inn is the real thing. With access to a secluded beach, water views from the porch and some rooms, free bikes, innovative breakfasts and easy access to some of Lopez's finest pleasures, the inn is worth every penny of the price tag. In the Pacific NW, weather will play a role in how your trip is assessed and ours was enhanced with bluebird skies - so would recommend trying for peak summer although this is their busiest time. Book well in advance for those July/August months and enjoy. One downside you may want to inquire about is the discontinuation of kayaking at the inn. While the harbor is very protected and often placid, there was a bureaucratic issue that currently prohibits all guests from paddling. We had partially chosen the inn because of the access to kayaking on beautiful MacKaye Harbor and spent much time planning it as a core activity. The innkeeper explained the situation after our arrival and offered an alternative but it was not what we had hoped for. While one of our greatest expectations was not met, we were able to plan around it, use the bikes to explore the beautiful island and in the end it only detracted slightly from an lovely experience in a beautiful, well run inn with congenial hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachvsMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My wife and I always have a little anxiety going to B and B's having had some bad experiences. We decided to try again and were we happy we did. McKay Harbor Inn was a delightful surprise...the setting on this quiet harbor, the wildlife, the camaraderie of the other guests, the wonderful breakfasts and, most of all, the hosts, Robin and Mike, made our three days there an unforgettable getaway. Our hosts displayed a welcoming warmth, helpfulness, and senses of humor that made us feel we've known them for a long time. Their beautiful home was comfortable and easily accessible to many beautiful hikes, bike rides (they provide great bikes and helmets), and wildlife sitings, even from our front porch. We watched an eagle one evening perched on a high branch, amenable to some great photo ops. We stayed in the Captains room which had it's own front porch. An added treat was the Port and chocolate truffles each eveningThis was definitely a place to return to. Robin rightfully takes greet pride in her baking skills and even has an available recipe book. And both Mike and Robin were wonderful conversationalists. This was our first trip to the San Juans and Lopez Island. We will return with our family someday and the McKay Harbor Inn. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We celebrated our 5th wedding anniversary with two nights at the MacKaye Harbor Inn. What a blessed choice! We will definitely NOT wait another 5 years to return! We had a wonderful stay, and Robin & Mike were the perfect hosts. MacKaye Harbor Inn is situated on the south end of Lopez Island, with close proximity to the island's premier hiking trails and truly world-class kayaking. Mike's "insider tips" helped us explore places that were not listed on the map, and Robin went out of her way to make sure that we had everything we needed to make our stay perfect (including a "to-go" breakfast so we could catch the early ferry). A highlight was sitting across the street -- right on the bay -- watching otters, terns, eagles and other critters come out as the sun was going down. This is truly a remarkable place, and Robin and Mike went out of their way to make sure we had a memorable and comfortable visit. One last comment... our breakfasts were delicious!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willametta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopez Island
6.5 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
164 reviews
10.3 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
487 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacKaye Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacKaye Harbor Inn

Address: 949 Mackaye Harbor Rd, Lopez Island, WA 98261-8145
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lopez Island
Price Range: $125 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — MacKaye Harbor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location! Lopez Island's ONLY beachfront bed & breakfast inn. Delicious and plentiful breakfasts, complimentary mountain bikes and rental kayaks. Sandy beach, beautiful sunsets and chocolate truffles! Come and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your MacKaye Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing