We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quiet ,comfortable camping !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lopez Farm Cottages & Tent Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lopez Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lopez Farm Cottages & Tent Camping
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quiet ,comfortable camping !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a unique establishment offering small comfortable cabins and walk in campsites. The campsites we used , A and B are offered to those without pets or children, which made for a quiet peaceful experience.
These camp sites have a hot shower ( very suitable to two people with two shower heads) , clean toilet, power outlet ( for charging cell phones) Micro wave oven, and a coffee maker. Also there is a barbeque pit , and hammock.

The cabins and campsite are located 3 kms. from the ferry dock so its easy to use this site as a base location for visiting all of this islands. Note we were there in late August and the blackberries bushes were filled with plentiful ripe berries

Room Tip: Even though a campsite may cost $ 45, its still a good value !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTetons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    14
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I want to be fair to this place. There are rave reviews, but a few mirror the feeling I got, that we (the paying guests) are there to help meet the farm payments. No particularly friendly welcome. Pretty much find your own way. Food ( the B of B&B) is found in a basket. I guess it was breakfast, but more likely a morning snack. ( No cereal, milk etc). The Wifi did not work in the cottages as advertised. ( It works in the parking lot...you can go there!!! per the proprietor.). So, people persons they are not, which is pretty well documented in other reviews.
It's a beautiful place...but so are other places on Lopez. Forget about riding road bikes to your cottage, even the parking lot...it's a thick gravel road from the highway.
So, would I stay there again. No...not unless I had to. It's such a pity, because with a little effort, and valuing the guests, it could be paradise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calypso2011_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in cottage #2 and I would go back in a heartbeat. Some highlights:
1. Double showerheads - !!!!!!!!
2. Amazing comfortable soft clean bed
3. Breakfast basket every day !!!!!
4. SHEEP.
5. So quiet, peaceful, private, lots of stars, beautiful and relaxing - even the deer and bunnies are mellow, just grazing in the field
6. The hot tub nestled under the trees
7. The house was warm inside despite the chilly nights
I absolutely love this place and I think you will too. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We make camping at Lopez farm cottages an annual adventure. Some of what others have indicated they didn't care for make me like the place. Never see the owners? I'm happy to be left to our own devices and not watched over. Potentially persnickety owner -- hey, adds to the sense of adventure and I've yet to have a negative encounter. No tv? I don't really need to speak to that one, do I?
Fantastic location for taking your bike on the ferry adn

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyeager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a great time camping at Lopez Farms. We stayed in campsite B which shares a bathroom and shower with 2 other campsites. Campsites A-C are nice because they are far from the gravel road and parking which keeps them quiet, but this also means that you have to wheel your stuff all that way. The campsites are roomy and they provide a small side table and 2 chairs. The highlight of the campsites is definitely the relaxing hammock.

The location is nice being close to town and not too far from driving to most of Lopez attractions. The down side is that you’re not really walking distance to any beaches.

One complaint I have is that there is only 1 shared picnic table in the general area for the 3 campsites instead of each campsite having its own.

In the cleanliness department I would give the bathroom and shower 5 stars, but the small table, chairs, and shared picnic table 1 star. It looks like they hadn't been wiped down at all this year. I leaned back to relax in the chair and ended up with bird poop on my shirt.

I would stay at Lopez Farm again even though it was kind of expensive for camping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderluster4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I knew I would like this place from the photos on the web but not only did I like it I LOVED IT! If I ever want to run away from home this is where I would run to. The cottages are situated off the beaten path in a grove of evergreen trees. In the morning and evenings there are regular visitors...DEER grazing in the pasture in front and behind the cottage. The outside of the cottage is quite cute but the inside is unbelievable....fireplace, very comfy bed, shower with dual heads, hardwood floors, cedar ceiling. And to top it off a continental breakfast is delivered every day!

Lopez Island is laid back. The residents are very friendly in that every motorist waves to you! If you want to get away from it all and decompress...head to Lopez Island!

Room Tip: There are 5 cottages...cottages 2-5 are lined up in a row. Cottage 1 is larger and is in a separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to spend 4th of July on Orcas last summer, but needed a place to stay one extra night until our house rental opened up. Orcas was completely booked, so I found Lopez Farm Cottages on nearby Lopez Island. First of all, Lopez is SO gorgeous, and a really beautiful place to vacation. Secondly, the Farm Cottages were fantastic - we stayed in one of their tent sites. The sites were just secluded enough, very accessible, and the scenery and surroundings were phenomenal!! We bought some groceries and went down to the communal grill/outdoor kitchen area to hang out with our fellow campers. Everyone staying there was really friendly, and one guy who brought his mandolin entertained us by the fireside with his music. At one point, it started raining, but then as soon as it cleared up, a huge double rainbow appeared across the field where sheep were grazing. It was magical. (I'll have to see if I can find some of my photos from the trip. I know we snapped some of the rainbows.) I cannot say enough good things about this place. I look forward to returning (and actually hope I can convince my boyfriend to just stay on Lopez instead of going to Orcas this year). Thanks, Lopez Farm Cottages!! Your rock.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lopez Island
1.3 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
5.2 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
8.0 mi away
Pebble Cove Farm
Pebble Cove Farm
#1 of 11 in Orcas Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
5.9 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lopez Farm Cottages & Tent Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopez Farm Cottages & Tent Camping

Property: Lopez Farm Cottages & Tent Camping
Address: Fisherman Bay Road, Lopez Island, WA 98261
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > Lopez Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lopez Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 acres - Privacy - Northwest Scandinavian Cottages in a cedar grove. Fireplace, Kitchen, Spa, Breakfast delivered in a basket. We also have Gourmet Tent Glamping and Camping in a peaceful wooded setting. Camp Building with Fireplace, Barbecues, Microwave, morning coffee. Only campground on Lopez Island with showers and flush toilets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lopez Farm Cottages And Tent Camping
Lopez Farm Cottages & Tent Camping Hotel Lopez Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing