We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice But Needs Work”

The Rutherglen Mansion
Ranked #5 of 13 things to do in Longview
Attraction details
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Nice But Needs Work”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A vestige of one of the old tycoons of the area, Rutherglen evokes a sense of what luxury must have been like when it was built. Unfortunately, the general atmosphere is disheveled and could use a good bit of organizing. They presented a tasty brunch buffet during which they ran out of biscuits. The maitre d' assured me that he would get some, but when I reminded him about 15 minutes later he told me there were none. A server assured me that he would bake some shortly. We were with a tour group and our guide was nice enough to inspect the plates and separate the clean ones from those that weren't quite clean before we passed through the serving line. Bathroom facilities were inadequate and dated. Table service was slow but courteous. All in all, it was a fairly unique experience and not entirely unpleasant, but I would hesitate to recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sungron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chehalis, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding view”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My friend and I were with a Discovery Tour last Sunday and stopped by for brunch on our way to see War Horse in Portland. It is very nice to lookout over the valley. The brunch and staff were outstanding. It was very clean. The prime rib was to die for, desserts were very good. The priceing of the food was included in our tour, so not sure how the prices are. It being a B&B also, I think it would nice to try some time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AGB4468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Classic Beauty”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Picturesque B & B overlooking Longview & Columbia River. Historic preservation work in progress. Unique dining experience, too.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DWeb98632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything new at the Mansion”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Same Mansion but a complete makeover from Staff to floors. The Owner Reuben grendahl has seemed to clean house. The place is sparkling and All new employees makes for pleasant change. Wine tasting on Wednesday's has step up a beat with some delightful desserts and great music. We recently Stayed in the B&B there were 4 adults and two children. It's not a traditional B&B The Children were very welcomed ro be kids play a piano, look for a ghost or two and just look around a great big house. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in. You are able to have complete privacy in a Beautiful Historical Mansion. In the past we have also had our young grandaughter's memorial reception here. More recently our young grandaughter's princess Birthday Party. Where her fariy tale came true.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONGVIEW
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A blast from the past!”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The wait staff is uber friendly, the food delicious, and the event unusual. Give it a shot and share it with something special.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RHONDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rutherglen Mansion also viewed

 

Been to The Rutherglen Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing