We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Park Inn at Mount Rainier

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longmire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National Park Inn at Mount Rainier
Ranked #1 of 1 Longmire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We shared a wonderful weekend getaway for our anniversary at the National Park Inn. Our room with bath was clean and very comfortable. The Pendleton wool blanket on the bed was a nice touch. The cozy fireplace lounge was a great place to rest, read and visit with new friends. The three meals we ate in the restaurant were excellent. The food quality was good and the service friendly and relaxed. . . .just the way it should be for a restful weekend. Considering the location of the inn and the quality of the food served the prices for both the room and restaurant are good. The building staff were also very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ronslunchlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Happy Anniversary! Thank you so much for taking a moment to share your experience. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope we the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    111
    46
    15
    8
See reviews for
62
141
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
263 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

The National Park Inn is a pleasant stopover. We were there for three nights with friends over the low season this January. The hotel was almost empty. For this reason I wonder why we were given room 22 which sits directly above the noisy fan system in the kitchen. Although I have never been on a cruise I felt we were getting a cruise experience - constant noise and vibration. I asked that the fan be turned off the second night - which was done after dinner. The third day it remained on all day and night - again. There is really no excuse for this. Other than the room issue we found the hotel old but pleasant. The food was good but overpriced.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 22
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DennisUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. First, allow me to apologize for the constant noise you experienced in your room. This is certainly not indicative of our goal to provide a quiet, restful stay for all of our guests and we will forward your comments to our management team for appropriate action.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience and we certainly hope you have the opportunity to visit again.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to spend several hours hiking in Mt. Rainier so we did an over night at the lodge. It was a bit more than your average hotel cost but at $165/night, still worth the convenience. Fantastic view of Rainier from the bedroom window. Very quiet rooms - no TV or wifi. Perfect. Incredibly comfortable beds, plenty of hot water and polite hosts. Breakfast in the restaurant is outstanding and sometimes included with the room. Despite the cost, I would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank powellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and certainly hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
368 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

I love historic inns which is why I wanted to stay here. This rustic inn is located a short distance from the Nisqually entrance of Mount Rainier NP. The hotel staff was friendly but apparently had multiple duties to perform (like serving refreshments to those on the front porch - so we had to wait to check-in). I understand they may have been short-staffed because we came later in the tourist season (mid-September). Some guest rooms have shared baths/showers but our small second-floor, corner room (#26) had a private bathroom with a view of the woods and parking lot. The queen-size bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Electrical outlets for charging electronic devices were limited. The street-side rooms had a view of Mount Rainier. Based on my experience, the price was high for this type of hotel room but the location and view are what you are paying for here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great view, minimal rooms, friendly service. If you plan to spend some time enjoying the views at the hotel, the two hotels in the park are your best bet. If most if your day will be spent out and about you may be better looking at the cabins or B&B's outside of the park for a more affordable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
Level Contributor
140 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Park of Mount Rainier is unforgetable
Very silent and cleam and very kind team
The fact it was the very first hotel at the park is important
The eeather is not as cold as upthere at the bigger hotel and the enviroment is typically forest and shaded easy trails.On clear days the sight of Mount Rainier is impressive.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Durval F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We loved our stay at the National Park Inn at Mount Rainier. It's small and cozy with lots of wood and stone... the people were friendly and so helpful... the food is good... the views are wonderful. There are many walks that head out from the Inn. I much prefer a small Inn to a large one, like at Paradise. The Inn at Longmire is people-sized... not fancy, no super amenities... just a lot of fun, comfort and good feelings. We will return.

Room Tip: We will choose room 8 next time. It's a bit bigger, with a bathroom in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Ana112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.

All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longmire
5.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
11.7 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
10.5 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
9.6 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Park Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Park Inn at Mount Rainier

Property: National Park Inn at Mount Rainier
Address: Hwy 706, 6 mi E of Nisqually Entrance, Longmire, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Longmire
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Longmire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic inn nestled in the forest of Longmire provides a relaxing retreat in Mount Rainier National Park with spectacular views of Mount Rainier from comfortable chairs on the front porch. Open year round, hiking trails are just steps from the front door and winter activities include cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
National Park Hotel Longmire
National Park Inn At Mount Rainier Longmire, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing