We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longmire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National Park Inn at Mount Rainier
Ranked #1 of 1 Longmire B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We shipped our baggage (backpacks & gear, etc.) ahead of time to Ashford; was waiting for us by our room when we arrived near midnight! Staff was more than friendly, attentive, way beyond the call of duty! Called us by name! Clean rooms; great service, good food. Even let us do a complimentary load of laundry and provided soap!!!!! (Incidentally, the hotel was completely booked, so they had lots more than us to take care of.) Yes, the front desk folks helped seat and bus tables, but that was very effecient and didn't detract from overall service....probably helped to keep prices so reasonable! Highly recommend National Park Inn if you are headed to Mt. Rainier National Park.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke_ML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time you share your experience and your kind comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit in the near future.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 290 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed 8/9/13 and had a great stay. Yes, the hotel is over 100 years old, has creaky floors and thin walls. If you are expecting a new hotel this is not it.

However, we found it a great place to stay. Very comfortable rooms, beds, linens, robes, etc. The room and down the hall bathrooms were very clean.

The setting is truly amazing. Great front porch to see the mountain and easy trails around hotel.

We did not eat in the restaurant but ate at Paradise Lodge and the food was very good.

Service at Longmire and Paradise was excellent.

Having the general store next to the hotel is very convenient.

We will be back.

Room Tip: If you can get one, go with the rooms with a bath, they are larger. However, the bath down the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jocko2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the National Park Inn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit in the near future.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Although the staff was amazing you could tell they were overwhelmed. Never before have I seen front desk bussing tables. The restaurant while beautiful was thrashed. most of the tables were dirty. the staff was running trying their very best to cope. The food was superb hot fresh tasty. fish and chips ( litereally chips) was flavorful while the philly sandwich was the right amount of greasy goopy and fun to eat. although rather expensive didnt have any other options.

the outside was a disaster. half the christmas lights over the door were burned out. (late july) the grounds were unswept and the pathways were littered in debris. also saw orange flags stating something about dont touch pesticides in use. the single payphone outside next to the picnic tables is the only form of outside anything as there is no cell service or wifi for 20 miles.

The lobby reaked of woodsmoke even tho there was no fire. the floor squeaked and bowed. the bathrooms were dirty and had broken doors.

the room while small and quaint had issues. i swear there was a huge fan behind the wall. late at night and again first thing in the morn. the view was abysmal. the price was painful the linens smelled funky and possibly used.

if your stopping for some touristy stuff and a view its unbeatable. the view from the deck (with clear skies) is beyond words. if your planning on eating and staying the night dig deep into your bank account.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts and feedback on your recent stay. Your experience was certainly not indicative of the standards we hold our team members accountable and we sincerely apologize. Please know that your review will be shared with our entire team as we continually strive to challenge ourselves to improve.

Again, thank you for sharing your comments.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I tried the restaurant after a long day in the park. The staff were really friendly , cordial and attentive. There were two problems though. The food quality was mediocre and it was pricy. However given the remoteness of the place it can be good for a quick stop-over.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TheGlacierist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Overall, this is probably the best place to stay in Mt Rainier National Park. It is quiet, comfortable and away from the crowds. The Inn is old and is a throwback to days gone by which adds to it's charm. We had a double bed room without bath and had to use the bathroom and shower in the hall, which actually turned out to not be a big deal. The room was small and plain but we did have a sink in the room. The front porch offers spectacular views of Mt Rainier and is a wonderful place to sit in the evening and watch the sun go down as well as deer grazing in the front yard. Both the hotel and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.

The restaurant was quiet and comfortable but the food was just the average national park fare at high prices.

After we arrived at the Paradise area the next day and saw all the crowds and cars, we were very glad we had stayed in Longmire.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

First of all I would like to say THANK YOU to the staff of the national park inn Renee, Sam, Cliff, Forrest, Dianne. They were so helpful and understanding. The National Park is a AWSOME PLACE. If you are in the the mood for a good time and a place to just kick your feet up this is the place. National Park Inn has alot of history in it. Nice rooms and a good fire in the evening to go long with tea at 3pm. Good stuff. Again thank you to the staff of National Park Inn. Randy

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sqz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Randy,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and your kind words about our team.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a return visit.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I love coming to stay at this lodge! It is situated in the Historic Longmire Village area, which is much quieter than the Paradise area further up the mountain. The Inn is also much smaller and more intimate than the Paradise Lodge. It has an incredible view of the mountain from the front porch, particularly when watching the sunset on the mountain in the evening. The staff is very friendly and will take time to visit and make recommendations of things to see or hiking in the area. There is a cozy lounge area with a large fireplace off the lobby to relax, read, or play games in. The rooms are all different, some with and some without bath facilities. I found that the whole property was very clean and well kept, from the public areas, to the rooms, to the shared bath and shower facilities. During the summer when it gets warm, the rooms can heat up, but they have window fans to help draw in the cool evening air from outside. Overall, I find that this inn is well above average and less expensive than many National Park Lodges I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longmire
5.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
330 reviews
11.7 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
183 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
102 reviews
10.5 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
7.0 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Park Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Park Inn at Mount Rainier

Address: 47009 Paradise Rd E, Longmire, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Longmire
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Longmire
Price Range: $114 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic inn nestled in the forest of Longmire provides a relaxing retreat in Mount Rainier National Park with spectacular views of Mount Rainier from comfortable chairs on the front porch. Open year round, hiking trails are just steps from the front door and winter activities include cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
National Park Hotel Longmire
National Park Inn At Mount Rainier Longmire, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing