We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longmire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National Park Inn at Mount Rainier
Ranked #1 of 1 Longmire B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We wanted to hike as much as possible hence chose to stay in the park. Elected Longmire for no particular reason other than it was in the park. Frankly, not expecting much but hoping it was clean. We got a very comfortable room. Yes, small but clean with a comfortable bed and plenty of hot water. The restaurant food was good to excellent (tomato soup, trout) and just hanging out on the porch or in the fireplace room was very pleasant. Loved the fact that there was no cell, wireless, or TV; it proved to be relaxing to be completely off the grid. The staff, more than anything else, made the visit perfect. I wish I could remember all the names of everyone there but they were all wonderful. A special shout out to Dianne who accommodated with coffee every morning and took the time to recommend hikes. Truly, everyone there was well versed and made it seem that they had time for us. We visited Paradise - maybe more amenities there - but the smaller, more personal Longmire was the right choice for us.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHS121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words and thorough review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful park and hope you have the opportunity to return.

All the Best!
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 295 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for a nigthwhile driving around the Mt. Rainier national park. This property has been in existence for a great number of years, and even though it's an older property, it was in a great place and we enjoyed it.

Because it's remote location, there is no TV and no internet. For those who just can't do without, this is not for you ! But for those loving nature and looking up a majestic mountain in a historic place, you would feel right at home.

The restaurant was somewhat pricey, but when you think about the remoteness you would understand. The fish (I believe trout) we had was a special and it was wonderful.

Kids were entertained by the staff with coloring books and they even hung up their drawings on the wall the next morning.

This is certianly a property for couples who love scenery and nature, and quietness, lots of quietness.. We were sorry to have brought our kids and apologize to those trying to see the deer come closer with my excited little ones screaming next to them on the porch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjsieders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your family’s experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and I am sure our other guests shared in your children’s delight when they saw the deer near the inn. Again, thank you for the very nice review

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our stay and only wish that we could have stayed longer. After traveling to the other facility in the park and hearing about how many people we're staying there and how noisy it was in that facility, we made the right choice in reserving a place at Nation Park Inn. The young students who were on the staff--Samantha, Jared And Forrest were especially helpful and friendly. The food was good--but not exceptional. The trail across from the Inn was wonderful and my wife, who had her knee replaced several years ago, could easily traverse the trail. One of the prettiest places I've ever been in my life.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Merle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time at the national park inn! I felt like I was coming down with a cold and tea time by the fireplace with fresh baked scones cured me! Everyone working there was extremely friendly and seemed to enjoy their job but Renee really went above and beyond. She gave us valuable advice about where else to go on our travels and I can't express enough how awesome she was in helping us out!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Most people wanting to stay within the park at Mt Rainier will opt for Paradise. Having stayed at both Paradise and the National Park Inn now multiple times I can assure you that the National Park Inn is by far the better choice. It's "cozy" in all the right ways. And sitting out on that front porch with a glass of your favorite beverage, looking out at Mt Rainier is one of the most beautiful sights you could wish for. I don't know if it's just because of it's smaller size but I've found the service at the National Park Inn to be outstanding. Everyone there goes out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay. Do yourself a favor and give it a try on your next visit to the Park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bbn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had originally planned to stay at the Paradise Lodge but a heavy snowfall caused us to select the National Park Inn instead. Only room left was a handicap room but it was fine. The lodge is not luxurious but is clean and comfortable. The staff is unbelievable and quite friendly. Because of the unexpected snowfall they were working long shifts and yet they were quick and friendly. We had a late dinner in the dinning room and the food was good and portions were large enough to share.

Would really like to go back for an extended stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawgFan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and the kind words about our team. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope you have the opportunity to return for another visit.

All the Best!
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were a group of six seniors taking advantage of the Stay and Play package. From the moment we walked up to the desk to check in, Rene and the rest of the staff went way beyond the call of duty to help us. They supplied weather reports and snowshoeing advice as well as ice and glasses for our groups before dinner cocktails. The lodge was spotlessly clean. The rooms were cozy... small, but nothing was lacking! We spent most of our time in the lodge with our friends in the common areas. The inviting fireplace room always had friends visiting, individuals reading, families playing games and even complimentary tea and scones every day. Our group took our after dinner games to the dining room to leave preserve the tranquility of the fireside room. We enjoyed the convenience of the restaurant and can not say enough about the service we received. The wait staff adjusted menu items to suit our needs, offering alternative suggestions when we needed them. The snowshoeing was amazing. We had the most perfect day on the mountain...... a foot of fresh powder snow, sunny sky and no wind. It was a winter wonderland. I read the "terrible" reviews before we went... It seemed to us that all of the issues mentioned have been resolved. We found the stay flawless! Thank you to the staff at Longmire!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 98,006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your thorough review and kind words about our team. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you have the opportunity to return soon.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longmire
5.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
335 reviews
11.7 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
184 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
103 reviews
10.5 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
9.6 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Park Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Park Inn at Mount Rainier

Address: 47009 Paradise Rd E, Longmire, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Longmire
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Longmire
Price Range: $114 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic inn nestled in the forest of Longmire provides a relaxing retreat in Mount Rainier National Park with spectacular views of Mount Rainier from comfortable chairs on the front porch. Open year round, hiking trails are just steps from the front door and winter activities include cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
National Park Hotel Longmire
National Park Inn At Mount Rainier Longmire, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing