We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Winter Stay at Mt. Rainier's National Park Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longmire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National Park Inn at Mount Rainier
Ranked #1 of 1 Longmire B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We wanted to snowshoe this winter at the Mt. Rainier National Park. The National Park Inn is the only accommodation within the park boundaries at this time of year. The reviews of the inn found on tripadvisor made me hesitate to make reservations for the inn, in particular the 2009 mention of bedbugs and the terrible meals at the inn's restaurant. But the more recent reviews were positive, and the alternatives in nearby Ashford were not particularly appealing. So we decided to stay at the inn, making two two-day reservations (for a total of four nights), with the second night free on both reservations. A lot of snow had fallen before our arrival and during the first night of our stay, which resulted in the road to the inn closing down. Given how slippery the road to the inn is, we would not have wanted to drive back and forth from accommodations in Ashford, and the road closure would have made this impossible anyway. So deciding to stay at the inn definitely made sense.

I am happy to report that we were pleased with our stay. Since there were three people in our group, we had reserved a room with one queen and two single beds and a private bathroom. The room was large enough for us to be comfortable in it. The room was also very clean. The only problem with it was a low-level but audible hum all night long. We don't know the cause of this noise, but we learned that the backup electricity generator had been in use, and suspect that this was the cause of the noise. (The snowfall resulted in downed trees, and on our way to the inn we saw a tree toppled over into the power lines alongside the road.)

The food at the restaurant was better than our expectations. It is not gourmet food, but was well prepared and thoroughly palatable. Eating three meals a day at the restaurant would be fairly expensive (a dinner meal for 3 without alcohol or dessert cost $90 with tip), but the food is filling and balanced. The staff was also very pleasant and informative. Due to rain falling, we ended up cancelling our second reservation on a very short notice, but we were not charged for the cancellation. All in all we were happy with our stay at the inn and can recommend it to travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDXTraveller52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your patience with the road and power issues we encountered during our recent snow storm. We hope you have the opportunity to visit again in the near future.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for National Park Inn at Mount Rainier
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 283 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

The staff was very warm and friendly. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent with a breakfast included in the price of our room. The rooms are simple but cozy. The Inn is truly in the Mt. Rainier winter wonderland. We had a fabulous time there adventuring out in the snow and sitting by the large fireplace reading. Thank you Julie (front desk) and Merry Christmas everyone and Happy New Years! The Webers

Room Tip: We really appreciated having a private bath.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PerryWaltonWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Guest: Thank you for taking a moment to write into Trip Advisor and share your experience. Winter is truly a magical time in the park and we are glad you enjoyed your visit.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We try to stay here a couple of time every winter on a two-nights-for-the-price-of-one special, which makes this THE most affordable winter skiing and snowshoeing venue around. The rooms are not large, but the fireplace is in the guest's lounge is huge and usually roaring. The restaurant is purely government-concessionaire level, but "picnicking" in the lounge has not been a problem.

Of course, the amount of mountain terrain at Paradise, twelve miles up the hill, is just about unsurpassed at all skill levels. Unfortunately, for 2012-13 the road to Paradise will be closed Tuesdays and Wednesdays—so, Sunday/Monday and Wednesday/Thursday are the best nights. But, don't forget the Westside road and the Mount Tahoma Trails Association just outside of the park.

Room Tip: The rooms without a bath are just fine. All of the toilets and shower rooms are conveniently located...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiwaukum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor about your recent visit. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the National Park Inn.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I could not be happier with the service! The staff were so very friendly, knowledgeable and ready to assist in any way. I enjoyed spending two days curled up by the fire in the parlor reading and gazing at the amazing view of the mountain. My room was very comfortable: the bed and pillows were super comfy, the linens were soft and clean, and the room was warm despite the chill outside. There are several nice hikes that start at or near the inn, ranging from easy to strenuous. BE WARNED: there is NO Internet/phone service, not even wifi. Perfect if you want to unwind and get away from it all, not so great if you must keep in touch. Also the rooms are very comfy and clean but very basic. If you're looking for luxury, this is NOT your place. If you're looking for friendly service with a great location and a perfect view of the mountain, book now!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheFreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam N, Guest Relations Manager at National Park Inn at Mount Rainier, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience and for the kind words about our team. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope you have the opportunity to return.

All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We made the trip to Mt Rainier from Seattle. The Inn was warming and the hospitality outstanding. Accommodations were nothing to write home about but expected for a national park. The park itself is beautiful with plenty of hiking. We had lunch and dinner at the Inn and it was homey. Julie was like having a friend serve us. She was great! I would do that again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank scottnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This historic hotel is wonderfully quiet with very nice rooms and a great porch with a fabulous view of Mount Rainier where tea is served in the afternoon. In contrast, Paradise Inn is cool but noisy and crowded and with plenty of traffic. Here, you really feel like you are in the forest.

Would definitely stay here again. Lovely and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Had a queen bed on the second floor, Room 20. Quiet with a view of the forest.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank potravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Inn annually for three nights at a time. In our opinion the quality of our stay has declined for the past nine years. The room prices have increased with no added value. The restaurant has reached a low in regard to quality and price (higher prices coupled with lower quality). The employees are friendly enough, but in no respect comparable to what you would expect for the price of a room. Our future visits will be outside the park where hopefully quality for price balance.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longmire
5.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
323 reviews
11.7 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
176 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
100 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
283 reviews
7.0 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Park Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Park Inn at Mount Rainier

Address: 47009 Paradise Rd E, Longmire, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Longmire
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Longmire
Price Range: $114 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic inn nestled in the forest of Longmire provides a relaxing retreat in Mount Rainier National Park with spectacular views of Mount Rainier from comfortable chairs on the front porch. Open year round, hiking trails are just steps from the front door and winter activities include cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
National Park Hotel Longmire
National Park Inn At Mount Rainier Longmire, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing