We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Stay Here Again in a Heartbeat!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longmire
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
National Park Inn at Mount Rainier
Ranked #1 of 1 Longmire B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed staying here! Pros: The staff were friendly and helpful, the inn had the best hotel pillows ever, it's quiet, loved having the coffee maker in my room, many hiking trails were easily accessible (including the Wonderland Trail), and the front porch is a great place to hang out at the end of the day and enjoy views of Mt. Rainier and wildlife. Cons: it is pricey, and when people rise early, you can easily hear them. I brought muffins with me for breakfast and other snacks, so I wasn't dependent on the downstairs restaurant for all of my meals. All in all, I had a terrific experience here, and I wish I could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: I had one of the rooms with a bath/bathtub. If you can afford the extra $$ for this, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnoxRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 288 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved staying here. Even though the rooms are small, it is clean and charming. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which had 2 twins in one room and double in next room with a shared bathroom. It was tight and BR inconvenient but that is not why we stayed here. It is not crowded and very peaceful. Relaxing in chairs on the front porch staring at the mountain was wonderful.

Room Tip: Ate at hotel dining room. Food was ok but not quite the quality we were expecting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wpdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The main advantage is that one is staying in the park and there is a wonderful view of the mountain from the front of the hotel. Longmire is however quite a distance from the main hotel at Paradise and if proximity to Mount Rainier is what is desired, then it might be best to find a room there. The facilities do leave something to be desired as there seems to be a philosophy that too many home comforts somehow do not belong there There is a restaurant which closes at 8pm and a general store which closes at 6pm. Drinks can be obtained at reception but there is no bar as such, no drinks machines, no TV, no Wi-Fi in fact very little concession to modern comforts. The rooms are very small and maybe just a bit past their best. We enjoyed the experience but on any future occasion we would try to get a room at the Paradise Inn where there is much more opportunity to get out on the trails near the summit of Mount Rainier, or alternatively we would try to find a room at one of the small places a mile or so outside the park entrance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobetrotterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

They tell me it's the experience and the history. The all out rustic value, its Mt. Rainier Park not Disneyland. So the hotel is over-priced for twin beds with plaids blankets. No cell service, no wifi, no room phones and no TV. Paid extra bucks for our own bath so... but the view from the front porch is breath-taking. The guy behind the desk was different. The restaurant is way over-priced too.. eggs and sausage is $12. and more. So come prepared if you want to stay close.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at both the Paradise Inn (good for immediate access to terrific hiking and gorgeous meadow flowers, but we're glad we stayed in the much quieter annex with a private bathroom) and the National Park Inn. We preferred the National Park Inn since it is much quieter and has a good historic feel. The wonderful Paradise hiking trails are only about 25 minutes away; if you don't already know, most of the Paradise trails are pretty steep, except for the lovely Nisqually Trail with its wonderful meadow of flowers. If you have bad knees, many Paradise trails might be pretty difficult. There is a nice, flat trail right across the street from the National Park Inn (with a side trail to the ridgetop if you want a steeper climb) and the very pretty Carter Falls Trail just 2 miles up the road through a very green and pretty forest (a gradual climb to the falls). The food was pretty good, and all of the staff were very nice. There is a small sitting room, where you can move chairs to be close to the fireplace. Our room on the second floor (number 6, I think) was very comfy and had a good view of Mt. Rainier.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The lodge is located about a twenty minute drive from the Paradise trail but is not nearly as congested. Our room was very small and the curtains were tattered. For the price I would have expected more. Unfortunately, The Paradise Inn is no better value.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room that doesn't face the dumpsters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donjphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

I must admit, I was a little shocked to learn there was no wi-fi or cable/tv. Thus was my first experience.

Room was very basis but comfortable. Dinner was really good. I offered the bison stew.

Really nice front desk attendant and server in dinning room.

Glad are glad we came. Fireplace was very warm and inviting!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RangerBobIsHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longmire
5.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
328 reviews
11.7 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
181 reviews
11.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
102 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
288 reviews
7.0 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Park Inn at Mount Rainier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Park Inn at Mount Rainier

Address: 47009 Paradise Rd E, Longmire, Mount Rainier National Park, WA 98397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Mount Rainier National Park > Longmire
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Longmire
Price Range: $114 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historic inn nestled in the forest of Longmire provides a relaxing retreat in Mount Rainier National Park with spectacular views of Mount Rainier from comfortable chairs on the front porch. Open year round, hiking trails are just steps from the front door and winter activities include cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
National Park Hotel Longmire
National Park Inn At Mount Rainier Longmire, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing