We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Learned things we never knew”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranberry Museum

Cranberry Museum
Ranked #3 of 14 things to do in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Learned things we never knew”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Its a very small museum but worth taking the time to stop by for an hour or so. The Museum and gift shop only take about 1/2 hour but be sure to step outside and take a quick walk about the bog next door. Just don't ask the lady in the museum about the bog, apparently she has never noticed it before, she will tell you she knows nothing about it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Calikidsgramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    59
    28
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pasco, Washington
Level Contributor
273 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Yes, there were cranberries growing there”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I wasn't all that impressed. Then again, it usually takes a bit to impress me, so others may enjoy visiting here more than I did. The museum is kind of interesting and seeing the old machinery, if you're into that. There is an outside "self-guided" walking tour that basically wanders around the plants. There is a nice little gift shop selling things with cranberries on or in them (muffin mix, tablecloths, napkins, t-shirts, candles, etc.)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GeenaG4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
262 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Who Woulda Thunk?”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place is a gem in our book. It is also free. We had no idea what we were going to see, but everybody has eaten cranberries so we figured it might be good to see how they are grown. At first, it looks a little small. When you start through the two rooms of the exhibit you see they have done a great job of developing story boards that really explain very well how the berries are grown and harvested. There are quite a few pieces of equipment that are on display, often matched with the photos on the story boards. I am not usually a reader of all the stuff on the walls in museums, but I found myself glued to everything and I read it all.

There is a "self guided tour" of the adjacent bogs. It is just a stroll along the dikes, but it is interesting to see the berries growing. At this time of year, they are green; harvest is still two months away. It was interesting , however, to see how dense the berries are and how low the vines are.

The gift shop is nice and the person running it was very nice. She told us that the berries are sorted by how high they bounce. I don't know how people discover stuff like that, but that tidbit was interesting. We bought a bottle of wine and some tea. We enjoyed the time we spent there. If we have visitors some time in the future this is a place we would take them on the Long Beach peninsula.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank swift98b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“very interesting. Nice gift shop....and FREE”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very interesting info on cranberries and local history. Nice gift show - many interesting and unusual items. Admission is Free. Nice stop. Easy to find. Good parking.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NWLadyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, South Dakota
Level Contributor
366 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Learn that cranberries are more than something that goes with turkey”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you're like us, you probably know little about cranberries other than the fact that we eat them at Thanksgiving. This free museum provides an opportunity to learn a bit about how they are grown and why they grow well in this part of the US. The museum is relatively small but informative. It is adjacent to a couple of cranberry bogs you can walk around where you can see fruit ripening in the field. But don't bother to talk to the person who staffs the museum, she will make you feel like you bothered her.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank docj9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cranberry Museum also viewed

 

Been to Cranberry Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing