We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More rustic than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More rustic than expected”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I wouldn't quite call this a resort. More like a mom and pop motel. No services- ie business center/guest laundry. Price was hefty for what they offered. Had to run back and forth to get linens/soap/TP, etc. The office staff were very friendly and helpful. Did print our boarding pass on request. Think they should provide some furniture for the deck. 2 small chairs- was it. View was good and lawns well maintained.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fithianld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    99
    13
    5
    10
See reviews for
135
91
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I stayed here over Easter weekend with my extended family. It was really the perfect place to stay with 8 adults, 4 small children, and our dog. We were able to rend out 2 units that were right next to one another. There was plenty of space to accommodate such a large group, and the rooms were very clean and more modern than most Washington coast hotels. The path to the beach is very clearly marked and an easy 5 minute walk. It's truly a gorgeous location! Although we didn't get time to visit the pool, the pool area looked very nice - they also have outdoor gas grills, a barista, and games to check out. The best part about this resort is the value - the prices were very reasonable. We will definitely be back, and would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K8e1919d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Stayed two nights in room 607. Nice view of the dunes and the waves hitting the beach. Kitchen was decent, nice to have a fridge, micro, dishwasher and stove.

Bathroom was ok, dust on vents, chipped toilet bowl seat and mold forming on shower curtain. No worse than most motels.

The bed sucked. Cheap sheets, cheaper pillows and just uncomfortable.

The livingroom was small but adequate. Gas fireplace was nice but would prefer no timer on it. The deck was nice especially with the sun out, very comfortable and no neighbors to stare at.

It was very quiet during our stay. Since we were one of three couples staying here I would hope so.

Would we stay here again? Probably, but next time I'm bringing a foam mattress, sheets and pillows.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agent45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I loved the location to the beach and the town, and the pool/hot tub area was clean and large. The lobby is nice, the employees were helpful and friendly. The paths down to the beach were well marked and easy to walk. They have a barista and the scones are fantastic.

Now the bad part - the construction of these units must be the very basic to get past inspection. Not only could we hear ourselves loud and clear from room to room and floor to floor, we could also hear our neighbors through the wall as if they were standing in the room with us. When we walked into the unit and saw the bed we were worried, and our fears were confirmed when we climbed in and it folded up like a taco. The kitchen was sparsely furnished, there wasn't even a salt and pepper shaker and all of the cooking utensils were plastic and had been melted to the point that they were not usable to flip a pancake. The non-stick pan was so scratched that the surface was practically gone and the other pan was an aluminum job that burned everything. The furniture in the living room looked and felt like it belonged in a dentist office, it was uncomfortable to sit or relax on. The gas fireplace was on a timer that you had to turn every 30 minutes if you wanted it to stay on.

Part of the reason we booked here was to have the kitchen and the pool. If you come bring cooking supplies and equipment so you can eat decently. And maybe a memory foam matress pad if you can squeeze it in. Well mannered pets are allowed so that was nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaBluedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I used to stay at the Lighthouse when it was just a small row of cottages. Now the cottages have been joined by large townhouse-like units that are closer to the beach, and have modern facilities. We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit and it came with a full kitchen, and 1 3/4 bathrooms. Plenty of room for a family of three. But it felt much more like a vacation rental apartment than a hotel. In fact, you don't get housekeeping services unless you ask for them. We stayed two nights, and had a great time. Our son enjoyed the indoor pool, and we all enjoyed the short walk to the beach, and frolicking in the surf.

Our only issue was cost - it was fairly expensive considering no housekeeping. Also, they double booked us, when we changed our reservation from Fri-Sun to Sat-Mon. So there was confusion at the Front Desk and on our charge card.The Front Desk was also very overwhelmed when we showed up. Apparently, they didn't know which rooms were clean as guests were checking in Saturday afternoon.

One tip- if you are a runner, the Discovery Trail is a GREAT 8-mile run - from Ilwaco to Long Beach. It ends about 1 mile south of the Lighthouse.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AutumnHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Don't be worried by the crummy motel rooms on the road...behind them are some terrific condos. Nothing very fancy, but very clean, right over the dunes to the beach, friendly front desk staff and indoor pool. We stayed here with sons ages 9 and 12 and our black lab and would definitely return. We explored the peninsula, hiked at the wildlife refuge, played soccer on the beach and relaxed with our homemade dinner on our deck. Good place to stay.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jabula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We've stayed at the Lighthouse twice in the last year; once in October of 2009 and most recently in August 2010. Both times, we've found the property to be perfect for our family getaways. If you're looking for ultraposh, keep looking...but if you want a modern property close to the beach with nice units at a good price, this is the place. (Note that both times we been in the new units close to the beach, not the more vintage and rustic units near the road.)

Quick highlights....

The property is well laid out with a main building that houses the pool, hot tub, and a small exercise room. The large locker rooms by the pool are nice for kids and changing in the building. Just outside the main building are two nice Weber gas barbecues for use by guests in case you want to grill a some local fish or oysters.

The units themselves are newer, have views and decks overlooking the ocean. The gas fireplaces are appreciated and the kitchens reasonably well stocked with various cooking items. Our units have been clean, quiet, modern, tastefully decorated and in good repair. We liked how close the units are to the beach - much closer than most - with a very easy walk thru the dunes. This also makes for great sunset ocean views from your deck. (Hint: If you don't get a two story unit, get a second floor unit for better views and the vaulted ceilings.) Helpful to note is that there is not daily housekeeping to the rooms. Clean towels are always available and we find we don't miss the daily interruption of the cleaning staff.

While we haven't required much interaction with the staff, we always found them to be helpful when selecting rooms, with questions on local restaurants, or for day trip ideas. Last trip we needed a couple of crab crackers which were quickly produced by the front desk.

Our kids love to come here and we'll be back for future stays.....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilentSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
2.1 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
3.2 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
1.7 mi away
The Anchorage Cottages
The Anchorage Cottages
#5 of 8 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort

Property: Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
Address: 12417 Pacific Way, Long Beach, WA 98631-5609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Long Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort is located in Long Beach, Washington and offers 1, 2, and 3 bedroom oceanfront townhouses as well as rustic ridge cottages. For 50 years people have been vacationing here, enjoying spectacular ocean views, modern amenities, and comfortable accommodations ideal for weekend getaways, group events and corporate meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Oceanfront Hotel Long Beach
Lighthouse Oceanfront Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing