We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Discovery Coast
Ranked #1 of 7 Long Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Everything about our stay was perfection. Beautiful room. Mix of Provence and shabby chic decor, super comfy bed, very clean, lots of little extra touches that made our weekend great. The view was beautiful. The breakfast basket with yummy Brown Cow yogurt (yes, it's the full fat kind and my personal fave!), warm scones, fruit and juices was just enough. Good selection of DVD's. We loved using the bikes and riding along the beach pathway. There is a microwave and mini-fridge which is great if you want to save your breakfast basket for snacking later. I love that they have a wine opener in the room because I always forget mine and have to buy one. The EO bath products are excellent and it's nice that rather than those annoying tiny bottles they supply full-size to cut down on waste. It was QUIET! We didn't hear a peep out of other rooms and they were fully booked. We were able to nap in the afternoon uninterrupted. The beach is indeed long and perfect for walking and running. Very clean! I am already picking dates on my calendar for another trip and can't wait to return. Lots of great restaurants in the area too. We had some excellent meals and great service.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXtravelgal36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    127
    33
    25
    17
See reviews for
41
458
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

Hands down, this sets the standard. The room was elegant and simple as far as decor. It was clean, the robes soft, the bathtub, DEEP and plenty of hot water to fill it up! A fabulous way to end a chilly day at the beach! Our bed large and super comfy and our fireplace kept us nice and toasty. I love that the Inn is doing its part to be "green". And in the morning, with one phone call, a healthy breakfast brought to our door! I will DEFINITELY stay here again and if you are reading this, STAY here!

I think whoever wrote the previous review is probably not happy with ANYTHING. This is first class accomodations!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

had enjoyed an earlier stay here shortly after opening, but learned the lesson on that trip that the 3rd floor has the most quiet rooms (and still i could hear footsteps and television).
the amenities have been compromised by poor maintenance and housekeeping was minimal and disappointing. breakfast was very average (as described by others) and the exact same thing every day.
small rooms and shabby upkeep-not a bargain with so many other options in the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2009

The Inn at Discovery Coast had come highly recommended by a local as a great place to stay. Sadly, we were very disappointed. The glass on the gas fireplace was very dirty and hard to see the full affect of the flames. The wine and coffee cups were badly smudged. We hand washed them before using them. On the first morning, I called asking for another 2 or 3 coffee packets and was told that I could have one more now and one after they came in and cleaned. I have stayed at other hotels who never questioned how many of packets I was entitled to and especially with what this place charges!

We loved the oversized jacuzzi tub but of the 3 times we used it, the last 2 times when we went to turn the hot water on to reheat the water, all we got was cold water. That ended the time in the tub because while waiting for it to warm up which it never did, it made the water much colder. The jets also after a period of time would turn off on their own. When we pushed the button to restart the jets, they would not come on but did so a short time late like maybe 10 min. later.

The breakfast basket was so-so. The yogurt was fatty, 6 and 7 grams of fat instead of being light. The first day we got one apple, the next day we got an apple and an orange. The scones were ok , the juice ok and the jam was the best part of it all.

The wooden floors are very noisy if you are not on the top floor. We like to sleep in and it was difficult to do so due to the people above us walking around in their shoes early in the morning. We were on the 2nd floor

Also, when we checked in, at 1:30, we were told to come back at 3 as they were still cleaning our rooms, there were two parties of us, and two rooms and apparently they would not be available until the check in time. We were not very happy that we had to find something to do for an hour and a half.

It appears as though it is not well managed with plumbing and cleaning issues as well as other odds and ends.

We will only return if we hear from the locals that improvements have been made and will only stay on the 3rd floor to avoid the noise.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

The rooms are incredible. My (now) husband and I have stayed here at least 3 times! We love it. It's super comfortable, the bed is amazing, and the views are incredible! There is a 3 minute walk to the ocean from your beach front room. You can sit on the back patio and watch the ocean. The bathroom can be a bit slick if you're not careful.. so make sure to lay down a towel on the floor. Everything about this place is wonderful! They will allow you to barrow dvds, games, bikes etc. Super nice place with a super nice staff!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smilelikeumeanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2009

The Inn at Discovery Coast is a perfect getaway right on the beach. We stayed here for three nights in December and it was definitely the highlight of our trip.

It was unusually cold weather for Long Beach, and I got a phone call from the owner the day we were expected to arrive and he offered to upgrade us into a better room so we would have a fireplace to keep us warmer. The staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. A highlight was the breakfast basket that got delivered to our door each morning when we requested it.

The Inn at Discovery Coast has also made an effort to go green, aiming to save electricity, water, to recycle and provide healthy, organic food and beverages. A number of the foods and drinks in the snack bar were also fair trade certified.

I highly recommend this lovely place. The rooms are gorgeous, the staff is hospitable, the location is fantastic. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Amberkristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed here over Labor Day weekend and had an amazing time. We were on the top floor and had great views of the beach and ocean. I loved the fact that instead of a traditional B&B where you have to be down in the main dining room by 8am for breakfast, you could just call the front desk and they would drop off a breakfast basket at your door. It was great to be able to sleep in, relax, and have breakfast in bed. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that their website promised beach cruiser bikes as an amenity, but when we tried to take them out for a beach cruise, they were all rusted with the chains falling off. But we still had a wonderful time.

  • Liked — The incredible view and wonderful decor.
  • Disliked — The rusted bikes that did not work.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treekang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
1,684 reviews
1.8 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.4 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Discovery Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Discovery Coast

Property: Inn at Discovery Coast
Address: 421 11th St SW, Long Beach, WA 98631-2605
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Discovery Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Discovery Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Discovery Coast Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing