We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVE the Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at Discovery Coast
Ranked #1 of 7 Long Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2012

When my fiance and I decided we wanted to get married on the shores of Long Beach we started looking into beach-front hotels. The Inn and the Adrift were the only two that caught our eye.

December 2011 we stayed the night at the Adrift and got tours of the different types of rooms in both the Adrift and the Inn in preparation for our wedding in Sept 2012.

We booked room #7 (top floor, south corner) for our anniversary and were just there March 9-11. The room was awesome: comfy, quaint, cute, and had a great view of the surrounding dunes, hills, and water. If it wasn't raining all weekend we would have gotten more use out of the deck and chairs but it was nice to stand on to take photos in between rain sessions.

The amenities that the hotel offers are sufficient although I do have to say the breakfast is lacking excitement; the scones were good, the butter was hard (cold), the yogurt was not favored flavors (maple !?!?! and blueberry), the juice was good, the fruit was brown).

The corners of the room and the light fixtures in the bathroom were a bit dusty and the tea towel in the hutch with the coffee maker, microwave and fridge had food chunkies on it from a previous guest.

Otherwise the sheets, towels, pillows, comforter, floors, bathroom fixtures were spotless and the jetted tub was HEAVEN!! The complimentary robes were well worn but useful and the slippers were mismatched sizes (regardless that they all said they were size 8). The bed was firm which I don't care for but my fiance loves.

The hotel offers complimentary, organic bath products (hand soap, lotion, shampoo, conditioner, body wash) and bath salts however I wish they would provide bubble bath. I ended up purchasing bubble bath from the front desk which was probably their plan for not offering it in the rooms...haha. It was $12 which is a little pricy but it smelled nice.

The staff has always been helpful and friendly and I have had zero complaints in that department. The group coordinator has been helpful in coordinating our upcoming wedding guests and we are looking forward to spending the week there this coming Sept.

On the top floor of the Adrift there is the Lightship Restaurant and Bar that has good food and drinks and awesome views. At the time of our visit last weekend we were told that the owners of the Adrift were buying out the owners of the Lightship and that the restaurant will be closed for a period of time. We currently hold reservations at the Lightship the evening of our ceremony so we hope that the restaurant will be re-opened in time and that our reservations will be honored.

Room Tip: If you want a nice tub, go for a corner room. Pet friendly on first floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iplaruf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 622 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2012

Great place for a quiet anniversary weekend. Love the rustic feel, fireplace, and jetted tub. Cozy, comfy, and quiet. Our second time staying at the Inn, this is by far one of our favorite places for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sprout2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

If you are looking for a romantic place to stay, you will not be disappointed with the Inn at Discovery Coast. For reference, we stayed in #4 (second floor, corner spot).

Everything was as listed in previous reviews and the Inn's website (or better).

The room was beautiful (& clean)
Easy to find, easy check in/check out
No weird billing issues, staff did not make me feel like a cheapie for using the Bloomspot deal I had purchased.
We stayed in a second floor, corner room. Noise level was as to be expected, muffled talking at times, heavy shoes on plank flooring above. Based on previous reviews, I was a little nervous about a second floor room, but noise was a non-issue for us.
Super comfy beds, room has a great atmosphere
We borrowed bikes for a Saturday afternoon ride around the town
The Inn is literally right on the beach (not a mile walk)
Fireplace makes the room very cozy
Jacuzzi tub, fits two very comfortably = A+ (room also has a normal sized shower)
Front desk employee gave honest opinions about food choices in town

This was our first trip to the Inn and we will undoubtedly be back. This mini vaction was exactly what we needed and alot of the good feeling from the trip is because of the Inn. My usual travel is quick, and for work. This trip was the opposite of that. We spent a significant amount of time in the room and I could not think of anything that could have made that better.

Loved it, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Top level room would have less noise, corner rooms have tub for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kas5292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

First off, the staff is amazing! We got moved into this building after a bad night in their other building. The room was small but cuper cozy and romantic. The bed was sooooo comfy and we slept amazingly. Our room had a double shower in the bathroom, and the gas fireplace was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We have stayed here twice. We take our Labrador so have to stay on the bottom floor. It is really nice for the money. We have had great service & a clean room. The beds are to DIE FOR...never have I wanted to stay in bed that long.....breakfast basket is awesome...
The only downside is the noise from the upper floor..It is really bad...sounds like elephants stomping.. I don't think they used any insulation...If we didn't take the dog, we would book the 3rd floor!
Would give 5 stars if not for that.. Its too bad as everything else is so good....

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannynJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

If you like ultra modern, minimalist type accommodations, then by all means, stay here. Great view, bed is comfortable. The rest of the room is extremely uncomfortable. Makes it hard to truly relax. We will not return here and in good conscience, cannot reccommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We spent one wind-swept & rainy night on Portland to Seattle touring weekend. There's three floors and no elevator, but reception made a call and got us on the second flow instead of the top which we really appreciated. The rooms are simple rustic/industrial spaces with a balcony facing the beach for watching the tide come and go. The gas fireplace is the only source of heat so it's romantic and essential in the winter. The breakfast basket had a selection of scones, fruit, and yogurt. The king bed was very comfortable.

Since this is a driving beach, we got to watch the flow of traffic back and forth, and since an entrance is next to us, we took a couple of drives ourselves. NOTE you must have four wheel drive on the beach.

Finding a seafood dinner spot was a challenge the lobby has a book of menus and the staff have opinions. I was surprised that they had little to say about the restaurant/bar upstairs in the same building. The recommended dinner spot was actually closed and we drove around in the rain for a while until we found a place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wjsbellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
0.5 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
91 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#2 of 8 in Long Beach
1,859 reviews
1.8 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.4 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Discovery Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Discovery Coast

Address: 421 11th St SW, Long Beach, WA 98631-2605
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Long Beach
Price Range: $124 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Discovery Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Inn at Discovery Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Discovery Coast Hotel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing