We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for Kite Lover's”

World Kite Museum & Hall of Fame
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Long Beach's winds make it a mecca for kite enthusiasts.
Sandpoint, Idaho
2 reviews
“Fun for Kite Lover's”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Beautiful hand made kites of all shapes and sizes! Wonderful place for the whole family. Just a few minutes walk to the beach.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nykki61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    44
    11
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Museum”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We are not museum people but decided to give it a try after locals suggested we visit. We really enjoyed it, not only for the amazing kites but we learned so much. We watched a video from the island of Bali where they capture live bats with kites and they were big bats! Parents were teaching their kids how to catch them. The wing span of the bats was about 2 feet. We also watched a video on how they used kites for artillery practice to shoot down enemy planes during World War II. The kite displays were very well done. One kite was 70 feet long and there were kites from different countries particularly southeast Asia. There was even one shaped liked a horse (3 dimensional).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaJoAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“WOW !!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are a kite fanatic or a family with kids this place is for you. They have kites from all over the world and they are right there so you can see them and they give you the history of kite flying and the importance of the kite through the years; way cool thing to watch is the Balinese flying kites to catch bats and then you can make your own kite too!!!!!!!!!. The curator was very friendly and very knowledgeable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank brokigpojke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Way to Spend Some Time”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The ladies at the desk at the front were very informative about the museum. I thought the kites were very fascinating. To see the colors, styles and uses of kites from around the world was good information. It was a nice way to spend a couple of hours. I don't know that it would be as much as a fun thing for a child as it would be for an adult, but was an enjoyment for me.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hereintop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you like kites this is the place to go. There were many different kinds and some history was given as well. The displays were beautiful and there were hands on things to do, ie make a kite and a paper crane. The admission was very reasonable as well.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Kite Museum & Hall of Fame also viewed

 

Been to World Kite Museum & Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing