We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, but you get what you pay for”

Pickled Fish Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 41 Restaurants in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
272 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Expensive, but you get what you pay for”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Huge portions do not pique my interest, flavour and ingredients are what brings me back to a restaurant. I would eat here again. The prices are expensive and the portions are small, but the quality and taste are amazing. Elk sliders with smoked catsup, lightly breaded halibut nuggets with garlic cream sauce, bacon wrapped green beans with spicy mustard sauce, all small plates with huge flavour. The mixology behind the bar is fantasic, I suggest the French Margarita, drinks you would expect to find in an upper echelon club or bar in a big city. The wine selection is excellent, with generous pours. Our waitress was attentive and friendly. There is a happy hour which brings some relief on the price of cocktails and a more limited menu with cheaper prices. If youre a person with a huge appetite perhaps try this place for a drink and appy then head to town for a more traditional meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JD778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    189
    74
    40
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We came here for Happy Hour one evening. The food was very tasty, and the view, beautiful. Our server was friendly and efficient, Portions were small, but then it was Happy Hour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money, way overpriced and tiny portions.”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My title says it all. Don't waste your money or your time. There are far better places to eat in Long Beach where you get great food and your wallet won't be emptied in the process.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank BuddyBird99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly excellent”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had been warned by family that had eaten here previously to look out for bad service and small portions. We did not find that at all. We had wonderful and attentive service. Their free range chicken strips were the best I have EVER eaten. Homemade chips were awesome. Crab was very fresh and the herb butter served with it was delicious. If you are used to Denny's and Red Lobster kind of food, this is not that experience - the food is the highest quality and ordered al la cart. A wonderful surprised on our trip and would recommend to anyone how values a good deal on exceptional food in a great environment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BellaBella1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing awesome”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Apps good, drinks too pricey, Very loud restaurant suggest the pork belly and chowder, nice seating by the window.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickled Fish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pickled Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing