We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Razor Clamming”
Review of Long Beach

Long Beach
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Razor Clamming”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The weather was beautiful (we got lucky) and the clams were showing like crazy. Had a great time showing some friends how to clam and we all caught our limit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    157
    41
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for couples, family and friends!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great place to have a getaway! Family friendly town! Outstanding beach! Awesome 8-mile bike/hike paved trail along beach! Fresh crab & fish! Lots of parks, historic sites & nature attractions! We have been numerous times and enjoyed every one of our trips to Long Beach!!! This time we also dug for razor clams - First time for my wife and I - Very fun experience - Got our limit in a short amount of time & enjoyed the sunset while digging - Cleaning was something new too - Outstanding flavor - And, we had enough to take home and make Clam Chowder with plenty of clams to have the perfect balance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank maa3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fall at the Beach”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I love fall/winter at the beach. The crowds are gone, the locals are really happy to see you and the weather is great. If you catch a sunny day, it is glorious, but the blustery winter storms give you a great reason so stay in front of a warm fire with a good book.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbritt51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Long Beach has it 'all. Bars, Diners, Cafes, Great people and of course the beach. I'd recommend this place for at least a weeks holiday if you are a foreign tourist or great weekend get away if you are local. It's clean, the people are friendly. However parking and hotels are expensive and pretty over priced. The Beach is great for walking, running,cycling etc as hit has a track which runs most of the length of the beach. Be sure to visit the Shore line Village area it's lovely here and the barman Sully in Chilli's is very friendly and good at his job.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ame1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
176 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great little place to visit”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We drove all the way to the point, and was very disappointed as we didn't have a Discovery parking pass which is new and their wasn't a place to purchase one. We were afraid we would get a ticket. We had a park pass to the parks, but this is new. The Oysterville place was also closed. Don't spend your time driving to the end as a waste of time. The downtown area where all the shops are is fun and the Lewis and Clark sites are fun just kind of hard to find and we stumbled upon most of them by accident. Cape Disapointment is the highlight of this area by a landslide! Do leave without visiting the Park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank realtortothestars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Long Beach also viewed

 

Been to Long Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing