We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My new favorite Long Beach favorite!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites
Ranked #3 of 7 Long Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“My new favorite Long Beach favorite!”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My profession brings me regularly to the Long Beach peninsula – as it has for the last 25 plus years. During that time I’ve stayed in many of the local small motels, some good and some not so good. However, this year my crew and I found a new “home away from home” – the Coastal Inn and Suites. The new owner Josh and his bride Kristin have taken this small motel and have turned it into a very warm, welcoming and relaxing place to stay – my definition of a true “inn”. The larger suites located on the second floor make it easy to spend several days away from home. Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed. I fully expect that the pride taken by the “inn keepers” to make your stay comfortable will be is obvious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLA_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the encouragement. We are glad you enjoy each stay and look forward to having you back!

Sincerely,

the Innkeepers
#1 Coastal Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    48
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
56
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2012

For the review scanners- This is where I am going to stay from now on when I visit LB -if they have a vacancy.

First off, Josh is totally cool. Spent some time telling us about himself, LB and the places we needed to visit while we were there. The hangman cost me three bucks and LB Roasters is Excellent I have only stayed at this hotel once and will be basing my rating from the one room in which I have stayed.

Normally, I'm VERY picky when I rate- Josh was very personable and his personality is boosting the rating I'm giving his hotel. Seriously- excellent service!

Pros: Good price for the area and, as the rooms have recently been remodeled, most everything is new. Of course, Josh is a pro. Fifty-cent Pepsi machine! Complimentary DVD's and (I believe) player (we arrived late enough that we were interested in sleep- not movies). The bathroom has excellent lighting and the bright-white paint makes everything feel clean and sterile which is good when you're fresh out of the shower (which had good pressure, drainage but typical mediocre milled hotel soap).

Cons: Even with all of the remodeling, some of the details have been overlooked- small things like pencil lines on the wall around the bath surround, nails in the wainscot that haven't been countersunk, caulked and painted, trim butt-spliced rather than overlapping- but nothing that makes this a bad hotel. Bathroom mirror shelf sloping down so things fall off of it, table with one leg that's a little too short. I viewed this hotel as a work in progress and I can totally respect the amount of time and effort they are investing to make this a nice place to stay. There is still some work to be done, but I have no doubt that they will accomplish their goals.

Josh and Wife (never got her name) bought the hotel about a year ago and have been fixing it up. Their sign on the main drag in LB is somewhat hard to spot and the outside of the hotel isn't fancy- neither are the rooms. This is not a high-end hotel. Most aspects of the room have been remodeled using relatively inexpensive materials- even so, I'm sure thousands went into each room for the upgrades and overall, the rooms are nice.

I want to thank Josh for treating us like friends from the moment he answered the phone when I called to see if they had a room available. Again, this one visit has made this hotel "My" hotel in LB.

Room Tip: Ask Josh- he won't steer you wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MustangMan6799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback here. We take into consideration all comments and appreciate the opportunity to improve our service and better accommodate our guests. We look forward to having you back to the #1 Coastal Inn and Suites!

The Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed one night mid-week during an impromptu visit to the coast. We called ahead for pricing and availability after randomly selecting a place on Google. When Josh gave us the price for a double, we were very skeptical but stopped by anyway.

What a find! I'll be honest, it doesn't look like much from the outside due to renovations in process, but I was impressed when I saw the room. Obviously, it's not a five star hotel, but it's cute, very clean, and well priced.

This place would be perfect for a romantic getaway, an extended stay when on vacation, or even just to pull of and sleep for a night. We followed all of Josh's suggestions on where to eat, where to get the best coffee, and what to see for fun- none of it was disappointing!

If this Guy's just in it for the money, he hides it well. If every business owner took this kind of pride in their establishment, there'd be no need for reviews! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you back again. Our goal is to continually improve the service we provide, and we appreciate your forbearance as we work to improve our Inn as well. Thank you for the chance to earn your business, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

The Innkeepers
#1 Coastal Inn and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Some girlfriends and I recently spent a few nights here for a Girl's Getaway weekend. What fun it was! The corner suite we stayed in had more than enough room for the four of us, and the owners even brought up an extra cot. Having the full kitchen with which to cook our own meals was probably our favorite feature. Even though this hotel sits right on the main street, our room was very quiet and provided ample room for rest and relaxation, with plenty of natural light flooding through the windows. Josh and Kristin, the owners, were so friendly and accommodating! Hot coffee and waffles in the morning was a fun treat to look forward to, as was the free use of their covered Surrey bike. Venturing across the street to the chowder house, we chatted up the owner and even she praised the hotel owners. Everyone in this little town speaks highly of them, and so do I! Plus you just can't beat the price and proximity to the water. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CougSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastalinn, Owner at The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for the compliments! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you and your group in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

My son and I just got back from 5 nights at The Coastal Inn for spring break. What a nice place! The owners are great, the room we stayed in was clean, bright and pleasant, there's an empty lot right next door for dog facilities (they ask that you pick up after them, of course), and the location is right downtown about 2 blocks from the beach. Though a smaller room with 2 queen beds, the furniture had plenty of space to put stuff, so the floor could be left open. It's an older hotel, so bring your noisemaker if you are a light sleeper (quiet time is after 10:00, but try telling that to a storm ;). Some of the little things that added up to make for a wonderful stay, in no particular order:

-Fantastic water pressure and a seemingly endless supply of hot water
-Fitted sheets, with the top sheet and blanket actually tucked in nice and tight like home
-Use of the surrey bike
-Waffles in the office in the morning - my son got to make his own, so he liked that
-A mini-fridge that was one of the larger kind that actually keeps your food cold and makes ice
-Towels folded into cute animals when they service the room
-Pillow covers under the pillow case that keep the pillows clean - great for allergy sufferers
-Cute key ring for the room, I know it's a little thing, but it makes you smile

Taken individually, some of these things might not seem like much to some, but together, it is clear that the owners pay attention to detail and understand that it's those little things that can make a real difference. We've stayed in hotels that lose sight of that, so we really appreciated the difference. Josh, the owner, is really nice and very helpful with suggestions of places to go and things to do. All in all, a great vacation - I highly recommend The Coastal Inn!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmw1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastalinn, Owner at The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review, we're very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Coastal Inn. We do our very best to add little things that make everyone's stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I took a weekend to go visit some friends that live out at the beach, we were met with incredible accommodations, wonderful prices and ample opportunity to enjoy the sites the whole time we were there. The inn keepers are wonderful people and we really enjoyed our stay with them. They were able to suggest some great ideas of how to enjoy our time in Long beach and to top it off the weather was so nice!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastalinn, Owner at The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we're happy you enjoyed yourself. We appreciate the compliments and will continue to recommend the same restaurants and sights!
Thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My friend and I stayed in The Coastal Inn for a night and it was wonderful. Josh the owner gave us a map and directions to all the places we would like to check out and even which restraunts to eat out at. After we officially checked out, he even still let us borrow his "Trolly Bike" to take and ride on the fun discovery trail near the board walk.:) The general sincerity of the spectacular service we received made for a great stay! We would both recommend it to other friends- and plan to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcook89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastalinn, Owner at The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we're happy you enjoyed yourself. We hope your road trip went well and we look forward to seeing you guys again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
244 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
0.3 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
1,605 reviews
1.6 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.1 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites

Property: The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites
Address: 620 Pacific Avenue South, Long Beach, WA 98631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated & reopened, you will find lodging & comfort at its finest. Ideally located in the hub of downtown Long Beach, the #1 Coastal Inn and Suites is a relaxing retreat for city dwellers and nature lovers alike. We offer clean, comfortable rooms, complete with fridges, microwaves, TV, Wi-Fi, and suites with fully equipped kitchens. Saunter into downtown where you will find unique shops and excellent restaurants right at your fingertips. Or grab your sandals for a short walk to the ocean. We invite you to come experience true heart-felt hospitality at the #1 Coastal Inn and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing