We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT”

Lightship Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 41 Restaurants in Long Beach
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

After seeing some good reviews, we went here with high expectations. Here are some of the disappointments. We asked for fish not cooked in butter, but when served, it was swimming in butter. They recooked it, but it was inedible. Outer edges of fish were flakey, but middle was like rubber, could not cut with knife. When we commented to the server, we were told that they were having supplier problems. In other words, this should not have been served as they knew it was not good. The fish and chips were also rubbery and undercooked. The fries were decent but oily. Even after commenting that the meal was poor, there was no adjustment of the price, which was considerable. The location is poor, and the interior is drab. On the other hand, everyone there was friendly, and appeared to be trying to please.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rerBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    48
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprise, old friend is back”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Used to visit them when they were located at a different hotel. Food was excellent as was price. Will definately be back when I am visiting the coast again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank TripplannerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Montana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A good choice in a busy town”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were here on Friday night after July 4. Everything on the main street was packed, but a local guy suggested this place. As noted in other reviews, they'd moved from the fancy sea-view location to more of a basic restaurant building without a view. We didn't need a view--we wanted to eat a good meal. The place was not busy, the service was quick and good, and the food was fine. We had pasta dishes. My wife had spaghetti and meatballs and a salad and I had linguine with seafood, no drinks. The total was $35.15, about average for the Long Beach area. The pasta wasn't overcooked--the most common problem with restaurant pasta. We'd eat here again, especially when downtown is overrun with people.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank RedDog323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet, but good food”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We have always enjoyed our meals here. Food is good and the staff is friendly. The new location doesn't have the view of the original, but still worth searching it out!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank hendersonhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yummy omelts”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Enjoyed my breakfast special of the day. The was accommodating with my special request. The space was cozy and the service friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank TarriJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lightship Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lightship Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing