We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice concept, poor execution”
Review of Akari Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Long Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akari Bungalows
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice concept, poor execution”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

When I booked this bungalow I had done some research. The pictures on line looked great and they were pet friendly, for an extra fee. I was pretty excited about our trip to the beach. Dusty, the receptionist, was very helpful. When we walked into our bungalow (#3), we noticed a musty smell. We opened up all of the windows and figured that we just needed to air the place out. We went down to the beach for a while. When we returned the smell was still bad, but we dealt with it. Then we noticed that the bathroom floor (all wood) was damp. It stayed damp the entire night... obviously some sort of leak under the floor. We told the girl at the desk, but she did not seem to know what to do about it. She gave us some extra towels. We also noted that the shower was dirty, with mold growing on the liner and rusty hooks holding the curtain up. Gross. We decided to skip showers the next morning and drove home to shower.
The manager did offer to reduce my bill by 50%, which was very fair. The rest of the bungalow was decent. I thought everything else was very clean. The couch was uncomfortable, wi-fi was sketchy and I wished there was a tv in the bedroom, but other than that it was nicely appointed. The decorations were clever and beachy, so thumbs up there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellysiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    24
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
35
69
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tumwater, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We checked into Bungalow #3 and just when we were getting settled in realized that there was dog hair all over the floor. Then we did further inspection and realized that the sheets on the bed were full of dog hair. Not just one or two hairs, they were EVERYWHERE. It was clear that the sheets had not been laundered. Disgusting! How can you run a hotel and not change the sheets????

We drove back over to the Inn and got a full refund. The girl there was nice and didn't give us any problems.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAroadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tturner63, Manager at Akari Bungalows, responded to this review, June 6, 2010
We do apologize for the dog hair that was left in your room. Please let me assure you that this is not our policy. Your room was refunded and you were allowed to immediately check out. We had the housekeeper (who was new and in training) come back and clean the room that evening. Thank you for your feedback, and please understand that we take pride in our rooms and in our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We stayed the first night in the Inn, then moved to the bungalows because of availability.
A bummer, because this cramped (we even got the 2 bedroom, #5) little space had a substandard feel to it. The 2 large barking dogs in the room next to us kept us up all night, and the shared yard became a place they took the dogs to do their business several times throughout our evening... so not very romantic.
Uncomfy sofa, a broken toilet and the smallest shower I have ever used off a boat....
We fixed the broken coffee table in there for them using a butter knife, and I fixed the chain on the toilet because I am handy like that...
The traffic is minimal in Long Beach after dark, but because this is right next to the beach access road and it was a clear-ish night, we did hear a lot of stereos thumpin' past in cars that were going to bonfires.
The kitchen was ill equipped and no dish soap there, despite the sign that said "Please wash your own dishes" so I am suspect as to the cleanliness of the ones they left us...
I know its hard to have an equipped beach spot.. but TRY. A little.
So, no way would we return to this spot.
The Inn at Discovery beach tho.. yes. That was a good experience.
This is best suited for low key travelers, who don't mind a little noise and maybe have rambunctious kids and dogs.
Proximity to beach is good, but no view.
Close to all the shops etc on the main road there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seattlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Small bungalows that have been there over 57 years but they have been kept up and tastefully decorated in a clean beach motif. Pick up your keys at Discovery Inn and the bungalows are just south of the Bolstad Beach approach arch. Great location! Lovely getaway for two!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PauHanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
252 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
0.1 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
1,684 reviews
1.4 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.2 mi away
The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akari Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akari Bungalows

Property: Akari Bungalows
Address: 203 Bolstad Avenue, Long Beach, WA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akari Bungalows provides 8 renovated 1930's bungalows located in the heart of Long Beach, Washington. We are comfortably tucked just off the main street on a beach access road. Kitchenettes, jetted bath tubs, decks and king beds are just some of the features we provide. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing