We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bungalows!”
Review of Akari Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Long Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akari Bungalows
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We love visiting Long Beach in the winter, even knowing the weather would probably be less than desirable. Our criteria for this visit was "dog friendly" as we wanted to bring our corgi, "Gipper" with us this time. We had never stayed at Akari Bungalows before and their well appointed website piqued our interest, so off we went. We spent 4 nights in Bungalow #1 and were more than delighted to see how close we were to the beach and downtown...I mean, just around the corner to the Cottage Bakery? Wow! The Bungalows appear to be built perhaps in the 40's but has been modernized, yet still "beachy"...in other words, perfect! Our unit had a very comfy pillow-top king bed, nicely furnished living room with a gas fireplace, and adequately furnished kitchen...including fresh local roasted coffee beans! Kathy is wonderful and eager to please!

Room Tip: Bungalow #1 is right on the main road to the beach - not a problem during winter when tourism is low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 136 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

Akari Bungalow #1 is the perfect beachside retreat. The location is fantastic just steps away from both town and the beach.

The sleeping arrangements are very comfortable and the kitchen is stocked with all essential cooking equiptment. The staff was friendly upon arrival & the accomodations are cleanly.

Highly recommend bungalow #1 to anyone planning a Long Beach getaway, you wont be dissapointed!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsV123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The location is great... Short walking distance to Quilt Shop and downtown, plus beach boardwalk and bike trail. It's on the main road to the beach: so expect road noise and the rattle of a garbage truck at 6:00 am. We stayed at the end of summer and the kitchen needed a deep cleaning... The cabin is cute, full kitchen, but could be better organized. Host was very nice, remodeling the office and creating a bakery... that could be a plus. Would I stay again? Maybe. I think the location is #1 reason to stay there... Price range is on the lower end. No view of the ocean, but we walked to the boardwalk in 5 minutes to see a great sunset. Internet signal very weak... a negative! To me, its a typical Shabby/Sheik beach house...

Room Tip: We stayed in #1...it's right on the street. I would recommend choosing a cabin more off the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainbird1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Came for the Rod Run, found the location of the bungalows very close to all the fun, walk to the beach and town for the cruz and shoppin and restuarants. Was a little noisy from the cars and the partying at night but the ear plugs worked well, might be quieter on a different weekend, didn't mind the phone booth shower or the unlevel floors, enjoyed the atomosphere of the age of the bungalow, it didn't have any unpleasant odors in spite of how many people noted in the guest book they had their pets with them. They had coffee beans in the room with a grinder and a press which was a nice feature. The jacuzzi was wonderful. The King size bed was very comfortable but the sheets did have a bit of sand on them it seemed, we didn't have enough clean towels and ran out of toilet paper after the 1st night. There was no one available to go to for these supplies, had to buy our own TP and for that reason the cost of the room should have been a little cheaper. Could have used a little more coverage on the window coverings especially around the jacuzzi and the lawn behind the bungalows could have used a little attention. The checkin was pleasant. My standards are usually pretty high but overall we did enjoy our stay here and have no regrets and I would recommend this place for the charm of it all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkariBungalows, Manager at Akari Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

LynetteT:
Thanks for your review! The cars and crowds at Rod Run can indeed be a little loud, but we're glad you enjoyed your stay. As a new management company, we are still working out a few kinks including having someone on-site for resupplying guests with necessary items during their stay.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again someday!

-Akari Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were at the bungalows in September. We were quite disappointed and definitely will try out other hotels next time. We needed toilet paper and soap from day one and never had it. We had to go out and buy our own. When we called there was not anyone in front to get it for us and no mails around. The password would not work for our laptop. It was one thing after another. Yes, they are private but if you need anything you don't see anyone later the following day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Perplexed by all the favorable reviews that prompted us to reserve at Akari...they are not comfortable accommodations based on stay this week. Here is what we experienced: fair location-walking distance to arch but no view (ugly parking lot), no ocean sounds even with window open. We were told there was an organic market next door, it is closing and all they had left to sell was herbs, and sex toys, no I am not kidding. The check-in was so weird, no real office, I felt as though I was intruding arriving and when checking out at 11am on a Tuesday, no one was there to give keys to but someone sweeping outside. So, here's the scoop on the bungalow #5, and I hope this inspires vacationers to seek rooms elsewhere so their stay in LB is not as uncomfortable and icky as ours was. It was too late for us to find rooms elsewhere. We paid $150/Monday night, which I would say was $100 overpriced, seriously. The outside of the bungalows are freshly painted, old, but quaint. The entrance/door to #5 is hidden and scary and upon opening the door we felt like suckers, the photos online are generously flattering, this place has such low ceilings and is so small it would cramp a hobbits style. Yes there are two separate bedrooms the size of walk-in closets but this is only big enough for 2 people in our opinion. Two positives: it has fresh paint and nice comforters (clean? but very wrinkly). I read reviews about having a small bathroom, so I envisioned small, but people need to know they are tiny, like 1person can stand but not turn around tiny, stand up half size shower, toilet that runs and a sink that doesn't drain, ever. I walked over to the woman who checked us in and asked about the sink not draining and she told me "hmmm, I don't know about any plumbing problems ." When I pressed the issue saying we can't even brush our teeth, she grudgingly said she would send housekeeping to look at it...she never did. They are in serious need of a handyman around here, bathroom mirror barely attached on wall, faucets twist and wiggle when you turn on water, very rickety "furniture". The bungalows have more rules than i have ever seen at a motel, like don't move the furniture...which obviiusly happens because they are crammed with shabby weird stuff that is so uncomfortable and dangerous with children. The "sofa" was missing all of it's cushions, yes seriously, so they thought of hiding that with a blanket and cover, when you sit down your butt hits the wood frame, so cheapskate ridiculous. There is an old schoolhouse wood chair/desk, why? Makes no sense, along with all the other odds and ends pieces randomly placed in this space. We didn't even use the kitchenette, too scary that guests are expected to clean it, so we didn't want to take any chances. Smelly? Yes. But you can't open windows for air...read on. Private? No, and if you take the knots out of the curtains you will find they don't fully cover the windows, which by the way have no screens and no locks. Sigh. The good news news is that we never have to stay here again. The bad? We feel let down by all the good reviews that led to one icky getaway. Please be advised travellers, look elsewhere. Long beach has no Hiltons or Holiday Inns, but there are better places by far, camping would be better in our opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LostCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A very sweet place to stay. Easy walking to all the main street attractions and boardwalk to the beach. I stayed in Bungalow #6. Super clean. Comfy bed. Everything worked perfectly. It is on the small side but being a smaller person, I kind of liked that.

My only complaint was feeling a bit like I was in a fishbowl, esp on the the bath/bedroom side (facing west), mostly due to RV parking in the next lot over. Plant screening at the fence line and sheer white curtains inside the heavier ones (on tub and bedroom windows) would give a greater sense of privacy (if the lights are off!). Seemed like units 1-4 and maybe 7 and 8 didn't have that issue.

Housekeeping staff was friendly and helpful. I liked it so much I added a third night. Would definitely come back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
269 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
0 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#2 of 8 in Long Beach
1,877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Cottages
Boardwalk Cottages
#4 of 7 in Long Beach
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akari Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akari Bungalows

Address: 203 Bolstad Avenue, Long Beach, WA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Long Beach
Price Range: $89 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akari Bungalows provides 8 renovated 1930's bungalows located in the heart of Long Beach, Washington. We are comfortably tucked just off the main street on a beach access road. Kitchenettes, jetted bath tubs, decks and king beds are just some of the features we provide. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing