We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand castle Contest Weekend”
Review of Akari Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Long Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akari Bungalows
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a very relaxing, wonderful weekend. We stayed in #7. Came to compete in the sand castle contest and loved the closeness to the beach and easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Glad we didn't stay on the main street and avoided all the crowds. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We liked the big comfy bed with extra pillows, the flat screen tv, the well-stocked kitchen and especially the jetted tub after a long day at the beach. Couldn't get a decent wifi connection, but hey, didn't we come to get away from it all? A tv schedule would have been handy, but other than that, we would definetely stay here again.

Room Tip: The staff was kind, concerned, helpful and took good care of us. Made us feel welcome and made our s...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSSTNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Akari Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 133 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the off-site condo for four nights and enjoyed our time there. There were many pluses to the unit: well stocked, pet friendly, king bed, and easy to keep clean. One of our dogs was sick the night we arrived so I slept on the futon. It also was very comfortable, although I don't know where you would put 4 people during the day. We really enjoyed feeling like we were in our own place rather than a hotel room and the access to the beach and Discovery Trail were great. Our only two issues were the size of the bathroom and worse, the lack of comfortable seating. We are readers, so good reading chairs are important to us. It was also nice to have areas to walk our dogs right outside our door first thing in the morning and before bed. :)

Rebecca S.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

6 of us stayed in bungalow # 5 for 3 nights. It was super cute and cozy, and perfect for a mini getaway.
Pros: walking distance to the beach
walking distance to the shops
the organic market is super cute
room service provided towels and took out the trash everyday

Cons: there weren't any screens on the windows
bathroom was super small with no fan, only a small window that looked out to the front door so we didn;t like to keep it open
too many strict rules made us nervous to touch anything
you have to wash your own dishes which we didn't use in fear that the people that stayed before is didn't do a thorough job

All in all, i would stay here again. We also had friends that stayed in bungalow #3 and that one was super cute too. I loved the wall/ decor theme, and i love how they promote recycling.

Room Tip: Bungalow # 5 is the only one that has 2 rooms, but a very small shower and bathroom. I suggest renti...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I chose The Akari Bungalows for our Wedding Anniversary get away. Their really nothing to look at from the outside, hint: try adding more of a nautical theme to the area in which one dose business. The interior was quaint. If you are a above average size person this isn't the place for you! I felt like a Mountain Troll in The Hobbit's Home! The Bathrooms are sad to say a (Joke)! Although the Beds were very comfortable and hugh! Back to the Anniversary Part, they provided Rose Petals that my wife was going to save, yet the staff threw them away without asking if we would prefer to keep them for sentimental reasons, they provided the worst choice of a French Alcoholic Beverage that we have ever had the displeasure of drinking (they must have found this one at clearance, their idea of room service was only to change our kitchen washing towels once after a four day stay (what about the bed folks) and when it came time for check out the staff didn't even seem concerned whether or not our visit was satisfactory? The only positive side of this place was it's location in regards to the main beach entrance and the close availability to things in the heart of town!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderingmamaof3, Manager at Akari Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hello,

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the large king sized bed, they are indeed a favorite of many guests.

As you noted in your review the bathrooms are very small, this is due to the age of our little bungalows. They are old and quaint, and the bathrooms are tiny. In fact we try to mention to our guests when they are reserving a room, that the bathrooms are super small so that they are prepared or can simply choose someplace that has large enough facilities for their needs. We understand that we are not the right fit for every one's needs. We always hope that each guest has a comfy and cozy stay with us, and feel badly that you did not get to enjoy your stay with us.


We have spoken with housekeeping regarding the fact that they cleaned up and took the rose petals. It is in fact a policy of ours to leave the petals until a guest leaves, in case they want to keep them. We will be having a refresher on polices with our staff. The sparkling wine is simply a wine that was suggested to us by one of our wine reps, and we are sorry that it was offensive to you and your partner.


Many of our guests are very adamant on not having their bungalow disturbed during their stays, and in fact do not like housekeeping to do much beyond changing the towels and taking out the garbage. Thus we have housekeeping check with the guest each day to see what their needs are in regards to towels, linens, cleaning, etc. We are very sorry if housekeeping was not clear enough with you so that they could better meet your needs. This is also something that will be addressed in our next meeting.

Thank you for choosing Akari Bungalows, we truly appreciate each and every one of our guests.

Melissa

Akari Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Bungalow #8 was charming and just the right size. We had room to move around and our dog was comfortable as well. Kitchen well stocked and it was nice to have a dining table to sit at and enjoy a glass of wine and some cheese with bread. We enjoyed the deck on the back side one afternoon (although a back door from the unit would have been really nice) and were pleased with the fact that the beach and boardwalk were so close. Bed was very comfy and roomy - just like we like it.

Downside:
- Jacuzzi was disappointing since it only had room for one.
- Shower was very small, smallest one i've ever seen
- Could have been swept out a little better, found a little overlooked debris under the dining table
- Room needs either AC or a decent window fan - it was hot when we stayed there for 2 nights
- Store was not open long enough

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderingmamaof3, Manager at Akari Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Hello,


We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We truly try to make each bungalow comfy and cozy, so that are guests can settle in and relax.


We will speak to the owner of bungalow eight, and see if we can have a fan put in the room, for those days that it is warm. It tends to be so rare that it is very warm at our beach that we admit that the fans can be sometimes over looked.


Built in the 1930's, our bungalows have lots of charm but do lack in a few areas, the bathrooms are one such area. The bathrooms are all very small (except for bungalow three, they updated their bathroom entirely a year ago) and can be rather cramped. We hope we make up for tiny bathrooms by being super close to the beach, and having a very low key and relaxing environment.


The little organic market that shares the parking lot with the bungalow did used to be open much longer hours, unfortunately the area is not large enough to support it, and they have had to reduce their hours to avoid going out of business entirely.

We thank you so much for choosing Akari Bungalows, we truly value each and every one of our guests.

Melissa
Akari Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We came on a clam digging weekend and had a great time. As we were not able to get out of town as early as we liked we came in after the store had closed and it was very nice that the manager had called and let us know that our key would be in the bungalow. The bed was very comfortable and the fireplace kept the one room studio plenty toasty. We stayed in bungalow #2 and it has a mini kitchen so do not plan on preparing any 5 course dinners. As we chose to eat out at the many available restaurants in Long Beach this was not a problem for us. Overall a nice place to stay when you want a relaxing place close to the beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krystee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderingmamaof3, Manager at Akari Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you so much for choosing Akari! We enjoyed having you stay with us, and hope to see you soon!

Melissa
Akari Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had never stayed at the Akari Bungalows before but have made many trips to Long Beach, as it is such a dog friendly town. We tend to stay where we have an ocean view, but our normal spot was full, as we were booking last minute. I'm so glad it was!

We stayed in unit 1. It was incredibly charming. It was spacious enough for the two of us and our excited 90 pound pooch. The kitchen was well stocked with all we needed. Organic coffee beans a definite plus! The location, while not on the beach, was perfect for accessing both beach and town. The service was incredibly helpful and friendly. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellisd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderingmamaof3, Manager at Akari Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We greatly enjoyed having you stay with us, and hope to see you in the future!

Melissa
Akari Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
88 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#2 of 8 in Long Beach
1,806 reviews
1.4 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.2 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akari Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akari Bungalows

Address: 203 Bolstad Avenue, Long Beach, WA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Long Beach
Price Range: $89 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akari Bungalows provides 8 renovated 1930's bungalows located in the heart of Long Beach, Washington. We are comfortably tucked just off the main street on a beach access road. Kitchenettes, jetted bath tubs, decks and king beds are just some of the features we provide. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing