We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice little place!”
Review of Akari Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Long Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Akari Bungalows
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed in bugalow number 5. Great location to the "main street" and the beach. Nice and quiet. My only complaint is the size of the shower and how close the toilet is to the wall. We had to sit side saddle. The service was top notch. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigdaddyj73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderingmamaof3, Manager at Akari Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Hello,


Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We love to hear feedback, it is what keeps us improving. :)

We hope to have you stay with us in the future!


Sincerely,

Akari Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 136 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

I would say it wasnt the best place to stay for the money, in cabin #3 there is no remote I confronted the manager and she said sorry...I read some of the revues it seems as if they had lost the remote quite awhile back...It may seem trivial but we took the cabin with the couch to set relax and watch tv alone no kids standing at the tv changing chanels is un called for....plus the fire place kept going out but I will say the manager had someone there right away...hats off to that...The owner should be ashamed get a remote that works or buy a new tv for the size not a whole lot of money....

Brian and Kathy

Room Tip: any room but 3,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderingmamaof3, Manager at Akari Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2012

Hello,

We at Akari Bungalows wanted to let you know how much we value you taking the time to leave a review.
We also would like to state that the owners of Bungalow 3 have replaced the TV set and the Bungalow now has a remote control.

Sincerely,
Akari Bungalows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Rented cottage #1 for two nights at Thanksgiving for an out-of-town guest who was very pleased by the charming interior. This was my last option for last-minute travel -- the cottages at Klipsan were booked; ditto Lighthouse; ditto cottages on the Boardwalk. Preferred the competing sites because I'm in Klipsan Beach and the Akari units are the least cool-looking from the outside. Turns out the cozy setup in cottage #1 was very welcome on two very stormy nights. Entry into well equipped country style kitchen -- ample utensils, pots & pans, cleaning supplies, plus coffee beans, grinder & French press. Zero-clearance propane-fired heater in the living room looks like a fireplace (but operates by thermostat) with backup from small electric wall heaters w fans (think yesteryear -- maybe a foot square in size mounted in framing cavity). Simple, comfortable furnishings w B & B feel overall. Comfortable, secure, and welcoming. Slightly below-standard ceiling height, not surprising for an old frame structure that's been remodeled many times -- not a negative for us, and makes the place faster to heat in winter. Location is a positive tradeoff for the shoulder-to-shoulder placement of these units in a dreary line marching down the small parking lot -- you're one block from the center of gravity in downtown Long Beach -- the pharmacy, Scoops, Cottage Bakery, etc are a block away, along with the bustling foot traffic of a holiday beach town. Pretty nifty, all considered --- this will be high on the list of preferences next time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happily_surprised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We have stayed in long beach several times and always figgured it was a nice beach with icky hotels and restaurants. But after staying at Akari our impression has changed. The weather was good so we felt a little guilty spending so much time in the room- but it was so clean and comfortable. loved the huge bed, big jacuzzi tub and lovely firepace. They even have cd player and DVD/VCR & cable TV in the room. They would be great if the weather was bad. The health food store in the office has wonderful things (like a mini whole foods), and having a kitchen means that we could go to the Aloha fish market and cook in our room. It was amazing. But the best part is that they were pet friendly. We always want to bring our furry daughter with us and she thought she had gone to heaven. we'll be back.

Room Tip: our room was #6- plenty big for a couple and one dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhill639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

Let me start by saying that I really wanted to like this place. It seemed to have a lot going for it; it's really close to the beach, it's pet friendly, and it is located right next to a little organic market. The pictures on the website looked cute, the prices seemed reasonable, and I love to support a local business. So for a two night getaway with my boyfriend, it seemed the perfect fit....... But it was a HUGE disappointment.

We stayed in bungalow #6. When I went to take a bath in the jetted tub (which was a big selling point for me), it took an hour and a half to actually fill up. When I pulled the plug to drain it, the water immediately rushed up out of the shower drain in the bathroom and flooded the entire bungalow. We called the manager Tammy, who informed us that this flooding is a recurrent problem with several of the bungalows. She made no apologies, no offer to move us to a different bungalow, nor to send someone to help with clean up. She just sent her daughter down with more towels, as we had used all of ours to mop up the floor. Trying to roll with the punches, we shrugged off this incident as a minor inconvenience.

The next day we left early to go exploring. After a wonderful day on the coast, we returned to our bungalow, which had been left unlocked by the housekeeper that had come to clean while we were out. As my laptop and valuables were in the room, this didn't make me very happy. When we asked Tammy why the room had been left unlocked, she again made no apology and said that 'We just don't have problems like that here.' She also informed us that while we were out, the plumbers had been to our unit to look at the plumbing issue-something that she had not let us know beforehand. Again, it's the principle of it- I would have liked to have been informed that non-hotel staff were going to be in my room so that I could choose what to do with my belongings. Although nothing was stolen, it was more the carelessness and disregard that really bothered me.

I should mention that the sliding bathroom door didn't shut. I don't mean that it didn't shut all of the way, or that it was difficult to open and close, I mean that it didn't shut AT ALL. It was completely stuck and try as we might, it would not budge at all. So every time one of us had to use the facilities, the other had to either stand on the other side of the room (which amounts to still only being about 6 feet away), or go stand outside. It was obvious that other people had run into the same problem, as there were marks all along the edge of the door where they had tried to pry it out. Needless to say, this killed the romantic part of our romantic weekend.

Add to that the fact that the heat didn't work (thank goodness for the little fireplace), the glassware was dirty and caked in lipstick, it took the water 20 minutes to heat up, the narrow check in times (3-5pm only), and the general lack of true cleanliness, we were not entirely satisfied with our stay. We are not the type of people to be picky about our accommodations, but this was just too much.

When we checked out, we asked to speak with someone about our bill. We felt awkward asking, and we have never done anything like this before, but we felt that all of these things had added up. After all, we had spent $250 on a room that, among other things, had no bathroom door, no heat, and had flooded. The guy at the counter was very nice, but told us he didn't have the authority to do anything about it and told us to call Tammy later that afternoon. We did, and got the voice mail. We called again...nothing. She finally called back and left a voice mail saying that she would issue a 10% credit, that they would NOT be issuing any further refund, and that this should be the end of our contact. There was (once again) no apology.

Needless to say I am deeply disappointed. Maybe the other bungalows are in better shape than #6, but it was the neglect from the management that was really upsetting. Even a little communication and care would have been enough for us. We were not treated with respect, and feel as though we were ripped off. The moral of the story?.....DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah211211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanderingmamaof3, Manager at Akari Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2011

We at Akari Bungalows are all about customer service. We were sad to hear that Sarah had not felt satisfied by her stay with us and had felt like no apologies were forthcoming. I never spoke with Sarah directly but with her partner and apologized profusely every time we spoke. I am sad she missed out on that. We felt like we went out of our way to address the two issues that were brought to our attention at the time they occurred and upon check out. We are sorry that this wasn't satisfactory. For clarification here are our policies:
The Organic Market has begun winter hours and since this is where our office is we also have winter Bungalow office hours. However, check-in is available anytime after 3pm until as late as someone needs to check in. If a guest is checking in later than office hours other arrangements are made with the guests prior to arrival.
We have a paid housekeeping staff which includes our daughter. We don't randomly send family members to help guests with a problem but paid employees of the Bungalows.
Our jetted tubs are newer additions to the 1930s Bungalows and we address all issues with them promptly. We have never had a complaint that they filled slowly and we will check into that. Sarah's partner only told us it had a draining problem, which we promptly addressed with a plumber the following day. Never have we had recurrent problem with flooding or we wouldn't rent that Bungalow out until it was resolved.
We offered Sarah and her partner the opportunity to change to a new Bungalow after the back up of the jetted tub and that was declined by Sarah's partner. Our policy is to take care of our guests and a change to a different Bungalow, when available, is always offered.
We have a time between 11am-3pm that housekeeping comes into each Bungalow to clean or service. We go into all units unless we have been informed by the guests that they don't want servicing that day. We had not received a "do not service" request from Sarah nor was she anywhere around upon our arrival to discuss our plans to check out the plumbing in their Bungalow. We wanted them to be able to use the jetted tub if they cared to. While routine servicing took place a Bungalow employee and plumber also went over the jetted tub drainage to ascertain the problem that Sarah had encountered. Further venting is required but the tub was still useable with slowly letting the water out, if desired. Of course, while we were checking out the plumbing we would have addressed the stuck/swollen pocket door if we had known it was a problem.
Our heat source for the Bungalows IS their gas fireplaces. We are sorry that was confusing.
We are very fussy about our housekeeping and would have replaced the glassware had we known that it was dirty. Guests do wash their own dishes and put them away.
We apologized profusely for the door being left unlocked. We have spoken with the housekeeper who overlooked this but sometimes mistakes are made. Every attempt is made for this not to happen, however. Fortunately we can see all the entrances to the Bungalows and there is little opportunity for theft from passer-bys.
Our reservation staff stated to them that we would happily provide a 10% discount for their inconvenience. As well, a gift of a free bottle of wine was offered at check out to Sarah and her partner, but it was declined.
We also contact our parent company when we have a question about Akari Bungalow procedures and this was the case in this instance. They informed us that we had done absolutely everything we should do to satisfy our guests. That is always our goal. We are sorry that Sarah felt neglected, but our attempt to quickly rectify each situation as it presented itself should show that this was not our desire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

First trip to the Long Beach Peninsula. Pick the Akari Bungalows based on a friends recommendation. Very cute and clean. Great location...a half block from the main LB beach entrance where lots of walking paths originate. We had a few disappointments...our bungalow (#5) was smaller than it looked in the web photo (but must say it's format of 2 bedrooms worked out fine for us). I think it would be really snug for 2 couples or a family. Also disappointed by having smokers in the bungalows on both sides of us. They were smoking outside and we had the windows open so we could really smell it. Lastly, our bedroom clocks and microwave were out. But it really was a very lovely and clean space. The gas fireplace came in handy to warm us up a couple of times and made the space very cozy. The beds and flannel sheets were super comfy. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADesignGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed here last week for the International Kite Festival and had a lovely time. We were in Bungalow #1 which was perfect for our family (2 adults, 2 children and a visiting grandparent). The staff was amazing and extremely helpful. There were several times that I would pop into the market and ask the gentleman there for recommendations. The location is amazing, right at the entrance to the boardwalk.

The unit was well stocked and the king bed was very comfortable. My mom said that the pull out couch could have been more comfortable, but it did it's job. There was enough seating for the 5 of us and a small bar-like table in the kitchen. Lots of natural lighting which some may not like. #1 is right near the entrance so people walking by will be able to see in the unit if you leave your curtains open. I wasn't walking around naked so it didn't bother me. Even with the curtains closed, plenty of light. There were books in the cabinet and games in the table.

The kitchen included glasses, plates, utensils, a full size fridge, range and oven, coffee maker, microwave, pitchers, cookware, etc. Basically everything we could want for a small family vacation. We stopped at Sid's on the main road on our way in and picked up groceries.

Yes, the bathroom was teeny-tiny. Just an itty-bitty shower. My husband had a hard time ducking to stay under the showerhead, but he said it was just a small thing. The bathroom window does overlook a parking lot. We kept it closed when the bathroom was in use and opened it when not.

Scoopers for the win! The ice cream was fantastic and it looked like there was lots of candy in the store, but I didn't stop to check any of it out. The little Mexican window in front of Scoopers was great too. We ordered 2 tacos each and just ate at the standing counter.

A trip to Marsh's is a requirement we heard so we checked that out as well. Super weird, but fun for the kids. You can't pass up seeing Jake the Alligator Man. Bring coins to drop in the neat little machines.

We went on a girls' trip to Back Country for horseback riding. Just a (long) walk down the Blvd. The staff was pleasant and we loved our guides. $25/person for a 1-hour beach ride. You can't beat that! The view was beautiful and it was so peaceful.

It was an extremely busy stay and the boardwalk was packed! I loved seeing the kites everywhere. It was super cold though...could have been my Florida blood though. :)

We will definitely be back next year and will try to stay in the same bungalow. Thanks, Akari!

Room Tip: #1 is good for a smaller family (4 or 5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Courtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
0 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#2 of 8 in Long Beach
1,866 reviews
0.2 mi away
The #1 Coastal Inn and Suites
1.4 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akari Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akari Bungalows

Address: 203 Bolstad Avenue, Long Beach, WA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Long Beach
Price Range: $89 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akari Bungalows provides 8 renovated 1930's bungalows located in the heart of Long Beach, Washington. We are comfortably tucked just off the main street on a beach access road. Kitchenettes, jetted bath tubs, decks and king beds are just some of the features we provide. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing