We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“More like a motel”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Bought the LIving Social Deal & was placed in a ground floor room, which had an 'ocean view', but was beyond the 'parking lot view'...the hotel made good on the deal, but it was much less glamourous than was expected. Rooms are nice & modern, but really sparse in terms of furniture. The laminate flooring looks great, but it's not so nice at 6am when the people in the room directly above you are stomping around & waking you up. The gourmet breakfast basket (which would've been $18 for 2 people) was quite meager (I will attach a photo). A towel rack/hook needs to be added beside the sink. Also, housekeeping did come & make the bed & take out the trash, but did little else. The floors were not swept at all, nor were the used glasses taken away/replaced. Wifi only worked in the lobby, or if you stood right beside the window in the room.

Great reception service in terms of selecting a DVD to watch in the room, free bike rentals, and most of all, coffee & tea available in the lobby!

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor, as you will hear every little step taken in the room above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Thank you so much for buying the Living Social deal and staying with us! All of our front desk staff have been trained to give each guest the same information when booking a Living Social deal. We let you know that the room that comes with the deal is a single basic queen room in our east building. We let you know that the east building does not have an elevator or wifi. We all offer upgrades to our west building, which has an elevator, wifi, and refrigerators in all of the rooms. We let all guests know that the first floor in the east building does not have an ocean view and we always book a room with a view if it is available. Without being able to look up your reservation, it is hard to know why you were booked in a first floor room. I let our housekeeping manager know about the issues with floor not being swept and the glasses not being changed. She will be talking with all housekeeping staff. We also make sure to let guests know what is included in the picnic breakfast (local, fresh scones, fresh, organic fruit, organic yogurt, and organic juice delivered to your door). We have tried to price all of our packages and retail items fairly. We hope that you decide to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    786
    474
    209
    113
    98
See reviews for
443
887
76
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We spent 2 nights on a "razor clam weekend" at the Adrift in Long Beach. The weather was not cooperative, but we were lucky enough to get several breaks and took long walks with our dog on the wonderful beach. The hotel is very well situated for beach access and the bar/restaurant upstairs makes it very convenient when the weather is bad.

Plus: good free coffee, tea and friendly service in the lobby, dog treats, bikes, dvds, etc. Dogs welcomed with a minimal fee, which is key for me. Our bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the bath amenities were very nice. Room 230 - we were on the end, near the lobby and I noticed very little noise from the lobby or elevator.

Minus: Room 230. no surface spaces in the room make a winter visit very hard. There was nowhere to lay anything, really, except the two crates attached to the wall, which is not enough for winter clothing. In summer it may be fine. The sink had very little surface space for items and there is no surface space or hooks at all in the bathroom. A small bookcase or drawer set would be helpful. This room was directly over the lobby and when my companion went down to get coffee I was shocked that I could hear every word he said, as well as every other word anyone else said from the lobby, when the TV was not on. I'm not sure why. I understand also why there are no rugs on the floors - it's a beach property and they also allow pets -- but that does make for sandy beds. Perhaps some throw-away, washable IKEA style braided rugs for each side of the bed would help.

Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and, if the rates stay affordable, we would return.

Room Tip: upgrade to a REAL view room, if you can afford it. our room was called a view room, but we saw more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallaWallaTastebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Loved our stay here this past weekend (Nov 2011). Staff were consistently extremely friendly and helpful, regardless of who we were talking to.
When we asked if we could be moved to an identical room on a higher floor to avoid the loud foot noise above us, staff were extremely accomodating and the manager even upgraded us to a king bed room with an ocean view in the main building from our basic queen oceanview room in the older building! We weren't even trying to get anything more out of the situation.
Complimentary bikes, organic coffee and tea, fruit water, DVDs, etc. were fantastic bonuses.
Highly recommend borrowing bikes for a nice ride along the path by the beach.
Breakfast basket and bonfire package were both uniquely wonderful additions. Homemade scones were and high quality organic chocolate were delicious!
Romantic, beautiful, relaxing location. Very family friendly.
Would definitely consider returning again, even though I rarely go somewhere twice because I like to try new things. We were very pleasantly surprised by what we got for the price we paid.
Grocery store is a very short drive away.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms farther away from the stairwell in the older building (where the spa is located) are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPRX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate my birthday. Best birthday ever! Great location, right on the beach. Room furnishings are simple but sustainable. The bed was a little too firm for me, but my husband didn't mind it. We used their cruiser bikes and enjoyed the experience, you could go on forever on the bike trail. They also have a nice boardwalk. We got the bonfire package and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The wine that came with it was great, we spent over 4 hours on the beach by our bonfire, sipping wine, roasting marshmallows (made great S'mores) and stargazing, the weather was perfect. The beach was lit by the moonlight. It was super romantic.
The coffee and infused water in the lobby were awesome. The staff are super friendly. We would go back again.

Room Tip: west building has a great view of the ocean, room 430 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coco-nut59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff was the greatest group of people, so nice and welcoming. I could not have asked for a better place. I'll deffinately be back next summer! =)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle_Bryant-24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

If you don't like this place, you just don't get it. You don't understand that having organic coffee, tea, agave sweetener, etc. in the lobby of a eco-friendly hotel is a big deal! The decor is minimalist and modern so if you're only comfortable in a chain hotel with ugly bedspreads, look elsewhere. I loved this place. I got a bonfire package so when I arrived, there were already two beach chairs, blankets, a bottle of wine, organic fixins for smores, and a bucket full of firewood ready to go. We left the windows open and could hear the ocean (as well as see it!). There was an ipod dock in the room and local microbrews and wine for sale in the lobby! There are two buildings-east and west-the east doesn't have wifi but as close as you are to the beach, why the heck would you want to be on a computer? I wasn't too impressed with the restaurant on the 4th floor (except for the view), but it was nice to walk 2 doors down the hall to have dinner. My room only had a shower so if you like to stick your kids in the bathtub you might ask if they have rooms with tubs. I'm not sure why they call it a spa, other than you can book massages on property. Extremely friendly and accomodating staff, videos and bikes to borrow in the lobby, what more could you ask for? And this place is NOT dirty. Whoever wrote that must have been old and grouchy. This ain't your grandpa's hotel, that's for sure!

Room Tip: I read other reviews where people complained about people upstairs being noisy (the floors aren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

we showed up w/o reservations. the office people were friendly and professional, and we chose the room in the building w the best view of the ocean. Eclectic but clean and very nice, reasonably priced and we thought, a very good value. When going back to Long Beach, will go back here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StumptownSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
1.8 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
1.6 mi away
The Anchorage Cottages
The Anchorage Cottages
#5 of 8 in Long Beach
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrift Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift Hotel and Spa

Property: Adrift Hotel and Spa
Address: 409 Sid Snyder Drive, Long Beach, WA 98631
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adrift Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our modern, ocean front hotel in the heart of the peninsula. We offer a variety of guest rooms, from no-frills studios to ocean front suites; all with updated amenities, a unique style and a focus on sustainability. Adrift is a beachfront experience...Some of our many on-site amenities include a small urban spa, complimentary bikes, game tables, and ocean view dining at [Pickled Fish] restaurant, and FREE daily live music from some of the northwest's most notable musicians, starting at 8pm - Close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Adrift Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift Hotel Long Beach
Edgewater Hotel Long Beach
Edgewater Motel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing