We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most excellent property at the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. On a last minute whim, my husband and I decided to book a long weekend (3 nights) at the beach rather than the backpacking excursion we had planned in Winthrop. Heeding the advice of some friends who had visited the Adrift during Labor Day, we booked a ocean view king, room 427, and added in the Bonfire Package option for Friday night.
We had an amazing time. First of all, the staff was so kind and helpful, very warm and approachable. And one of my favorite parts, the design. I love modern. The Adrift gets it. I was so happy. Love the avant garde of the unfinished wood--appropriately designed for for a beach property. Love the exposed flooring and showers--this is not your typical hotel, and thank heavens! One of the very few times I have actually raved about the design of a hotel room! The top-floor oceanview room has a chaise so I could curl up and read with an ocean view, while watching the rain roll in. Or lay in the giant, comfy bed. Perfection.
There are beach cruisers and helmets to borrow-free to guests--and some DVD choices as well at the front desk. They can bring you a simple breakfast as well--which was very good.
We opted in for the Bonfire package, which included a bottle of wine, smores fixings, firewood, kindling, a lighter, and the use of blankets and chairs, all the fixings for a beach bonfire. That was so worth it. All my trouble melted away, and I had plenty going into this vacation!
I cannot wait to return here and I will tell everyone I know how excellent it was. Next time we will have to try a different room so we can bring our dog, I know he would love it as well!

Thanks for a great weekend!

Room Tip: Top floor is quiet with excellent ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank blhappypets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,835)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,800 - 1,806 of 1,835 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

Once upon a time, the building containing Adrift was a standard-issue motel. Thankfully, it's been spiffed up a lot with new wood laminate floors in the rooms (no icky carpets), updated bathrooms and modern furniture.

Our room had a king-size bed, a comfortable chaise and an angled view across the beach to the ocean, There was also a fridge, a flat-screen TV, DVD player and no phone.

The four stars are in comparison to other properties in Long Beach. With a few more updates such as better flooring and decor in the hallways and elevator and a different restaurant on the top floor (must be a pre-renovation holdover), this could be a real top-flight property.

Room Tip: The main building has is closer to the beach. South-facing rooms have unobstructed views of the dune...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank RoamingSeattleite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We do plan on renovating the elevator during the winter! It just wasn't possible during the busy summer season. When the owners purchased the hotel, they also bought into the restaurant's lease. The Lightship is still managed by the same people as before. Again, thank you so much for the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

After staying here last year, we were looking forward to the new remodeled Adrift. Boy were we disappointed. Dirty wooden boxes for furniture (guess that saves having to clean anything). No place to hang up clothes just live out of your suitcase off the floor. Had to ask for coffee mugs and bedding for the futon twice. We were in suite 232 on the second floor, there a king mattress on a wooden box in the bedroom and in the living room had a small hard as a rock vinyl futon that was smaller than a double bed (not a sofa bed like we were told we would have) The vinyl floor was cold, ugly and dirty, the bathroom floor looks like they tore out the vinyl and left the sub floor. Hope no one pees on the floor no way to clean it. Watch it guys. The staff could care less if you're comfortable they need more training on how to take care of their guests. The pallet with the mirror mounted on it was a killer. We suggest you consider another remodel or set this place ADRIFT. We'll never stay there again. NOT WORTH $354.56 FOR 2 MISERABLE NIGHTS. Too bad it's a great location.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here pick a top floor room so you can't hear the noise from the people abov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
11  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

We do know that our hotel is not for everyone, which is definitely the point. We are offering a style that no other hotel on the peninsula has. Its modern, industrial, and urban. We have engineered wood floors in the rooms. Our bathroom flooring is stained and sealed concrete board, which is very easy to clean. We designed the space to use repurposed cranberry harvesting crates for storage in the room. They are sanded and clean. We make sure to provide you with anything you might possibly need during your stay. We do have luggage racks available. We also have extra mattress pads for your use. We take pride in our staff and their customer service abilities. The bottom-line is that if you truly loved the old Edgewater, you probably won't love us. And we're ok with that! There are plenty of hotels on the peninsula to chose from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

At check-in staff were extremely friendly and helpful, went above and beyond to accommodate our requests. Free coffee and infused water were available in the lobby. The decor and furnishings were very stylish. modern, and comfortable - even though they did not give a warm, cosy feel. We stayed in two different rooms - oceanfront king and ocean view king. Both were large, clean, comfortable and provided a great view of the sunset. The toiletries were luxurious!

One floor had a foosball table, another had a selection of books. Lobby had DVDs available to borrow. Great extras!

Fabulous location right on the beach. Bikes available in the lobby are great for exploring the area.
We will definitely return soon!

Room Tip: book an oceanfront king - Room 334 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jm_pep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate it! We can't wait to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The staff was very unfriendly. Room had no table and chair in it. Bed was extremely uncompfortable. The front desk and management lied about the price. Charged me a much higher price than was quoted over the phone before arriving. Was told had to stay for three days if wanted to rent a room. Will NEVER stay there again.
But the restaraunt upstairs is very good.

Room Tip: Pick a better motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We did look up your reservation and you stayed in one of our deluxe queen rooms. That room has a custom-built window daybed, which can be used for sleeping or as a great sitting area. The design of the room is slightly different than some of our other rooms, therefore it does not allow room for a table and chair. We do apologize if there was a miscommunication over the phone about the price. We do not take payment until check in and would have let you know the total price for your room at that time. If the price was not acceptable, we would have definitely let you out of your reservation. You stayed with us during Rod Run weekend, which is one of our busiest times of the year, and we most certainly could've filled the room. As one of our policies, we do require minimum night stays during events and holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel on labor day weekend, and was on the first floor of the east building. The location of the hotel is great, but I thought the rooms were disappointing. Be sure to check the mattress, as I found ours to be very dirty with stains on the corners of the bed. Perhaps they never updated the mattresses when they renovated the rooms? The best way I can describe the updates is sort of like, icing a cake made out of [...]. It was as if they tried to just cover up existing problems with just white linens and paint. On top of that, my daughter also stepped on a loose nail right outside of the room door. (Fortunately it pierced only through her sandals.). Also the walls must be thin, because all night we heard people stomping around above us and from the adjoining rooms. Then I thought that maybe they were still in the process of renovating, but when I asked the front desk if there were additional plans, they said "not really". Too bad, since the update so far isn't convincing nor authentic enough to be hip and overall definitely could use more improvement.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelhobbiests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. When we purchased the property in the spring of 2011, we did put more into the remodel of the west building. We kept the renovation in the east building more basic. We plan on continuing renovations in both buildings. We replaced all the mattresses in the west building and replaced about 80% of the mattresses in the east building. We are planning to replace more mattresses over the winter, as well as refining all of our rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed in room 102 in the east building next to the stairs. All pet owners are required to take a first floor room in this building and a second floor room in the main. This may not be a problem for some, but the noise level from the room above and outside was ridiculous. The neighbors weren't loud-the walls/ ceiling are just too thin. There is also no fridge, micro or coffee in room. I really wanted to like this place, but for $130, I think I can find better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrifthotel, Public Relations Manager at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. Our east building is our less expensive building because the rooms have fewer amenities, such as refrigerators. A comparable room in our west building costs $5 more and does have a refrigerator and a microwave in the common area. We do provide coffee pots upon request. As for our pet policy, we have had to designate our first level floors as pet friendly because there are people who are allergic and others who don’t like animals. We were full to capacity over the Labor Day weekend, which probably contributed to the noise level. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
0.5 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
1.8 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrift Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift Hotel and Spa

Address: 409 Sid Snyder Drive, Long Beach, WA 98631
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range: $82 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adrift Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our modern, ocean front hotel in the heart of the peninsula. We offer a variety of guest rooms, from no-frills studios to ocean front suites; all with updated amenities, a unique style and a focus on sustainability. Adrift is a beachfront experience...Some of our many on-site amenities include a small urban spa, complimentary bikes, game tables, and ocean view dining at [Pickled Fish] restaurant, and FREE daily live music from some of the northwest's most notable musicians, starting at 8pm - Close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Adrift Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift Hotel Long Beach
Edgewater Hotel Long Beach
Edgewater Motel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing