We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed in room 102 in the east building next to the stairs. All pet owners are required to take a first floor room in this building and a second floor room in the main. This may not be a problem for some, but the noise level from the room above and outside was ridiculous. The neighbors weren't loud-the walls/ ceiling are just too thin. There is also no fridge, micro or coffee in room. I really wanted to like this place, but for $130, I think I can find better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrifthotel, Public Relations Manager at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. Our east building is our less expensive building because the rooms have fewer amenities, such as refrigerators. A comparable room in our west building costs $5 more and does have a refrigerator and a microwave in the common area. We do provide coffee pots upon request. As for our pet policy, we have had to designate our first level floors as pet friendly because there are people who are allergic and others who don’t like animals. We were full to capacity over the Labor Day weekend, which probably contributed to the noise level. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    465
    203
    107
    95
See reviews for
420
855
70
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at Adrift for for 4 nights in late August/early September 2011 as a family beach vacation. We go to the Long Beach area about every other year and have for many years so we have stayed lots of different places during that time. We now have 2 dogs and a 10 year old son so we have some very specific needs and Adrift met many of those. They do take dogs - even our 2 black labs - and they charge just $15 per dog for the entire stay (not per night as most other places do). We also prefer a suite with separate bedroom and king bed, and they also had that, and at a very reasonable price (and it was an ocean front room with a lovely view). We loved the bed and bedding and unlike other reviewers we did not hear noise from other rooms. The location is fantastic - within easy walking distance of the town, restaurants, shops, and of course - the beach! Now for the not so good. While I philosophically love the idea of minimalist furnishings, sustainability, and the repurposing of items such as old pipes and crates, those things did not make for a comfortable room. The couch and chair were quite uncomfortable and I hurt myself on the crate tables several times while there. I also found the lighting to be very harsh and they did not use CFLs, which was odd. There were also things missing that I have come to expect in a room at this price such as a closet or at least a place to safely hang dressy clothes, a dresser, and flooring in the bathroom (it's a raw wood sub floor, which really bugged me). I guess after staying here I realized that comfort is also important to me and Adrift did not meet my needs in that area. I think they could do a little more work to make the rooms more comfortable and inviting while still adhering to their values. Not sure that we will stay here again but it was an experience I won't forget!

Room Tip: Request an ocean front room - but not the one under the restaurant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabriel_B's_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I really enjoyed this hotel. We booked and stayed in a pet friendly room. I closly inspect every room when ever I stay in a hotel (I could give stories that would turn your stomach). I was very happy with the cleanliness of this room. The staff was great and bent over backwards to make it pleasant for us. We had to leave a little earlier than we wanted, but will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
We are so happy to hear that you had enjoyed your stay! Can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel is located steps from the beach and the entrance to the boardwalk and beach path. The lobby is funky with a modern eco-friendly decor, bikes and dvds to borrow for free and fantastic coffee. The decor of the rooms is minimalist (some of the eco trendy features are a little hit and miss, but mostly hit). We ate at the restaurant on the top floor and enjoyed a wonderful meal overlooking the sunset. The staff at the front desk and at the restaurant were all very friendly. Wonderful customer service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giddymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you so much for the review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue River, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We found Adrift to be clean, friendly, and interesting. The staff was very helpful and the ambiance is modern and sleek.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artsy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna Bc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

We found the Adrift at the end of our day, and were intrigued by their brochure...we asked to see a room, and instantly knew this would be a great place to stay....the king mattress was one of the most comfy we have ever slept on! a huge, glass, walk in shower was great for rinsing off the sand, after walking for hours on the beach-which was right outside the front door of the hotel. The Adrift is a very modern, eclectic place, with an eco-friendly approach. Crisp white linens and lots of fluffy white towels, lots of space in the room, and even a chaise lounge beside the picture size window, so we could enjoy the view of the ocean from our 4th floor, top floor room. The Adrift has a restaurant and lounge on their 4th floor, with wonderful food and service, and is the only restaurant in Long Beach with an ocean view! In the lobby there is complimentary coffee, and you can even purchase beer and wine. The Adrift lends bicycles to their guests. There is a paved oceanside pathway, which parallels the beach, for cycling, running, or walking, as well as a boardwalk for walking, just outside the hotel's door. We loved this place, would return in a heartbeat, and highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is the worst place we've ever stayed in Long Beach. The bathroom area is varnished sub floor! Insulation is terrible-you could hear toilets flush and fans from other rooms. The room had no air movement and became overly warm. Yes, they brought a fan and later an air conditioner, but it was noisy and then became too cold. No way to regulate to a comfortable temp. Toilet and bathtub are ancient and not water savers. No doggy poop pick up bags for pet excrement. Not even a luggage rack to be had. Suitcases on the floor. Night stands are wooden crates. 2 bare light bulbs for the whole room and they are incandescent bulbs. There is a mattress on a platform-that has no toe kick insets. We stubbed toes constantly. At the end of the hall there were games for people to play (foosball?) and kids were running to and from there which just added to the noise of the game playing. On the 2nd floor we had a view of beach bushes. T.V. had a blurry picture. It reminded us of a dorm room or a youth hostel. All this for $120.00 plus fifteen dollars for our 7 lb. dog for a total of $135.00. A terrible value. Yes, it's close to the beach and the lobby is kind of cool, but this is no place to feel relaxed and comfortable.

Room Tip: These are nice people, but this place is a 'dive'. The second floor had no view, room was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LindaCH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We realize that our modern, industrial style does not appeal to everyone. The bathroom area flooring is actually sealed and stained concrete board, which is meant to cohere with the simplistic style of the hotel. The recycled cranberry crates and industrial style lighting is also meant to compliment the feel. We did have a couple of days here at the beach which were unusually warm with stagnant air that is not common for the area. We apologize that the fan and the air conditioner did not meet your needs. We did not replace the toilets as we were trying to get the hotel open for the summer. We have looked into replacing them and it will be something we will do in the near future. We always try to accomodate every request and we had luggage racks available. We have now placed them in every room. As for the comment about providing doggy poop pick up bags, again we always try to accomodate every request and could have provided some sort of bag for you to use. We are also a kid-friendly hotel, but we do not provide diapers. Finally, we looked up your reservation, and your room was $110/night before the Washington state hotel and sales tax and our one time pet cleaning fee. Thank you for providing us this opportunity to clarify details about unique ocean front hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.4 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
1.6 mi away
The Anchorage Cottages
The Anchorage Cottages
#4 of 8 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrift Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift Hotel and Spa

Property: Adrift Hotel and Spa
Address: 409 Sid Snyder Drive, Long Beach, WA 98631
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adrift Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our modern, ocean front hotel in the heart of the peninsula. We offer a variety of guest rooms, from no-frills studios to ocean front suites; all with updated amenities, a unique style and a focus on sustainability. Adrift is a beachfront experience...Some of our many on-site amenities include a small urban spa, complimentary bikes, game tables, and ocean view dining at [Pickled Fish] restaurant, and FREE daily live music from some of the northwest's most notable musicians, starting at 8pm - Close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adrift Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift Hotel Long Beach
Edgewater Hotel Long Beach
Edgewater Motel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing