We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,064)
Filter reviews
2,064 results
Traveler rating
972
576
247
134
135
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
972
576
247
134
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspickled fishlive musicwest buildingshuffle boardorganic coffeefree bikesbonfire packagefourth floorgreat restaurantmain buildingfree coffeeping pongocean viewdiscovery trailcruiser bikeslove this placeget away
Filter
Updating list...
2,036 - 2,041 of 2,064 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is the worst place we've ever stayed in Long Beach. The bathroom area is varnished sub floor! Insulation is terrible-you could hear toilets flush and fans from other rooms. The room had no air movement and became overly warm. Yes, they brought a fan and later an air conditioner, but it was noisy and then became too cold. No way to regulate to a comfortable temp. Toilet and bathtub are ancient and not water savers. No doggy poop pick up bags for pet excrement. Not even a luggage rack to be had. Suitcases on the floor. Night stands are wooden crates. 2 bare light bulbs for the whole room and they are incandescent bulbs. There is a mattress on a platform-that has no toe kick insets. We stubbed toes constantly. At the end of the hall there were games for people to play (foosball?) and kids were running to and from there which just added to the noise of the game playing. On the 2nd floor we had a view of beach bushes. T.V. had a blurry picture. It reminded us of a dorm room or a youth hostel. All this for $120.00 plus fifteen dollars for our 7 lb. dog for a total of $135.00. A terrible value. Yes, it's close to the beach and the lobby is kind of cool, but this is no place to feel relaxed and comfortable.

Room Tip: These are nice people, but this place is a 'dive'. The second floor had no view, room was very stuffy and more rustic than green.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LindaCH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle W, Public Relations Manager at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We realize that our modern, industrial style does not appeal to everyone. The bathroom area flooring is actually sealed and stained concrete board, which is meant to cohere with the simplistic style of the hotel. The recycled cranberry crates and industrial style lighting is also meant to compliment the feel. We did have a couple of days here at the beach which were unusually warm with stagnant air that is not common for the area. We apologize that the fan and the air conditioner did not meet your needs. We did not replace the toilets as we were trying to get the hotel open for the summer. We have looked into replacing them and it will be something we will do in the near future. We always try to accomodate every request and we had luggage racks available. We have now placed them in every room. As for the comment about providing doggy poop pick up bags, again we always try to accomodate every request and could have provided some sort of bag for you to use. We are also a kid-friendly hotel, but we do not provide diapers. Finally, we looked up your reservation, and your room was $110/night before the Washington state hotel and sales tax and our one time pet cleaning fee. Thank you for providing us this opportunity to clarify details about unique ocean front hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Overall, our stay at the Adrift was pleasant and I'd stay there again. After visiting Long Beach, it is definitely the best option in town for us.

I booked a 3rd floor Ocean View Suite rather than a room and it was awesome! It was big and overlooked the beach and boardwalk. However (big 'however'), the bedroom is pretty much directly under the fourth floor restaurant's kitchen! When we returned from dinner at 7 PM the noise of clanging dishes and dishwashers, etc. was unbearable. Now, we live in a busy city and can tolerate noise, but the crashing and banging and humming was ridiculous. The front desk staff said the kitchen staff are usually done by 9:45 PM, but this continued until after 10:30 PM. Not sure how anyone could stay in this room, pay full price and be OK with it.

That night, the front desk staff said there was nothing else available for the last 2/3 nights of our stay and apologized, but the next morning something popped up when we asked, again. They gave us the option of moving to a 4th floor Deluxe Ocean View King room. It wasn't a suite, but it was still big and we had a great view of the dune grass and the ocean (which could even be seen from the bed, I might add). After reading reviews of thin walls, I braced myself, but we didn't hear a peep from any neighbours (and the place was full) for the second and third nights of our stay.

The hotel itself is a refreshing change of pace and we really enjoyed the decor, coffee, fresh citrus water, views and the proximity to the beach, boardwalk and main street can't be beat. The staff were friendly and helpful, and we would stay here again ... just not in room #332!

Room Tip: Pass on room #332. Fourth floor rooms have no one above you. King suites are huge!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WhistlingMarmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Friendly staff, screen in window, requested fan promptly brought to the room, no extraneous noise, comfortable beds, clean bathroom, great rate......delightful stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathyKoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This place is totally different from any place we have stayed...The furnishings are eco friendly, as well as the floors, and everything else here. Very friendly staff. We would stay here again!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
3  Thank kelligirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Although this place has a great idea regarding wanting to provide an inexpensive stay right on the beach for everyone and making it "sustainable" with green products such as EO and will recycle certain items, they did not complete the "recycling" part of their project. From the front of the building and the room pictures this looks like s sleek, clean, new bulding. On close inspection, however, the rooms and hallways are poorly refurbished. The paint job was amateurish, sloppy and incomplete. The window didn't have any screens for the fist 2 nights and a fan was necessary because it was stifflingly hot. The most off-putting was that the owners seemed to pick and choose which things they would replace and which things they decided to keep. Leaving the older doors in the hallways and bathrooms without really cleaining them or stripping them down and properly painting them and leaving the old outlets etc. leaves the rooms looking tacky and unfinished. They must have left the original floor in the bathroom as well because it smelled like an old urinal and was offensive.

On a positive note, the beds were very comfortable, the coffee was great and the concept was creative and upbeat! You really couldn't beat the location plain and simple. Given these positives, I still won't go back because of the negatives. Sorry Adrift. You really had a great opportunity and I think you missed it.

Room Tip: Get a room on the oceanside for the airflow if it is going to be hot or get a fan right away.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sensitivetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrifthotel, Owner at Adrift Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

Thank you so much for your review. We acquired this property in March and have been working diligently to complete as many renovations as possible for the summer months. Our main building is fully remodeled. Although, we will continue adding small touches to make our guests stay even more memorable. You stayed In our East building which we are still working on. In that building, our rooms are a bit more basic (and less expensive). Given that, there are many touches including some paint, flooring, and replacing the outlet covers:) that won't be completed until the fall when we have more time to finish the renovation. Most of our rooms in that building are about 80% complete, and will just continue to get better. We just received the screens that we ordered for all rooms last week, and now all rooms have screens on the windows. Although it rarely is hot enough here to require a fan, we do have them available for anyone who desires them. Adrift is still a work in progress, and the negatives that you site are ones that we have seen but just haven't had time to fix.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews