We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great view, minimalist interior”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, great view, minimalist interior”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Recently redone, with the lobby still having that 'new-wood' smell. The desk staff was very pleasant although still a little unsure of some of their internal procedures. The complimentary DVD library and beach cruiser bikes were a nice touch.

The location is right up on the beach and next to the entrance to the boardwalk.

The bed was super soft and wasn't as restful as I would have liked, thats up to personal preference.

The 3rd floor beachfront rooms are underneath the restauraunt which resulted in some thumping from above, but that settled down in plenty of time to enjoy the sunset in peace.

Room 355 is a corner room facing the beach and south which gives a great view of the water and the beach dunes.

Room Tip: Beachfront room is worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jhmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    470
    204
    107
    97
See reviews for
432
870
71
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I hate that Adrift has been saddled with all of these bad reviews for The Edgewater. My husband and I checked out of this hotel this morning and I wish I was still there! Here is a copy of my review just posted on Yelp:

My husband and I booked an impromptu trip to the coast this weekend. We had visited the Northern Oregon coast but as somewhat recent transplants from Minneapolis we had yet to explore the Washington coast. Long Beach and a stay at Adrift Hotel was at the end of our journey down the coast - and what an end it turned out to be.

It is my understanding (from what we gathered from the locals and regulars during our stay) that this place used to be a different hotel (The Edgewater) with different owners, and that those that purchased, remodeled, and now run Adrift have given the place a total makeover. And what a makeover it is! Everything is crisp, clean, modern, and fresh. The entire second floor (which is the first floor of guest rooms) is dog friendly which is great since we try to bring our dog with us whenever possible. The beach that the this hotel sits on is dog friendly - our little Hannah had such a fantastic time!

More pros: Free organic coffee available 24/7 in the lobby, free dvds, free bikes for guest use, a binder of menus from local restaurants in the lobby, and organic toiletries for guest use.

Some cons:
Thin walls. Our neighbors had some kids and watched some obnoxious television programs. How do I know? I could hear them.

Given their focus on organic and sustainable, it was a little strange that they didn't have more ideas on vegetarian or vegan options for their guests. I get that it is the coast and it is all about fish and seafood, but it is as if restauranteurs think that vegetarians and vegans don't go to the coast. We did find one place in Ilwaco called Tuscany Cafe that had more vegetarian options than other moderately priced Long Beach joints, I wish they would add their menu to their binder.

The restaurant on the top floor seems to be run by different people who seem to not be thrilled with the new hotel owners and clientele. Although their bloody marys and veggie quesadillas were delicious, it was a really weird vibe we got from them, the server who seated us seemed put out by our presence, a different server complaining to the cooks about previous customers was heard throughout the restaurant and none of the staff seemed to think it was inappropriate, and the bartender made a point to tell two women stopping by to check out their menu that he has had nothing but problems with the "new owners not telling the new hotel guests that they cannot bring their water or coffee cups into their establishment." Maybe welcome potential customers and try not to be so obvious about your disdain for the new owners and clientele? They call this restaurant the Lightship, but it is actually a time machine into what The Edgewater must have been. The staff and decor are in desperate need of modernization.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzym27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The Adrift Hotel has just been renovated and is a lovely place to stay. The two employees who greeted us at reception were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. While it didn't directly face the ocean, we still had a good view. The hotel is conveniently located near the beach, boardwalk, Discovery Trail, and downtown. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogaontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Our stay was completely wonderful. We showed up last minute on a Saturday evening. The staff at check in was very sweet and accommodating. She was knowledgeable about the best places to eat and different activities in the area. We decided to check out the restaurant. Great view of the ocean, and again the staff was very courteous. At check out the ladies were equally nice. All in all this was the best mini-vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laneyandbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

..and one of the least expensive. One note: the bar closes at 9:(

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LudekP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Steps from the beach and large rooms. This place had good business rates for the blue color person or coastal research who needs to be up at dawn. As such during week days your neighbor will be up by 6:00 am ;-). Has one of the top 5 resturants in town on its top floor.

This hotel is now CLOSED and will reopen in late spring 2011 as the Adrift Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdan461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
1.2 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.4 mi away
Best Western Long Beach Inn
1.6 mi away
The Anchorage Cottages
The Anchorage Cottages
#4 of 8 in Long Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrift Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift Hotel and Spa

Property: Adrift Hotel and Spa
Address: 409 Sid Snyder Drive, Long Beach, WA 98631
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adrift Hotel and Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience our modern, ocean front hotel in the heart of the peninsula. We offer a variety of guest rooms, from no-frills studios to ocean front suites; all with updated amenities, a unique style and a focus on sustainability. Adrift is a beachfront experience...Some of our many on-site amenities include a small urban spa, complimentary bikes, game tables, and ocean view dining at [Pickled Fish] restaurant, and FREE daily live music from some of the northwest's most notable musicians, starting at 8pm - Close. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Adrift Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift Hotel Long Beach
Edgewater Hotel Long Beach
Edgewater Motel Long Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing