We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhh, another dump to stay away from...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Long Beach Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Long Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ahhh, another dump to stay away from...”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Well, life is not that great at this particular Super 8. The room was large but that is about all it had going for it. The windows were that dirty you could hardly see through them. Brutal. The shower head was at a height of about 4 feet, no joke. The price for this dump was outrageous; I spent $60 less tonight on a significant upgrade to this dump. The quality difference is that great I may even spend an extra night here that I had not planned on just to make up for the lost pleasure at this dump. The so-called 'Super Start' breakfast consisted of 2 cereal choices, bread and waffles, the most miserable excuse for a Super 8 breakfast I have ever seen. We had breakfast across the street at Benson's By The Beach; thank goodness they were there. Anyhow, save your cash and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Keep driving, there is so many better choices out there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    94
    90
    40
    21
See reviews for
131
164
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

i stayed here for the fourth of july this year. it wasn't the best of experiences. it could certainly have been worse but i don't recommend staying here in a busy touristy season. the day staff were overwhelmed with the volume of customers and struggled to be patient with everyone. the night staff were lovely and much more pleasant. the lowlights of my experience were the following:

~incorrect guest number upon arrival
~a super hot and stuffy room on the first floor with no ability to air out the room without opening the window and risking a break-in during a busy holiday weekend
~no air conditioning unit in the room, which was located near the hotel laundry room
~door key cards that timed out after one use and had to be reset. the total number of times i had to ask the front desk to reset the cards was 7 during a two day stay.
~frustrated front desk staff with the aforementioned key card requests and random questions
~getting billed twice for my reservation several days after check-out due to a lack of communication between the third party booking vendor i used to make the reservation and the hotel itself. this was not entirely the hotel's fault yet was a disappointing punctuation to the overall less-than-desirable experience.

the highlights of the experience, however, were the following:
~the location was perfect. close to the beach and downtown
~quiet hallways in the evening, despite a high volume of guests of all ages
~night staff, particularly an elderly gentleman whose good manners will never go out of style
~a small fan being provided to me by a hotel staff person when the room was too hot to sleep in
~free parking
~a late check-out was available when requested

as i write this, i'm still awaiting my refund between the hotel and third party vendor but have been promised that it will arrive in 1-3 business days.

overall, i was treated more like a hotel consumer than a guest. this hotel means well but, in the stress of the high holiday season, struggles to make your stay a true highlight of your beach vacation experience.

Room Tip: ask for a second or third floor room when booking your reservation so you have a room with a tolerab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScribblingSabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina R, General Manager at Best Western Long Beach Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We apologize for your experience here at our hotel. It is our goal for every guest to have a very pleasant memorable experience here with us.
We have since hired new front desk staff and made some pleasant changes. We do hope you come back and spend the fourth of July with us so you can experience all of our improvements.

Sincerely,
Kristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helens, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stopped at Super 8 because we had a problem with a different hotel in Long Beach I had taken my grandkids to the beach and because of a error they had us scheduled for a different night I had already paid and they would not give a refund or a room. Kristina was very nice and sympathetic she gave me and my grand kids a room at a discounted price even tho it wasn't her hotel I had paid in advance. My grand kids had a blast. Room was very clean and comfortable. Thank you so much Kristina for saving the weekend for my grand kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I came into the lobby hoping to stay in town over the holiday weekend and secure a room. We were taken back by the helpful service from the front desk worker, and when we said we would return after checking out the availability and pricing at other hotels, she offered to leave a note for the front desk worker the next day about a particular room for us. After just stepping outside we decided because of the service we had received without yet booking, we needed to go back inside and book right away! We're pleased to say she set the standard of service, and we know where to stay when visiting Long Beach!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CougFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Chautauqua Lodge
Chautauqua Lodge
#7 of 8 in Long Beach
252 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lighthouse Oceanfront Resort
0.2 mi away
Cedars Ocean View Inn
Cedars Ocean View Inn
#8 of 8 in Long Beach
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adrift Hotel and Spa
Adrift Hotel and Spa
#1 of 8 in Long Beach
1,681 reviews
1.5 mi away
Breakers Hotel and Condo Suites
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#6 of 8 in Long Beach
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Long Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Long Beach Inn

Property: Best Western Long Beach Inn
Address: 500 Ocean Beach Boulevard S, Pacific Ave at 5th St South, Long Beach, WA 98631-0220 (Formerly Super 8 Long Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Long Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Long Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Long Beach Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the beautiful Best Western Long Beach Inn in Long Beach WA, you'll be minutes from Marsh's Free Museum and Long Beach. This Hotel is within walking distance of Skippers Equestrian Center, World Kite Museum, delishous food and pleanty of shopping. Make yourself at home in one of the newly remolded 50 guestrooms featuring refrigerators,microwaves,coffee makers, flat screen tv's in every room. Complimentary wireless Internet fresh hot baked cookies in the evening,and a full hot complementary breakfast in the morning. Other Amenities include a 24-hour business center,fitness room, express check-out, and a 24-hour front desk. Free self parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Long Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Super 8 Hotel Long Beach
Super 8 Long Beach
Super Eight Long Beach
Long Beach Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing