We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“way over priced”
Review of Hay J's Bistro

Hay J's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Liberty Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“way over priced”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you want to pay the prices they charge for entrees and drinks, go elsewhere! For the price you pay, you would expect to have some amazing service, and top-notch food!

I had to ask for bread, only to be told by the owner that I cannot have any until my meal comes out. WHO DOES THAT??

I have been in a couple times (hoping that the past was a fluke) only to find out it was not!! :(

Sad to say I would not recommend this place to anyone, unless they are planning on getting spotty service, and over paying for cheap quality food.

Ohh and one more thing.. if you plan on making a reservation, don't plan on being seated at the time you requested! What a joke. We didn't get seated for over an hour past our reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edibleintellect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    51
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trinity, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Top Shelf Bistro”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hidden in a small innocuous strip mall is a true diamond in the rough in rural Liberty Lake Washington. The food is absolutely delicious and and expertly prepared. We both enjoyed Grey Goose Martinis prepared exactly as we ordered them and promptly served.We had the calamari appetizer and caesar salad for starters and both were as good as we have had anywhere !! For the entre my Wife had the Sockeye Salmon and I, the Filet Mignon. Both were excellent cuts prepared perfectly and the accompanying sauces Beurre blanc and Merlot reduction were out of this world indicative of a professional chef staff. The ambience is dark elegant and quite surprising when you first walk in given the the rather plain locale outside. The wait staff was knowledgeable and friendly and most importantly, efficient. It certainly will be our place to be during our visits to the Spokane area in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“$$$, nothing special for bistro dining, smallish portions....”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Dimly-lit restaurants are a concern for me. What are they trying to hide? Fairly inattentive service but hostess and waitress were reasonably friendly once they were at the table. Portions were quite small but tasty. Shortribs were incorrectly listed as it was a SINGLE rib :(. Chicken Marsala risotto came in a HUGE bowl which just accentuated how little food was at the bottom of it. Should have gone across the street for chicken fried steak. Can't say I would recommend a second visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingsharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d Alene
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Bistro”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had heard of Hay J's through friends. We were delighted with the experience we had there. We tried the calamari for a starter and it was beyond any we had ever had. My husband had their parmesan crusted halibut and I had the Bistro Medallions. Both were cooker perfect. It was so nice to find a restaurant not too far from home that is above average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Service Sucks!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Good food spoiled by absolutely terrible service. After finishing our lunch (on a Saturday, where we were the first couple there, and there were only 3 other couples by the time we left), we waited and waited for our check. I finally had to get up and go to the front to ask for it. To add insult to injury, the owner came over, and instead of apologizing for the slow (aka non-existent) service, basically defended the inept waitress. Should have guessed this would be the case as after being seated, we had to wait and wait for the waitress to show up and take our drink order, acknowledging that she was finishing up a task at the front. Guess that was more important than serving her customers. With many other restaurant choices, we have written this one off and will never come again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hay J's Bistro also viewed

 
Liberty Lake, WA
 

Been to Hay J's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing