We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, relaxing, and perfect for couples”
Review of Run of the River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Run of the River
Ranked #2 of 22 Leavenworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the Run of the River in Leavenworth to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary. The Run of the River caters to couples and we found this to be a perfect place to spend a weekend away. We stayed in the "Enchantments" room, which featured a nice king bed, jaccuzi tub, deck with a porch swing, and fireplace, along with the standard amenities. The Run of the River also provides great advice on activites to do in the area including providing bikes, snow shoes, recreation pass, and maps. The breakfast in the morning is also amazing, both days we were there we enjoyed homemade organic yogurt, fresh fruit trays, quiche or egg scrammble, smoothies, and we had dutch pancakes one morning and fresh scones another. Overall we couldn't be happier with our stay, the Run of the River owners really go the extra mile to ensure that you stay will be great.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Run of the River
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 216 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2010

Run of the River is a bed and breakfast just outside of the town of Leavenworth Washington, a tourist town with a Bavarian theme. The surrounding mountains are breathtaking and the area offers a wealth of outdoor activities. In addition to the bed & breakfast lodge there is an individual cabin, Ravenwood, on the property which is where we stayed. Ravenwood has high end finishes and is beautifully decorated. You have a private hot tub, porch swing and BBQ on the deck. The kitchen is outfitted with top of the line appliances and all of the amenities you need. The master bedroom, located in a loft has a river rock jetted tub and a comfy log bed bed with an inordinate amount of pillows. It's closer to a model home than a cabin. Each morning, the owners hand deliver an amazing breakfast, capitalizing on all the fresh fruit and berries available in Washington. Service was very attentive - all of our needs were taken care of. Our only disappointment was that it appears the river has changed course and there is very little water flowing by the property - enough to still attract some deer and birds, but it was closer to pond than river. The Icicle river is nearby however and the associated recreational opportunities are within a short drive.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonSpots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

I really enjoyed the stay, although I can't say it was what I expected. I imagined a lodge, far removed from civilization, but it was very close to town amid quite a busy neighborhood. Our room was super nice - the jacuzzi in the room was a big hit, so was a super nice modern bathroom. The room was spotless. We also loved the opportunity to bike around on the bike provided by the inn. Staying inside the room you get a feeling that you are tucked away in the mountains, but stepping outside of the room brings you back to reality pretty quickly - a buzzing compressor in the property nearby and the road noise that you can hear remind you that you are in town. I guess I had a different impression from reading the description of the hotel, but the stay was very nice anyway thanks to the excellent property management.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Steve and Jana have taken over the Run of the River B&B and after visiting this weekend we are so impressed with the new inn keepers. This is our favorite B&B and it demands an annual trip to relax and recharge.

The rooms are so beautiful and well appointed from the heated floors in the bathroom to the comfortable beds and view of the Icicle River Canyon. Each time the details and personal notes make you feel so welcome and ready to be "home" for a few nights.

The morning breakfast is THE BEST! Jana can cook and combine the flavors and textures that make us have to push away from the table after eating more than we intended. This is a signature element of this B&B. The new inn keepers have assumed the challenge of making everyone feel warm and welcome. Steve delivers each course with humor and descriptions to prepare your palete for the meal.

If you need a restful place to go and want to be pampered on beautiful grounds with mountains rising from the nearby hills, this is a"not to be missed" location!

We love the place and are already taking about when we plan to return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dodom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This is a great place! (just like most other reviewers have found)
We had the Enchantments room, which was huge (the size of a small appartment), great outdoor space, two log swings just big enough for a cuddling couple :), super bathroom, underfloor heating, wonderful big shower, jacuzzi in the room and a four poster log bed with a step up because again it's huge.

It's all extrememy well set up, clean and hyper tidy. Little touches like birds seed, a day backpack, warm blankets, everything you possibly could need is here.

Electrical fireplace, comfy chairs, Enchantments has it all. The terrace facing the Icicle Creek/River is great because there is loads of wild life out there, so just sit in your log swing put some seeds on the feeding platform for the birds, wait 2 seconds and they all gather around! Apart from birds, we had deer coming to sip the cold waters in the morning and evenings and a black bear was around after dark to shake up some of the garden furniture. Luckily Enchantments is on the first floor!

Very welcoming hosts, voluminous breakfast, all freshly made, it's all tops.
It's not cheap but I think for a stay without kids, it's peaceful, luxurious in a mountain-log-cabin way and it's good value for money.
A must stay in the Pacific North west.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickyBXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

After 30 years of marriage, I decided to surprise my wife by renewing our wedding vows at Run of the River.
We stayed in the Ravenwood Lodge, which was very private and absolutely fantastic! Steve and Jan worked with me in every way possible to keep the renewal a secret from my wife for two days until my daughter arrived. My wife was totally surprised!
The Inn is absolutely THE BEST we have ever stayed in. The service is impeccable, the breakfast was by far the best we've had at any inn, and presentation was unbelieveable!
We found it very hard to leave the lodge daily because it was just so peaceful and relaxing. The view from the porch swing was absolutely georgous!
Run of the River is THE place to go to get away from the rat race and relax to the point where you feel you have become an invertebrate. We are already looking at the calendar to see when we can go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

When my husband and I are in need of some time away, we look for a great B&B. At the top of our list of favorites is Run of the River, the perfect escape for a weekend away from the stress of work and home. Since the first time we stayed back in 2000, we have always talked about returning to the Inn. We loved it then, and it’s even better now. We were greeted warmly when we arrived, and we felt very welcome. The rooms at Run of the River were designed to create an atmosphere conducive to romance, relaxation, and privacy. From the heated floors, the comfy robe, and the large bathroom with two sinks, to the fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, and deck overlooking the river, everything was perfect! The Inn offers snowshoes, backpacks, walking sticks, picnic baskets, and just about anything you might want for an outdoor activity. I remember how delicious the breakfasts were ten years ago, and they are just as great now, if not better. Each morning we were served an organic fruit smoothie, our own individual serving of a baked fruit, followed by a fresh fruit tray and the main course. Everything was over the top! The hosts were friendly and have done a beautiful job with the décor. We enjoyed every minute of our stay, and although the Inn is now under new ownership, it remains at the top of my list of best B&B’s in the area. I would highly recommend it to others, and I just hope it’s not another ten years before we make a trip back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWLOVER57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,956 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#7 of 19 in Leavenworth
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,948 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
#10 of 19 in Leavenworth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Run of the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Run of the River

Address: 9308 E Leavenworth Rd, P.O. Box 285, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Leavenworth
Price Range: $273 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run of the River Inn and Refuge is the perfect place to experience peaceful relaxation in luxurious log surroundings. The Inn and Refuge rest on a high water channel of the Icicle River, just a half-mile upriver from the Bavarian town of Leavenworth, WA. Our private outdoor entrances and spacious private decks overlook a wildlife refuge and bird sanctuary with stunning views of mountain peaks of the Cascade Range.Run of the River offers intimate wedding and elopement packages and romantic suites for honeymoons and anniversaries, vow renewals, commitment ceremonies, babymoons -- any time you are looking for a place to relax, rejuvenate and recreate. Each suite features a spa tub and fireplace surrounded by river rock. We are located a short drive from National Forest trails, quiet country roads for biking, and the bustling Bavarian village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Run of the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Run Of The River Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing