We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and outdoor style luxury, leaving us feeling so spoiled”
Review of Run of the River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Run of the River
Ranked #2 of 22 Leavenworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Kingfisher room was quite amazing and full of special touches. The heated floor, books and blankets for near the fireplace or sitting on the porch swing, fantastic breakfasts and treats, and the most comfortable bed and bedding. The staff made us feel so welcome, from the introductions, room tour, to the sad time that we had to leave. We used their snowshoes and look forward to a mid-year stay to use the bikes. Great location, peaceful, spectacular views, and loved the sounds of the visiting birds. Plan to stay their again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 222 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

Run of the River is an amazing bed in breakfast in Leavenworth, Washington. The inn itself sits on an upper branch of a river and is next to a bird refuge.

The suites are very well appointed and every detail has been thought of from the scented bath grains, to little packets of birdseed for your new feathered friends to the heated floors in the bathroom. Each room also has a deck with swing and is the perfect place to watch the birds and soak in the peace and quiet of the nature that surrounds you. There are many other little surprises and nice touches that you will just have to experience for yourself, but trust me the little details that make a nice stay something to remember are all there!

Breakfast was a delicious five course affair served family style in a warm and charmingly decorated dining room in the main lodge. Each course was fresh, flavorful and special. The only thing that appeared to me missing was breakfast meat of some kind.

Saturday morning's breakfast flowed perfectly and was a peaceful experience, however on Sunday morning, we felt very rushed as the courses came out faster than we could keep up. It felt to us that Steve, the male owner wanted us done and out. The fourth course was delivered at 9:12, just a few short minutes after we sat down. A very small observation in an otherwise perfect weekend.

This is a wonderful property that is very well run. We can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with any room at the inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigsky2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We have travelled around the world and I must say this was one of the warmest, well appointed stays we have had. We were greeted by the dog and inn keeper and taken to our room with a fire going in the fireplace, music in the room and even a bottle of champagne (it was my birthday)!! I couldn't believe everything they thought of-bird food to enjoy the birds on the deck, snow shoes, bikes, water bottles, etc. Did I mention the breakfast? Oh my! Homemade muffins, fresh fruit smoothies, eggs and even a "breakfast dessert" (baked apples and whipped cream). We sat for about an hour talking with the Jan (innkeeper) and our new six friends about healthcare. Wonderful get-away! We will be going back. Thank-you!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanna245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

If you are in need of quality time alone with your sweetie, and want something that is a notch above everyone else, look no further. My husband and I have been here twice and hope to return at least once a year for years to come. The rooms are spacious, peaceful and well decorated. The birds on your deck, the porch swings for each room, the jacuzzi tub, the fabulous afternoon deserts, the view from your room, the wonderful bed... I could go on and on... This place is very special, and you can't understand or appreciate it fully unless you visit. Do it! You won't regret it! We have stayed in two suites now, both with their own personality. We feel that we could visit a dozen times and not do the same thing twice. We've hiked, we've strolled, we've dined, we've snuggled by the fire, we've pigged out on the amazing breakfast (in fact, we are usually 'good' until dinner). This place is an oasis. In it, you can't resist slowing down and just enjoying some special time together.

Room Tip: Our favorite so far has been "Up a Creek", but all of them are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breezy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely LOVEDDDDDDD run of the river inn. We stayed there 4 days in the osprey suite. It was amazing. So cozy, warm, romantic and inviting. the 5 gourmet breakfasts are delicious :) the staff is so nice. The decorations are so beautiful :) we will be back again. I would recommend this place 110% and make sure u book at least 2 nights.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank princessliliya19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

You know how when you walk into a room or you drive onto someone's property and you feel something that is welcoming and comfortable...kind of like you know you made a good choice in coming there? That is the feel you get when you turn into the Run at the River B & B.
While we only stayed in one room (the biggest and what we considered the best: Kingfisher) I did see the other rooms on-line and walked through another. Really...any room you choose would be amazing...fire place, jacuzzi, large rustically finished bed and furniture...and it goes on and on. After a fun day of Leavenworth, you actually are happy to come back to your room because it completes your day with a wonderful evening.
I'm sure you can find something cheaper, but your experience will be what you pay for. What kind of experience do you want?

Room Tip: If you have a bunch of people, rent Raven's Wood cabin. If you need a lot of space, go with Kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great place to stay, quality room.
Good service.
I just really wish they will invest into a decent wi-fi soon, nice range dual band router like netgear r6300 will make me return for sure, otherwise its impossible to get a connection.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SS7272737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,041 reviews
0.5 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.7 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aspen Suites at The Icicle Village Resort
1.8 mi away
Granite Hills Inn
Granite Hills Inn
#1 of 22 in Leavenworth
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Run of the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Run of the River

Address: 9308 E Leavenworth Rd, P.O. Box 285, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Leavenworth
Price Range: $273 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run of the River Inn and Refuge is the perfect place to experience peaceful relaxation in luxurious log surroundings. The Inn and Refuge rest on a high water channel of the Icicle River, just a half-mile upriver from the Bavarian town of Leavenworth, WA. Our private outdoor entrances and spacious private decks overlook a wildlife refuge and bird sanctuary with stunning views of mountain peaks of the Cascade Range.Run of the River offers intimate wedding and elopement packages and romantic suites for honeymoons and anniversaries, vow renewals, commitment ceremonies, babymoons -- any time you are looking for a place to relax, rejuvenate and recreate. Each suite features a spa tub and fireplace surrounded by river rock. We are located a short drive from National Forest trails, quiet country roads for biking, and the bustling Bavarian village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Run of the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Run Of The River Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing