We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Run of the River

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leavenworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Run of the River
Ranked #2 of 22 Leavenworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westlake Village, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our second stay at the Run of the River and it is amazing! We were there for three days and had excellent breakfasts each day. Some guests had special requests for food and Jan was very accommodating of everyone's special dietary needs. The rooms are great, beautiful grounds and main lodge area are just as nice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
175
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Even tho this lovely 'refuge' is set up primarily for couples, my friend and I stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful experience. You'll have to share a bed, but they are huge. The meals are excellent and they have snowshoes available to use. All the rooms overlook the river. Very quiet and peaceful. The owners are very down to earth and extremely helpful, and fun to talk to Would highly recommend Run of the River to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kata60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Our 2nd stay here and even more amazing then in the summer! We spent our 5 year anniversary here and Jan and Kelly reached out early to make sure anything we needed they could help with and they did; from reserving a private sleigh ride and dinner to advising for a romantic anniversary dinner, they both went out of their way to give opinions and set it all up and incorporated it into our final bill.

We arrived after a good snowfall to truly a winter wonderland of snow (the Inn was well paved for easy arrival and parking) and holiday decor throughout the Inn. We were greeted by ROTR staff and showed to The Great Northwest suite, which I had requested the anniversary package and walked into a room filled with rose petals, 12 long stem roses, a bottle of wine and local homemade chocolates which enhanced the already amazing room!

The out of this world breakfast and table settings change every day and everything is local and homemade (yogurt, granola, fruits, butter) and using natural ingredients. It will keep you filled up well into the afternoon. There are no more than 12 people at the table, so it’s a small gathering with great banter of the prior/present day activities, where everyone is from and makes for a fun morning before adjourning back to our rooms, which the housekeeping crew takes care of while you eat.

The Great Northwest Suite is well set up for 2 to relax by the fireplace while looking out off the deck at the view and wildlife.

We really can’t stress the amazing attention to detail with everything...holiday lights throughout the property, winter made decorations (pine needles, sticks, cones, berries etc) throughout the rooms and property. It isn’t just an inn with rooms to stay in; it’s a well maintained with the love of bringing people together and away from everything. The variety of hot chocolate, coffees and teas that they have to grab and make starts the morning off right or makes for a nice night cap, and they make a daily treat (soft fresh cookies, various kinds of cheese cake bars) to enjoy with the drinks.

Jan and Steve and their staff have done an amazing job with this Inn, they love their 'jobs' which can be seen throughout everything like the hand written letters, the constant and ever changing decor and cooking such amazing meals.

Am sure they have many 'regulars' and we will be adding ourselves to that list for years to come!

Room Tip: The Great Northwest is spread out well to enjoy the fire together while looking out off of the deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Run of the River to celebrate our 19 year anniversary. My best review is to tell you to read all the other reviews either side of this one...and then tell you they do not go far enough in describing how special this place is.

I was skeptical when I read the reviews: no place can be THAT awesome, right? And I will admit, I was at first put off by the price (& having lived in SoCal, we know a thing or two about pricey accommodations). But I kept looking online at other places around Leavenworth & would keep coming back to the photos of Run of the River. It seemed very rustic, warm & inviting....not at all like my image of some frilly B&B.

When we arrived, we were greeted at the door by Fanny, the beautiful & well behaved Bernese Mountain Dog. Entering the Inn, we were greeted by Jan who showed us around the common area which was beautifully decorated for the season...without being overdone or kitschy. Then she showed us to our room (Kingfisher Suite...HIGHLY RECOMMEND!) where the gift basket I'd ordered was beautifully arranged and waiting for us. Jan had previously sent me some recommendations for dinner & our reservations awaited us as well. In the morning (breakfast is not to be missed!) we dined with 3 other couples, one of whom had gotten engaged at the Inn the night before. The rest of the trip we were the only ones at the Inn. Most places would kind of scale back on their service for just 2 people....not at Run of the River! We still got the full compliment of treats in the evening, beautiful table settings each morning for our amazing 5 course breakfast. Probably the best part of having the place to ourselves was that there was time for some lovely conversation with Jan over breakfast (& with Steve our last morning there).

I could go on about every little detail regarding how wonderful this place is...you need to experience it for yourself. It really is too good to be true, and then some....and worth every single penny!

We're already booked for our 20th next year!

Room Tip: Kingfisher Suite was amazing & very spacious! Great Northwest looked like it would be a good sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pebbleinmyshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

My husband and I got engaged at Run of the River years ago, and recently went back for our honeymoon. It's amazing how Jan and Steve are able to maintain the feeling of coming home, while also making each trip feel unique and special. The nightly rate is high for Leavenworth, but worth every penny. Once your there, every detail is perfectly attended to, even the ones that you never would have thought of. Our favorite memories this time around were learning to ride the Inn's tandem bike into town, spotting several bear sightings from the private porches, and of course Fanny the loveable mountain dog greeting us every time we returned from an adventure.

Room Tip: Enchantments has all of the luxuries of the other suits but also includes an extended private patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We first heard about "Run of the River" from the article included in the "1,000 Places to Visit Before You Die." So we decided to go there for our honeymoon. Indeed, they were right! We arrived after two days on the road to find our room ready for us ... complete with wine basket, lit candles and balloons celebrating our nuptials. While this was our first visit, they treated us as if we were old friends and were as excited about the celebration as we were. The accommodations were exceptional and the breakfasts delicious. But they were more than just wonderful innkeepers. Their entire staff treated us like royalty and paid attention to all the "little details" that make an experience at "Run of the River" so special. We had time to hike in the woods and shop in Leavenworth as well as sit quietly on our porch swing watching the deer come out to meet us in the evenings. I cannot say enough about "Run of the River" and cannot wait to return. A decision to visit "Run of the River" is a vacation to remember!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Place, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Relatives of ours have raved about Run of the River for years. They came on their honeymoon and have been back over and over for years. My husband and I have stayed at many B & B's types over the years and keep responding with a "yah, yah" kind of attitude, kind of thinking it was just another average B & B.

When we were let into our room I felt like I had entered another world, a peaceful world where crying kids, stressful jobs and frantic lives don't exist. The "massage music" playing in the room was the icing on the cake for this ever-so relaxing room that was cosy and warm. The huge beautiful and extremely comfortable king bed, large stone fireplace, double jacuzzi tub, porch swing, bird feeder with a guide in the room to identify the birds, candles provided, heated floors, I could go on and on... It was a decadent treat for two weary, romance-deprived parents. We are already thinking of our next trip. We will come back here again and again. There is not enough room here to describe what a magical escape this place holds for you... Go there... SOON!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing. I don't think any of them would disappoint. All are very private a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breezy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
1.6 mi away
Mountain Home Lodge
Mountain Home Lodge
#8 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
#10 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Run of the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Run of the River

Property: Run of the River
Address: 9308 E Leavenworth Rd, P.O. Box 285, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9357
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run of the River Inn and Refuge is the perfect place to experience peaceful relaxation in luxurious log surroundings. The Inn and Refuge rest on a high water channel of the Icicle River, just a half-mile upriver from the Bavarian town of Leavenworth, WA. Our private outdoor entrances and spacious private decks overlook a wildlife refuge and bird sanctuary with stunning views of mountain peaks of the Cascade Range.Run of the River offers intimate wedding and elopement packages and romantic suites for honeymoons and anniversaries, vow renewals, commitment ceremonies, babymoons -- any time you are looking for a place to relax, rejuvenate and recreate. Each suite features a spa tub and fireplace surrounded by river rock. We are located a short drive from National Forest trails, quiet country roads for biking, and the bustling Bavarian village. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Run Of The River Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing