We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Dream Come True” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Home Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leavenworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Home Lodge
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Dream Come True”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent three days at Mountain Home Lodge. It was so spectacular, it's somewhat impossible to use superlatives. The best setting for a lodge we have ever enjoyed. The food was amazing, our cabin was luxurious and well-appointed, and the trails up to the ridge and the lookout had views to die for. For our 35th anniversary, it was a splurge worth every penny!

Room Tip: Ponder Rock (Cabin 2) was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AllexPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are so happy to know your anniversary visit was as you had wished for. The cabins offer a perfect spot for a special visit and your 35 years of marriage certainly deserved such a holiday. Chef Ron enjoys making your dining experience on par with the beauty of our setting. We look for forward to meeting you again at our wonderful destination inn. Warm regards, Brad & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    9
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
167
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights over New Years. It was so awesome! Everything was gorgeous. Food was amazing and staff was very sweet and helpful. We snow shoed for the first time to the most breathtaking scenes and cross country skied and went sledding. It was so fun and romantic. We stayed in the suite and loved it (would prefer the privacy of a cabin but were sold out). The lodge us very beautiful. It was a great New Years for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensterrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We have to agree that the magic of a winter visit is very memorable! Arriving via snowcat or the “monster van” to our resort starts of a wonderful adventure. Enjoying the privacy and beauty of your own romantic refuge is a special treat. There are so many wonderful experiences awaiting you and your special partner... fun and thrills racing down the 1,700 sledding hill or perhaps a snowshoe into the pristine wilderness out your door. MHL is a soothing retreat for many to renew peace and calm in a tranquil mountain. This is an exceptional holiday for many and we are glad you found what you desired in your trip to our hidden treasure in the Cascades. Kindly, Brad & Kath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We continue to stay at Mountain Home. For six years now, we have spent at least one weekend at Mountain Home Lodge. Sometimes we're lucky enough to go twice in a year. It is our anchor of luxury and serenity that puts the rest of the year in the proper perspective. Due to other travel, we have had the opportunities to compare Mountain Home with several "comparable" lodges. Actually, there was no comparability. In summary, what do we like about this place? Impeccable accommodations. Pristine environment. Exquisite cuisine. Breathtaking scenery. A funky and fun Bavarian-wannabe town right down the road with a dozen world-class wineries! And Innkeepers who make us feel as though their entire purpose is to ensure our satisfaction and comfort. Everything else seems kinda ordinary, though.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are ideal and any room is perfect for a romantic getaway. The cabins are particular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sully624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We are fortunate to have guests such as yourselves. Sharing our bit of paradise is truthfully a joy for us. Watching it’s allurement enchant you and provide so many with an escape from their hectic lives with time to play, reflect, rest and restore inner calm is rewarding and makes this as my dad says, “you run the Lodge as your lifestyle rather than as your career”. We hope you will return many more times to relish the fascination provided by such a wonderful place. Our best until our trails meet again... Kathy & Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We've been to the Lodge a few times and each time have had an awesome experience! The scenery is breathtaking and the rooms are comfortable, clean and very nicely decorated. The cabins are private and romantic! Our hosts, Brad and Kathy, go out of their way to make this an unforgettable experience. We've gone for hikes on the trails, hung out by the pool and hot tub, golfed and wandered around Leavenwoth---all great ways to take in the beautiful scenery. This place is really a little slice of Heaven!

Room Tip: The cabins are so awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
It’s so rewarding to hear such nice praise from a return guest. With so many fun places to explore when on holiday, we are honored to be selected once more. Thank you - Brad & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

These people are great. We came to MHL in mid-May. The people there (Brad and Kathy) were awesome, very knowledgable about the area. Panoramic views of the mountains, wildflowers, the sun and sky, this place is perfect, whether it's your retreat or just a home base for the various activities this area has to offer, these people have you covered. We stayed in the cabin, which was everything we expected and more. I would recommend this place all day long.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gingell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We are humbled by your words of praise. We truly love our jobs and career choice years ago to literally “chuck it in” on our previous lifestyle in the fast pace of LA corporate life. This is a far cry from that and one we appreciate daily. Providing an oasis from the hectic lifestyles as a place for rejuvenation and the renewal of spirit and body for our worthy clientele such as yourselves. Thank you for your applause and we will look forward to sharing the beauty of the Mountain with you the next time you are in the Leavenworth area for some r & r. Warm regards, Brad & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous view, kind and helpful staff, great food, immaculate room. Everything I look for in a getaway. The lodge is decorated beautifully. The delicious breakfast was served buffet style and we ate ours at a table overlooking the mountains. Great way to start a fun day. It doesn't get better than this!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janhappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you...for your generous comments. The view in the morning can be stunning especially this time of the year with the snowcapped mountains and the wildflowers in the meadow. We appreciate hearing from guests who are new to Mountain Home Lodge and have discovered its unique location in Leavenworth. Many new guests comment that it must be a new resort since they have not heard of it, yet Mountain Home Lodge was established nearly 30 years ago. With just 12 accommodations, MHL has strived for guest privacy, comfort, and amenities. We look forward to your return and wish to thank you again for your kind praise.

Sincerely,
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went to Mountain Home Lodge to celebrate a reunion of friends. We had a wonderful time; we were treats wonderfully and had a great time. The weather was made to order and Brad and Kathy were the best! We went hiking and enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Thanks to Brad and Kathy for our great weekend.

Room Tip: Loved the Suite in the lodge..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula and Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post this review. The weather in early spring can often be nice with temps in the mid 70's and our trails and meadow lined with wild flowers. It does look like Julie Andrews from the movie Sound of Music should be skipping through our meadow. Enjoying the heated pool and jacuzzi was a nice reward after a long hike. Your choice of The Cascade Suite is often a popular one, with it's sweeping view of the Cascades from your king size bed. We too look forward to your return in the near future and thank you for spreading word about Mountain Home Lodge in Minnesota.

Sincerely,
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
2.3 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
2.1 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
2.2 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort
#10 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.2 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Lodge

Property: Mountain Home Lodge
Address: 8201 Mountain Home Rd, PO Box 687, Leavenworth, WA 98826-9040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
#8 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, you've found Washington's finest romantic getaway! Voted #1 setting of any B&B in the western US. On a secluded 20 acre meadow overlooking the Cascades, and surrounded by forest, a luxurious 12 guest room lodge and cabins combines superb cuisine, year-round variety of outdoor activities, and total pampered relaxation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing