We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leavenworth's Best Bavarian Experience”
Review of Hotel Pension Anna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pension Anna
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, Arizona
1 review
“Leavenworth's Best Bavarian Experience”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This review for our November stay comes a bit late, but is no less heart-felt. This is now a family favorite that was first experienced by my Daughter [born and lived 14 years in Germany] and our Son Inlaw. Based on her wonderful review, we visited and now consider ourselves to be part of the Pension Anna family. Not only is Leavenworth the best of the Bavarian like towns in the USA, Pension Anna is the best of the best. I noticed a review that stated, in a seemily negative way, that it was more like a Bed and Breakfast. We have lived in Germany for 12 years and found small hotels with a Bed and Breakfast environment to be traditional and the best. We found that warm experience and more with Gary and Michele. They were terrific hosts and enjoyed making our experience reminent of our most wonderful German and Bavarian experiences. We also met a couple during their very traditional German breakfast, who we enjoyed a wondering evening out with. PS: All this and we had a very wonderful romantic suite and stay. I rated the Swimming Pool Excellent, because of the wonderful room Jacuzzi [and fireplace (:>)] and the Restaurant Excellent, because of the very traditional German Breakfast Room and Breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentlehorseworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We are so glad you enoyed our mountain village. We have so much to offer and when folks have a good time,,, well, it makes our day!!
Thanks for staying with us and
until next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    64
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
128
390
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Pension Anna was our destination for 1/11/13-1/13/13 and it was not our first stay!
We came back to enjoy the incredible warm hospitality an romantic atmosphere that Gary and Michele Thebault provide every guest...every day! They must be the ultimate Innkeepers who have the energy and care to spare and grant to all who stay in their beautiful, well-appointed pension. We always feel we are in a dream, magically transported to some alpine Bavarian spa complete with down comforters and sparkling clean rooms and breakfast hall. Gary in his Liederhosen and Michele in her Dierdel (sorry about the spelling!) attend each and every guest at breakfast complete with offering a boiled egg with each European style meal. Lots of hot coffee continually refreshed make the morning an event not to be missed! We went back and most guests we met had done that at least several times. That repeat business tells the whole story. Don't wait to book this experience soon!
Bill and Mary Ann

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thaks for takinbg the time to stay with us and experience the village. We feel there is so much to offer and we are thrilled you chose us to do so.
Thanks for joining us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Pension Anna the second weekend of December 2012. We were in the Alte Kapelle - Old Chapel Suite, a 100-year-old church that the owners moved to the property. The room was wonderful and was decorated for Christmas, including a tree. The best part of the room was the large jacuzzi, plenty big enough for two people. We used the jacuzzi every night and was perfect after being out in the cold and snow. The location of Hotel Pension Anna was perfect for us. We didn't need to use our car at all. Everything was within walking distance.

Eat at the Fresh Burger Cafe. It's across the street just a little to the right. The Buttermilk Fried Chicken Salad was delicious!

Room Tip: Room is ideal for 4 people. There are two twin beds upstairs, downstairs has a king bed in a separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is our second stay at this wonderful hotel and it did not disappoint. We've noticed that often the second stay at a place isn't nearly as good as the first. They seem to drop the ball when you are a returning guest. Not at this place! The breakfast was just as wonderful as ever. The owners are very personable and very nice. They will go out of their way to treat you like a valued wanted guest.
One warning. The TV's are still the smallest I've ever had in a hotel. If you like settling down to watch some TV after a long and tiring adventure in town, you might be slightly disappointed!
Looking forward to our third stay next lighting festival and looking forward to a different suite the next time!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but the Hertzog gives you TWO covered private balconies. If you are going when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheREALgregma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Alwasy our pleasure to see you back. WE truly strive to give each guest the full measure and then we are the ones who gain in memorable encounters. We thank you for making us your home will in our village-- come aback and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just simply the best:) Perfect & warm service, authentic Austrian/German atmosphere and Great people! Highly recommend! There are cheaper places available in town, but in most cases you get what you pay for...here everything was included: private parking, High Speed internet, Awesome traditional Breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Christmas in Leavenworth is always a true delight. Goodness ,we live here and we relish each day. Of course, we also have the benefit of great guests such as you to make it even better.
Thanks for joining us and until next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Pension Anna after Christmas as a side trip from the Seattle area. We were traveling with our grown kids and baby granddaughter. I choose this B&B because of its proximity to the shopping area and restaurants. I wanted to be able to walk only a short distance in the snow with the baby, we stayed one night. It ended up being the perfect location. The owners are extremely personable and hospitable. If you are looking for a small, quaint inn with great service, this is it. You can park right outside your room. The rooms we had were immaculate. The only negatives were that we were on the first floor and being so close in town there was some street noise. Also, the heating system cycles on and off, I used ear plugs and it was OK. I would definitley choose to go there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to reach out. Yes, we are situated in a great spot for enjoying Leavenworth. the whole village is at your feet. Our sincere Thank You for joining us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Pension Anna last week, we were offered a suite in a restored church, which was absolutely amazing, the whole hotel is beautifully furnished with authentic austrian or bavarian furniture, the staff are the most corteous, helpful, kind and just wonderful people. We wished we could have stayed longer. Breakfast was served in one of the most beautifully appointed rooms I've ever seen in a hotel. Just a magical experience, as Leavenworth itself is purely gorgeous in the winter, especially around Christmas. Unbelievable treat, I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Leavenworth, even if it's just for one night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary-Michele T, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It was all our pleasure. This took time as I lost sight of the dates.
Thank you so much for joining us and we are so very pleased we met your expectatons.
Than truly makes our day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.2 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,021 reviews
0.0 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.6 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Leavenworth
409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linderhof Inn
Linderhof Inn
#7 of 17 in Leavenworth
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Anna

Property: Hotel Pension Anna
Address: 926 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the most authentic and unique Bavarian Pension in Leavenworth with the only true German breakfast in the village. From decor, to comfort, to service, experience Germany without the airfare or a passport. Our goal is that every guest leaves having had a unique experience and a "taste of Germany" --- without the need of a passport.We also market our sister property--Pension Mischi--across the street.These are some of the very finest suites in our village and include a Bavarian breakfast at Pension Anna.Owners live on-site and offer 24 hour availablity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pension Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing