We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional German and Quiet, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Pension Anna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Pension Anna
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Traditional German and Quiet, Great Location”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This property is a traditional German "Pension/Hotel" where a lot of attention was paid to the intricate details. The woodwork in the ceilings look done by hand with pain-staking detail.

The articles in the hallways are traditional Germany and the owner actually brought a lot of the articles from Germany.

While we were having breakfast, which was included, a couple holidaying from Germany commented how authentic the hotel was, and how much it reminded them of home. The Dining Room was like walk into a Bavarian small-town "family-owned" restaurant.

The meats for breakfast are from the local "traditional" German Deli. The breakfast host, Mark, is excellent.

We stayed in the Herzog Suite, on the top floor, with a Jacuzzi. It was very Romantic and with views from 2 balconies, front and back.

We will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
We thank you so much for your review but most importantly, that you had a great stay with us.
Great guests make and an Innkeepers life better than we deserve! !
Until we meet again?
Thanks again,,
MIchele and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    64
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
128
388
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We were there at the beginning of the first Oktoberfest weekend in Leavenworth. Pension Anna is an authentic traditional German small village hotel in every detail. The owners, Gary and Michele even wear traditional German outfits which makes the experience complete. An authentic continental Frühstück (breakfast) is served to the hotel guests. The Pension Anna will be our residence every time we visit the beautiful town of Leavenworth, WA.

Room Tip: No elevator so a ground floor may be desirable for your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAFlyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Thanks for your grrreat input ! Glad you appreciate the Trachten (traditional German clothing)
It gives us much joy to have folks enjoy the effort it takes be so true to the Bavarian theme.
Thanks again, and until next time????

Gary and Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

If you have never been to Germany/Austria, go to Levenworth,WA....and you'll experience what
Germany/Austria is like. The town and people have really done it right. What a wonderful break from the USA. The Pension Annna is 5 STARS. The owners, and hosts are wonderful. The rooms and location are the best. We had only 2 disappointing things on own entire stay, #1. the backery across the parking lot ran out of apple struddle one day...and the 2nd thing is, we had to leave this wonderful place !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueduck215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thank you for your review. Always nice to get a fresh look. We are always anxious to point out that what makes us special is our guests...... So thanks for sharing a corner of your lives with us.
Until next time?
Michele, Gary an Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
347 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were running late and recieved a call from the hotel staff making sure we were still coming. We said that we most definetly were and got instructions about getting into the hotel with no staff on duty. We had a terrific nights sleep and loved the decor. We had a very nice Bavarian breakfast and a great chat with Mark. We enjoyed our time at the hotel and in the town as well. If we ever make it back to the area we will be staying in this very comfy hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Thanks for your wonderful review. One advantage we have as a small, family owned Hotel is the ability to pay attention to the details. We also have a staff that excells and helps with paying attentin to the details---
Until we meet again ! !
Michele, Gary and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Pension Anna was very adorable and clean!..it seemed very authentic, well appointed. the hosts were gracious, and Mark, who helped out w breakfast, was fun and energetic, gave us a great layout of the surrounding area. the only complaint we had was the breakfast. I guess this is a true Bavarian style, but being true Americans, we thought, for the price, we would have had a real 'hot' breakfast choice, besides the boiled eggs(which were good but?). the breads seemed stale, as well as the dessert coffee cake, and were was the strudel? fresh fruit would also be nice-there were several farmers markets, (canned fruit was served). we stay at BB's because we figure in the price of a great breakfast which is always included...is part of the reason they are usually more expensive. but , if you are looking for a nice , cumfy , clean (im very particular when it comes to this)..room/BB ...you will find this lovely. also, we ate at a few restaurants, the most fun and food at "South'-great Latino food, and drinks...and THE BEST Tres leches Cake we ever had!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debntim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for an anniversary getaway, and it was perfect. The suites were beautiful and the spa package was wonderful. We loved walking from our rooms right to the spa treatment. The staff were friendly and helpful - it's definitely a place I would visit again, for either a couples getaway or girl's weekend with my sister (daughter too, when she's older). :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jewlesdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tacoma, wa
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Pension Anna is a completely marvelous experience. Yes, it is authentic in every way. We lived in Bavaria, West Germany for 3 years and traveled Germany and Austria for over 100 days : Anna is a step right into the most attractive and pleasurable pension of Bavaria. Quiet. Spotless. Relaxing. Wonderful Bavarian breakfast free every day. The owners, Gary and Michele, personally greet every guest, served us breakfast each day, and often sit with guests for breakfast and chat. What a delightful, interesting, educated, sensitive couple; a great sense of humor too. When you visit Leavenworth, WA, in order to get the best flavor of Bavaria, Germany and Austria....stay at Pension Anna. This was our third stay with Pension Anna; we plan to go back for the May Fest and stay with them again."

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for your kind review. Our whole staff strives to give our guests the best stay possible. It is great for you to share your thoughts---- you make our day.

We are glad that we gave you a memorable experience and
Until next time?
Regards,
Gary. Michele, and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.2 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.0 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.6 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#12 of 17 in Leavenworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Anna

Property: Hotel Pension Anna
Address: 926 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the most authentic and unique Bavarian Pension in Leavenworth with the only true German breakfast in the village. From decor, to comfort, to service, experience Germany without the airfare or a passport. Our goal is that every guest leaves having had a unique experience and a "taste of Germany" --- without the need of a passport.We also market our sister property--Pension Mischi--across the street.These are some of the very finest suites in our village and include a Bavarian breakfast at Pension Anna.Owners live on-site and offer 24 hour availablity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pension Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing