We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth every penny!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Pension Anna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pension Anna
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I am sure that there are cheaper places to stay in Leavenworth and I can tell you I am a penny pincher. I expected this to be pretentious and overpriced, but my wife wanted to stay here. So be it. It was a wonderful experience, from the lovely Sherry that so graciously told us about every nuance of the establishment, to Mark the former lawyer now given to pleasing guests with his quick humor and marvelous command of the points of interest in the surrounding areas. The rooms were large and well appointed. Everything worked as it should. I have to tell you that I did not know what an Alpine style duvet bed was, but I am reforming mine at home to match the one at the Pension Anna. The most telling part of this critique is that we were planning to stay only one night due to a tight schedule, but after our first night there we exuded to forgo a night in Hood River for another here.
Now to the tech. Gary the owner and I must say a man who does not look his 67 years is a techno geek. He has created the first iPhone app for a hotel in the world. You must get it at the apple store even if you are not planning a trip to Leavenworth. We used it to find the best restaurants in town for both of the nights we were there. From the authentic Austrian boiled eggs in the morning to the evening coffee, this place made me feel at home like I have never felt on the road before.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onebampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Firstly, thank you for choosing us!
Thank you for your many kind thoughts and input. Really appreciate your taking time to recognize our staff. From the desk to cleaining they all really try hard to give our guests the best we can.
So enjoyed your stay and hope we can repeat that some day soon. Good luck on you Apps!!
Thanks again from all of us at Pension Anna
Aufwiedersehn!!!! until we meet again

Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    64
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
127
378
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Our stay was awesome. Owners very friendly, Bavarian breakfast was very good! We even got to meet their dog. It felt like visiting family.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaMattnLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
You two where such a treat to have stay with us. You make our place special, without great guest what we have is sticks and mortar.
Glad you enjoyed our Irish dog. The poor thing has never stepped a foot in the Hotel but seems content to wait for usin his crate.
Thanks for joining us and your kind review.
"until next time"?
Gary and Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

As always, when choosing an inn or B&B, there are so many options, particularly in a town like Leavenworth. We chose Hotel PensionAnna and we are so glad we did! It is truly an authentic Bavarian inn (and we have traveled numerous times to Austria, Germany, and the Alps, so we know authentic). The decor, the artwork, the hospitality, and the breakfasts were superb. This inn has a perfect location in town. One can walk to all the shops, restaurants, wine-tasting rooms, etc.; yet the inn is in a quiet location, and has parking. The innkeepers/hosts (Michele and Gary) were charming, knowledgeable, and welcoming. They offered great suggestions for how best to enjoy the town and the surrounding beautiful area. Next time we return to Leavenworth, we will definitely stay at PensionAnna. We cannot say enough wonderful things about the inn itself and the warm hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovemytravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind input. We so enjoy having great folks "in our home" and enjoying their surrroundings. Wonderfulll guests and friends make our place special because of them and for that we are grateful.
Thanks so much
And, "untile we meet agaon"? ?
Gary and Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth,wa.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We have enjoyed this pension immensely. If you want to experience a Bavarian feel without the hassle of plane travel across the ocean try this unique and quaint B&B .Every detail is "right on." The hosts, Gary and Michele, add to the ambiance by their scintillating and warm conversation .The rooms are roomy and comfortable. They even have a Kirche that you can rent and bring the whole family. Oh, and they also have a delightful suite they offer in their home that has fabulous views of the Icicle and Sleeping Lady mountains.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thepikester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Thank you for your kind input. We loave to share Leavenworthg and our splendor.
Truly a treat for us to have special guests
Thank you, and untilnext time
Gary and Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

great place to stay with a family--Gary and Michele were wonderful hosts and very accomodating--would suggest Hotel Pension Anna for anyone!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabig46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodgar, Owner at Hotel Pension Anna, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and glad we met your expectations.
Fall is truly a great time here. Come back for thanksgiving or even a taste of snow in DEc?
Thanks and until next time?
Gary and Michele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

What a cute little place in Leavenworth.
We were passing through and decided to stay here after reading the reviews on TA.
Small boutique hotel just off the strip in Leavenworth. Rooms are nice and comfortable. Easy walking distance to all that Leavenworth has to offer but far enough off the strip you don't have all the traffice and noise. The owners serve the breakfast in traditional dress and make you feel welcome.

Only advice is don;t get a room on the ground floor as the doors exit right to the parking lot and some guests may get confused as to the front door of the hotel (like we did).

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulT60606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

My sisters, friends and I have stayed at the Anna Pension for the last several years. In the beginning, we tried other hotels in Leavenworth, but no others can compare. Anna Pension has the charm, ambiance, and friendly atmosphere that makes one want to return. This establishment is equally as important to us as seeing the musicals each summer. The Bavarian decorated rooms are lovely and unique. The breakfast room where we can enjoy a wonderful breakfast is not only beautiful, but the owners, Gary and Michele, make you feel so welcome. This is all included in the price of the room. There is no greater way to start off your day in Leavenworth. A stay at Anna Pension is an absolute MUST!

Room Tip: We've tried many different rooms. All are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.2 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
0.0 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.6 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aspen Suites at The Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Anna

Property: Hotel Pension Anna
Address: 926 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1478
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the most authentic and unique Bavarian Pension in Leavenworth with the only true German breakfast in the village. From decor, to comfort, to service, experience Germany without the airfare or a passport. Our goal is that every guest leaves having had a unique experience and a "taste of Germany" --- without the need of a passport.We also market our sister property--Pension Mischi--across the street.These are some of the very finest suites in our village and include a Bavarian breakfast at Pension Anna.Owners live on-site and offer 24 hour availablity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pension Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anna Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing