We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places I have ever stayed.”
Review of Abendblume

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abendblume
Ranked #4 of 22 Leavenworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best places I have ever stayed.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many beautiful places. This accommodation ranks among the very best. The rooms were unique and incredbily beautiful. While there is a lot to do in the town of Leavenworth, we chose to spend a majority of our time in our room or the common areas because they provided such a great place to relax, read, enjoy, and savour the comfort of being at Albendblume. Stay here and you won't regret it. Good food, incredible warm and friendly hosts, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
171
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Everything about Abendblume is absolutely incredible! Rene and Randy are warm, attentive hosts that go far out of their way to insure that their guests are comfortable. We just spent the last three nights in Dornroschen and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. The house and country setting are beautiful, their Christmas decorations breathtaking and the food superb! We really enjoyed walking to Front Street and back in the snow! Can't wait to go back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My German mother's 85th birthday wish was to spend the weekend in Leavenworth with my sister and I. When I saw the Abendblume online I was so excited. It looked like a fairy tale. I immediately made a reservation. I spoke with Becky and told her about this special occasion. When we arrived, I was thrilled that it lived up to everything on the website and was even better. Driving up from Seattle we felt as though be had landed in the Bavarian countryside after only 2 hours. We were welcomed by Becky's sister Renee. She told us about the place and how her father had built it. The entry is just stunning with a beautiful winding staircase. We stayed in the Kitzbuhel room on the ground floor to accommodate my mother better. It was lovely and cozy with a King bed and a Murphey bed. It was snug but the 3 of us felt like teenage girls having a slumber party. Nothing could top the morning breakfast. On our reserved table was a vase of flowers with a birthday balloon and note for my mom from the establishment. Ebel Skivers were brought to the table in a cast iron dish with candles for my mom to blow out. The grounds are lovely with chickens, a goat, a horse, a mule and best of all "Jackson" a snow lab. My mom loves dogs and his sleeping area was right outside our room. On the second morning we were treated to the mellow tones of the giant Alpen Horn played by the hostesses' father. From the time we checked in to our too soon departure we were treated royally. In her 85 years, my mom could honestly say this was her best birthday ever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you've never been to Leavenworth, or the Abendblume, just imagine: you're standing in a place of incredible beauty, with rugged hills wrapped around you, the occasional sounds of chickens and horses punctuating the quiet, behind you a beautiful Bavarian-themed inn whose colorful flowers in window boxes whisper in the wind, "Come in." Or, if you prefer, "Komm herein." For lovers of German culture, architecture and cuisine, this is about as good as it gets without crossing the Atlantic.

My partner and I stayed here for four nights in September to celebrate our seventh anniversary. We were greeted upon arrival by the owner's sister, Becky, who explained that her sister was away on vacation. Now we've had a few strange experiences before with "substitute" innkeepers, but this, thankfully, was not one of them. Becky was simply amazing, from her having graciously arranged for a bottle of wine and flowers from the inn's gardens to be waiting in our room, to the delicious breakfasts she prepared each morning, to her genuine interest in our plans each day.

The Abendblume was clearly built with a lot of love. It is elegant, yet cozy and unpretentious. It would be hard not to feel at home here. We stayed in the Rosengarten room, which afforded us a delightful view of the sunrise each morning over the fields and hills. Unfortunately we were there when the smoke from nearby wildfires had descended pretty heavily on Leavenworth, but if there was one benefit from the smoke, it was that those sunrises were absolutely stunning.

Breakfast was what you might find in Germany: an array of meats, cheeses, breads and eggs, with one hot addition each morning. One day it was what I think Becky referred to as Danish pancakes, although to me they looked like apple fritters. In any case, they were delicious! Another day it was an omelet that was so good we had to have seconds.

We made a habit each morning after breakfast of feeding the resident goat, Shorty, and the chickens. The inn encouraged this practice by keeping a container of food labeled "For Shorty and the girls" by the front door. They were absolutely charming. By the end of our stay, we wanted to take Shorty home with us!

The Abendblume is located a bit off the beaten path, but that was a benefit as far as we were concerned. It was quiet there both day and night, and one morning we were able to take the inn's tandem bicycle for a spin to the nearby ski hill, without having to worry about traffic. The ski area offers some nice hiking as well.

Congratulations to owner Renee for having created such a beautiful place. We hope to return someday to this most wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A fabulous place to stay. The house is well maintained and decorated in true Bavarian style. The bedrooms were all wonderful, and are reasonably priced. We stayed in the Kitzbuhel which is on the ground floor,close to the breakfast room. The beds were very comfortable with individual feather duvets, very European! The well maintained hot tub is set in a garden setting overlooking open fields with the mountains all around. Renee is a wonderful hostess, who looks after your every need. She has lived there all her life and is very knowledgable about Leavenworth. She puts out a fabulous breakfast with a good variety of food, which would satisfy everyone. We stayed just before Oktoberfest, but it's always peaceful and quiet a mile away.
We really had a great stay and met some nice folks from Everett. Looking forward to a return visit.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skyrider705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Missouri
Level Contributor
249 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is the third time we have been at this B&B and it has always been top notch. This time we were greeted by Becky Renee's sister. Graciousness and charm definitely run in the family. She took care of everything for check in and the goodies the first night and first mornings breakfast. What a delightful smile to see at breakfast. Renee had been away on a well deserved time off but came back the second day of our stay. It was at the time the fires and smoke were really thick and her first words after a big hug were "Oh I am so sorry about the smoke" Goodness she had thought to make everything else perfect but just couldn't change that. Abendblume is everything that the other reviewers have said and then some. You just have to see it for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingwonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I spent our one year anniversary at Abendblume. It seems to me the ideal place to stay in Leavenworth. It is located on a beautiful plot of land less than a mile from town - perfect walking distance from all the excitement, but removed enough to offer tranquil and scenic relaxation. Our room was phenomenal, complete with a cozy bed, gorgeous porch, five-headed shower, and jacuzzi! We were fortunate enough to get a free upgrade after another couple had canceled their reservation, but every room in this place is amazing. Renee was a fantastic host. Breakfast and dessert (served nightly from 7-10p) were mouth-watering. Among the best B&B experiences we've had. And I suspect we won't ever look elsewhere when visiting Leavenworth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EZ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.7 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.8 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.1 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
1.0 mi away
Alpine Rivers Inn
Alpine Rivers Inn
#8 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abendblume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abendblume

Property: Abendblume
Address: 12570 Ranger Rd, P.O. Box 981, Leavenworth, WA 98826-8784
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to visit. Nestled in the Cascade Mountains and the Bavarian town of Leavenworth, Washington, this elegant Austrian chalet boasts spectacular lodging. Many guest room accommodations have fireplaces, marble showers, spas and balconies. Here, the gracious hospitality is warm, personal and discrete. With taste and style and quietly refined pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Abendblume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing