We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alps Romance Suites
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Enzian Inn(Leavenworth)(Great Value!)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpen Rose Inn(Leavenworth)(Great Value!)
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linderhof Inn(Leavenworth)(Great Value!)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Der Ritterhof Inn(Leavenworth)(Great Value!)
$120
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Suites at The Icicle Village Resort(Leavenworth)(Great Value!)
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Obertal Inn(Leavenworth)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleeping Lady Mountain Resort(Leavenworth)
$204
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Home Lodge(Leavenworth)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveler rating
20
14
2
4
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
14
2
4
15
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 55 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2010

About a month in advance, I had made a reservation late one night with Alps Romance Suites for my honeymoon. After reading the reviews on this website I decided that I needed to cancel. I called the very next morning around 9am Washington time, because I didn't want them to lose any other customers due to my reservation. Despite my prompt phone call, they refused to give all of my money back. They charged me ~$120 for absolutely nothing. Thanks for shortchanging a young newly married couple.

Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Neon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlpsRomance, Owner at Alps Romance Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2010

It is unfortunate that the person posting this review took stock in words that were not verified to be accurate.

Our approval rating in which guests enjoyed their stay and would recommend us to others is 94% which is considered to be very high in the lodging industry. We have saved all of the comment cards that were made in the guests' original signature. We would be happy to provide copies of these comments to anyone upon request.

It is even more unfortunate that we did not have an opportunity to show them our hospitality and they could enjoy all of the amenities that the Alps Romance Suites offer to all of our guests.

The Alps Romance Suites is a favorite inn for guests who are on their honeymoon, anniversary, or are enjoying a romantic get-a-way. All of the comments posted on our website are actual comments that guests wrote on the Guests Comments cards that are placed in the suite and the guests complete in privacy and at their own convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

this was an anniversary gift to us and what a pleasant surprise. everything was clean-room and hottub very clean and private- we felt like we were in our own world but yet could walk to activities in town . Nice to find a romantic place without all the noice .wine coolers, romantic music playing upon our arrival and the sauna in room was wonderful after a day of shopping .

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romantictwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Our experience at the Alps Romance Suites was quite different than all the reviews to date. I didn’t find the reviews of about this place on Trip Advisor until after I had already booked and paid for the suite. To be honest, after reading them I was horrified! I nearly canceled the room and would have been willing to lose any deposit or money due to the cancelation. However, my wife insisted we go through with it and we were pleasantly surprised! It was wonderful!

The room was what I expected from the website and not anything like it was described in the reviews I read. No mold. No dirt. No microwave in the bathroom (but there were two sinks). No money-grubbing leprechaun waiting to steal my money when I feel asleep. No rude wait staff either! It was very nice actually to not have to wait on a desk clerk to click off IM and help you or sign and fill out paperwork to check-in. Our key was waiting in a lock box next to the door of the suite when we arrived. After checking out the room, we enjoyed some time in the hot tub which was already heated up and waiting for us. It was very clean and very private. The bed was very comfortable (and quiet). There was a refrigerator with sparkling cider (wish it would have been Champaign) and chocolates waiting for us. We had a full complement of coffee and tea for the morning as well along with a cork screw and bottle opener (we forgot ours). The sauna was a very nice touch, but since we had just endured a heat wave of 100+ degrees, we did not use the sauna. We had trouble accessing the Wi-Fi and contacted the management for assistance. They were very thorough and eager to help rectify the problem.

The suites are located about 3 blocks away from the downtown shopping area of Leavenworth. Unfortunately, I found the Alps Romance Suites via the Leavenworth Chamber of Commerce that lists their address on 8th Street, which is their business office. You really have to look closely on the Alps Romance Suites’ website (which needs some work) to find their location. However, after you book the room, they send you directions and instructions for entering. The walk isn’t bad. We easily walked more around the town than we did getting to and from the suite. The suites are very quaint and private.

Pros: The suites were nothing like the reviews posted prior to this review!
The management was very helpful and friendly.
Nice, clean, private hot tub locate in separate gazebo.
Rooms were clean.
Plenty of towels.
Provided robs.
Very quiet at night and during the day.
In room refrigerator.
In-room sauna.
Cable TV.
Wi-Fi

Cons: Considering the hot tub, sauna, and privacy, I still think the price is a little high.
It is not in town, but a nice walk, again I think this should lower the rate because of that.
Rooms could use a professional designer to better utilize space.
No closets or wardrobes.
Touch-up the paint job.
The website for the suites really needs a “makeover” (I almost didn’t book based on the websight.)

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travel_light_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2008

After my wife had to be rushed to the emergency room for a kidney stone the management refused to refund our money for a night. Money hungry is a big turn off for me and the place itself was a total sham, romantic, if maybe you came from a trailer park and enjoyed spending your honeymoon in a toned down motel 6. It is not romantic, the management is poor and the location is far from town AVOID.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank TravelingFamlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlpsRomance, Owner at Alps Romance Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

Unfortunately, the guests were angry after it was discovered that they were hiding their baby in the suite. The website clearly states that the suites are for adults only. The baby was discovered due to the baby crying during the night.

When we were notified by the guests that the wife was ill, we immediately offered to call 911. The guests stated that they preferred to drive to the emergency room. We called them a short time later and offered to bring the husband and their baby food from the local grocery store. When the husband asked for a refund for the 2nd. night it was given to him right away which was time-stamped by the Visa/Mastercard company.

We are disappointed that this guest was less than truthful about the actual events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Before you book - please read the comments thoroughly . We booked our anniversary stay at the Alps Romance Suite. Upon our arrival we found construction going on immediately next door to us - the room although it was clean does not have any windows - there are two sets of french doors in the unit but they cannot be left open when sleeping at night - there is no ceiling fan, no airconditioning - there is no place to hang any of your clothes - there was no housekeeping provided during our stay and worse of all - the hot tub was dirty - yellow scum floating around the perimiter of the tub - totally unacceptable - we tried to contact the manager at the address provided on 8th. Street but only found that place was closed down so the only way to communicate with the manager is by telephone - she will respond in person but the above complaints were left unresolved and only apologies were offered . What was supposed to be a romantic stay turned out not so and it is with regret we cannot and will not recommend this place for any length of stay in Leavenworth . -

Stayed: June 2008
9  Thank happyfolks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlpsRomance, Owner at Alps Romance Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2009

The guest is correct in that there was construction related to a new building next store. We were not given notice that the project had been given a building permit issued by the City of Leavenworth. However, when management immediately responded and saw that construction had started, the management immediately discussed the situation with the project owner.

The project owner displayed a valid building permit. It was explained that the guests did not like having construction nearby. The project manager was very gracious and agreed to do construction only during the limited hours of 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM. The project owner did not have to agree to this but was gracious enough to agree and we understood the needs of progress.

The guest is also correct in that the windows were removed and a 2nd. set of brand new French doors were installed. This was after many guests stated that they preferred to have another set of French doors in that particular suite so that they could get a wider view of the pond and lighted fountain.

The guests are not being truthful in regards to the air conditioning. There has always been air conditioning in all of the suites from the time that the lodge initially opened. In fact, the air conditioning is very strong with multiple features options on the unit which include a remote control, the ability to digitally set the exact temperature that you desire, the ability to create "waves" of air conditioned air as opposed to just one direction, and a complete air exchange system that refreshes the air quality every few minutes.

The guest are not correct in regards to the allegation of housekeeping needs. There is a stand-up notice that sits directly next to the television remote control (so that it is easily seen) that states that if there is anything that the guests need (sheets, more towels etc.) that all they have to do is call us at the number provided and that we would be happy to take care of their needs. The guests did not call us and at no time, did they request anything or we would have been happy to assist them as we do with all of guests.

In regards to the hot tub, it is always frustrating to us when guests put bubble bath into the hot tub. It is necessary to maintain the proper chemicals in all hot tubs. When additional substances such as bubble bath, bath oils, and/or alcohol are poured into the water, the water will become damaged and we have no other option but to completey drain the hot tub and put fresh water into the hot tub and then allow time for the hot tub water to reheat. The guest put bubble bath solution into the hot tub which spoiled the water. There has always been a sign next to each hot tub that clearly states that bubble bath solution etc is not permitted in the hot tubs and there is also an explanaition provided as to what will happen to the water. The same notice is also re-stated in the Guest Guide which is on display in each suite.
After pouring bubble bath into the water the guest wanted management to clean the water. After that type of solution is added to the water, the water can not be cleaned and the hot tub must be drained and refilled. We immediately drained and refilled the hot tub. However, the guest were not happy with the amount of time that the water needed to reheat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews