We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, clean and private.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leavenworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alps Romance Suites
Washington State
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean and private.”
Reviewed August 19, 2009

Our experience at the Alps Romance Suites was quite different than all the reviews to date. I didn’t find the reviews of about this place on Trip Advisor until after I had already booked and paid for the suite. To be honest, after reading them I was horrified! I nearly canceled the room and would have been willing to lose any deposit or money due to the cancelation. However, my wife insisted we go through with it and we were pleasantly surprised! It was wonderful!

The room was what I expected from the website and not anything like it was described in the reviews I read. No mold. No dirt. No microwave in the bathroom (but there were two sinks). No money-grubbing leprechaun waiting to steal my money when I feel asleep. No rude wait staff either! It was very nice actually to not have to wait on a desk clerk to click off IM and help you or sign and fill out paperwork to check-in. Our key was waiting in a lock box next to the door of the suite when we arrived. After checking out the room, we enjoyed some time in the hot tub which was already heated up and waiting for us. It was very clean and very private. The bed was very comfortable (and quiet). There was a refrigerator with sparkling cider (wish it would have been Champaign) and chocolates waiting for us. We had a full complement of coffee and tea for the morning as well along with a cork screw and bottle opener (we forgot ours). The sauna was a very nice touch, but since we had just endured a heat wave of 100+ degrees, we did not use the sauna. We had trouble accessing the Wi-Fi and contacted the management for assistance. They were very thorough and eager to help rectify the problem.

The suites are located about 3 blocks away from the downtown shopping area of Leavenworth. Unfortunately, I found the Alps Romance Suites via the Leavenworth Chamber of Commerce that lists their address on 8th Street, which is their business office. You really have to look closely on the Alps Romance Suites’ website (which needs some work) to find their location. However, after you book the room, they send you directions and instructions for entering. The walk isn’t bad. We easily walked more around the town than we did getting to and from the suite. The suites are very quaint and private.

Pros: The suites were nothing like the reviews posted prior to this review!
The management was very helpful and friendly.
Nice, clean, private hot tub locate in separate gazebo.
Rooms were clean.
Plenty of towels.
Provided robs.
Very quiet at night and during the day.
In room refrigerator.
In-room sauna.
Cable TV.
Wi-Fi

Cons: Considering the hot tub, sauna, and privacy, I still think the price is a little high.
It is not in town, but a nice walk, again I think this should lower the rate because of that.
Rooms could use a professional designer to better utilize space.
No closets or wardrobes.
Touch-up the paint job.
The website for the suites really needs a “makeover” (I almost didn’t book based on the websight.)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel_light_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    2
    4
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
45
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keizer OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

After my wife had to be rushed to the emergency room for a kidney stone the management refused to refund our money for a night. Money hungry is a big turn off for me and the place itself was a total sham, romantic, if maybe you came from a trailer park and enjoyed spending your honeymoon in a toned down motel 6. It is not romantic, the management is poor and the location is far from town AVOID.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — The management, and location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelingFamlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlpsRomance, Owner at Alps Romance Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2009
Unfortunately, the guests were angry after it was discovered that they were hiding their baby in the suite. The website clearly states that the suites are for adults only. The baby was discovered due to the baby crying during the night.

When we were notified by the guests that the wife was ill, we immediately offered to call 911. The guests stated that they preferred to drive to the emergency room. We called them a short time later and offered to bring the husband and their baby food from the local grocery store. When the husband asked for a refund for the 2nd. night it was given to him right away which was time-stamped by the Visa/Mastercard company.

We are disappointed that this guest was less than truthful about the actual events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leavenworth hotels

washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2008

Before you book - please read the comments thoroughly . We booked our anniversary stay at the Alps Romance Suite. Upon our arrival we found construction going on immediately next door to us - the room although it was clean does not have any windows - there are two sets of french doors in the unit but they cannot be left open when sleeping at night - there is no ceiling fan, no airconditioning - there is no place to hang any of your clothes - there was no housekeeping provided during our stay and worse of all - the hot tub was dirty - yellow scum floating around the perimiter of the tub - totally unacceptable - we tried to contact the manager at the address provided on 8th. Street but only found that place was closed down so the only way to communicate with the manager is by telephone - she will respond in person but the above complaints were left unresolved and only apologies were offered . What was supposed to be a romantic stay turned out not so and it is with regret we cannot and will not recommend this place for any length of stay in Leavenworth . -

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
9 Thank happyfolks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlpsRomance, Owner at Alps Romance Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2009
The guest is correct in that there was construction related to a new building next store. We were not given notice that the project had been given a building permit issued by the City of Leavenworth. However, when management immediately responded and saw that construction had started, the management immediately discussed the situation with the project owner.

The project owner displayed a valid building permit. It was explained that the guests did not like having construction nearby. The project manager was very gracious and agreed to do construction only during the limited hours of 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM. The project owner did not have to agree to this but was gracious enough to agree and we understood the needs of progress.

The guest is also correct in that the windows were removed and a 2nd. set of brand new French doors were installed. This was after many guests stated that they preferred to have another set of French doors in that particular suite so that they could get a wider view of the pond and lighted fountain.

The guests are not being truthful in regards to the air conditioning. There has always been air conditioning in all of the suites from the time that the lodge initially opened. In fact, the air conditioning is very strong with multiple features options on the unit which include a remote control, the ability to digitally set the exact temperature that you desire, the ability to create "waves" of air conditioned air as opposed to just one direction, and a complete air exchange system that refreshes the air quality every few minutes.

The guest are not correct in regards to the allegation of housekeeping needs. There is a stand-up notice that sits directly next to the television remote control (so that it is easily seen) that states that if there is anything that the guests need (sheets, more towels etc.) that all they have to do is call us at the number provided and that we would be happy to take care of their needs. The guests did not call us and at no time, did they request anything or we would have been happy to assist them as we do with all of guests.

In regards to the hot tub, it is always frustrating to us when guests put bubble bath into the hot tub. It is necessary to maintain the proper chemicals in all hot tubs. When additional substances such as bubble bath, bath oils, and/or alcohol are poured into the water, the water will become damaged and we have no other option but to completey drain the hot tub and put fresh water into the hot tub and then allow time for the hot tub water to reheat. The guest put bubble bath solution into the hot tub which spoiled the water. There has always been a sign next to each hot tub that clearly states that bubble bath solution etc is not permitted in the hot tubs and there is also an explanaition provided as to what will happen to the water. The same notice is also re-stated in the Guest Guide which is on display in each suite.
After pouring bubble bath into the water the guest wanted management to clean the water. After that type of solution is added to the water, the water can not be cleaned and the hot tub must be drained and refilled. We immediately drained and refilled the hot tub. However, the guest were not happy with the amount of time that the water needed to reheat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olympia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

We started our search on the internet for a romantic getaway for our 11th anniversery. We soon came upon what looked like the perfect place to stay. Perfect for one, because the address given for the Alps Romance Suites was 222 8th st. However, upon arrival we soon discovered this was not true at all. after a local business owner helped us to contact the owner via telephone, we got the real directions to the Suites. It turns out they are well away from all the main shopping area, as we first thought. We were thinking, that's all right. they sould still be very nice. When we finally located the Alps Romance Suites, It turns out that they are a single Four-plex building right on the street. Well at least theres a private hot tub. Think again, The hot tub can clearly be seen from the street. Upon further inspection the hot tub can also be seen from the side yard. Not only our hot tub, but the neighbors hot tub as well. Very dissapointed, we entered the room. The first thing we noticed was the beat up paint job on the walls. We also noticed what appeared to be mold on the baseboards by the frech doors. We sat on the bed and all we heard was a series of squeaks and creaks. So I gave the bed frame a gentle shake. Besides the noise, It felt as though it would fall apart while we slept on it. According to the web site there was to be no unnecessary noise in the room. Well I guess there will be no "romance" on that bed! Next we move to the Bathroom. How unsanitary is it to have your microwave and wine chiller on the bathroom sink right next to the toilet. GROSS! Besides the fact that the web site shows a double sink in the bathroom. There was only one. We had had enough. We filled out the comment card and left immediately. Luckily we were able to find another hotel room elsewhere. When we got to our new hotel room we got on the internet and found the owners phone number to contact her and let her know that there was no way we were going to stay there, and we would be seeking a full refund. She replied that when we booked the Suite a month ago, the money became NON_REFUNDABLE. If this was the last place in leavinworth to stay, I would sleep in my car.

  • Liked — In room Sauna is a great idea, However, we were not there long enough to use it.
  • Disliked — Location, Unprivate Hot tubs, Bed, Mold.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank mcintyrejt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlpsRomance, Owner at Alps Romance Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2009
We feel that the guests have been less than truthful with their comments.

Each guest receives a Reservation Letter approximately two weeks prior to their arrival. The letter contains 3 short paragraphs that provide the address, driving directions, and the private access code for them to enter their suite. We provide this letter to each guests and the guests can not enter the suite without the access code. These guests had the access code because they entered the suite on their own so they clearly had received the Reservation Letter. During mountainous weather, there is a 4th. paragraph added to the letter which refers to any type of weather ocurrance that happens in a mountainous area. All of the paragraphs are on the front of a single page.

The guests are not being truthful regarding the distance from the suites to the shopping. In fact, Mapquest.com will reflect that the location of the suites is exactly 3 blocks to the start of all of the shopping. The guests became upset that they would need to walk 3 blocks to the shopping and chose to drive their car instead. The website clearly states the distance from the suites to the shopping which as Mapquest.com will verify is 3 blocks.

The guests have been less than truthful regarding the privacy for each hot tub. Each hot tub is enclosed in a brand new and beautiful gazebo. The gazebos each have 8 sides and each side has a cloth curtain that the guests can close if they so desired. Once closed, no one can see inside of the hot tub and, additionally, the guests can not see outside of their hot tub area. This provides a significant amount of privacy for each hot tub.

The guests were also not truthful about a mark that was near the floor molding on the wall. It was, in fact, a scuff mark and was easily wipped off with a moist towel. The guest used a close-up camera lens to exaggerate what was on the wall near the floor molding. We accept responsibility in that there should not have been a scuff mark near the floor molding. However, it clearly could be seen by the guest that it was a scuff mark and not mold. In Easter Washington, we experience very dry weather and virtually no humidity. It would be very difilcult for any type of mold to grow in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2008

This was the most horrible experience we have ever had. It started with both passes being closed, so they tried to [----] us over first by refusing us to refund us even though the town was practically empty due to lack of transportation. After [----] at them for the entire day, they decided "out of the goodness of their hearts" (WHAT A JOKE!) to let us reschedule within 60 days. They refused to refund us and they even charged us HOLIDAY rates when it wasn't a holiday weekend!

Upon arriving at what they call a lodge (it is a totally broken down nasty house with two "suites" in the basement!) we were so grossed out. There is ZERO privacy, you tromp through mud to get to your room, and the place desperately needs a paint job. The deck that drips into the "private" hot tub drips nasty mold water into the hot tub while you're sitting in it. There was mud and cloudy green water in the hot tub and white slimy residue on the top of the water. We would NEVER go in it if we were paid!

They will not refund you. They have all their customers as one time [----] over jobs. I can guarantee they never have repeat business, that place is a joke. We just had to swallow $225 and leave early because we didn't want to stay in that nasty place any longer.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank BlondeBikerBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlpsRomance, Manager at Alps Romance Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2008
It is always our desire to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us. We believe that the numerous comments from our guests on our website represent how much nearly all of our guest enjoy their stay at the Alps Romance Suites.

In this case, the guest were unhappy long before they even left their home to come to Leavenworth. There had been a terrible snow storm that had closed two out of the three mountain passes. There was one pass open but it would have required that the guest travel several extra hours. We extended courtesy to them in not having them travel the extra several hours as many of the other local lodging establishments required. Although we can not control Mother Nature we extended an offer to allow them to use their reservations for another date in the next 2 months of their choosing. The guest chose 2 weeks later. Their reservation was for 2 days. Although we were not required to extend the reservation we did. However, the guest then immediately demanded that they receive a further discount (because when they would be arriving two weeks later the holiday would have passed) even though we could not control Mother nature and we were not required to extend any part of their reservation. We felt that we were already extended a courtousy that was not required. The guest demanding a bigger discount (they had already received $40.00 off per night already through a promotion that we were having when they made their reservation) was unreasonable to us.

Upon their arrival the guest enjoyed the entire first day and night and did not call the office until well into the afternoon of the following day after their arrival.

At that point the guest called and stated that they could see something white in the hot tub. The hot tubs are cleaned and sanitized before and after each guest. We responded immediately and discovered that beer had been poured (Heniken - perhaps acidentally) into the hot tub. It was very difilcult for all of the staff members to communicate with the guest.

The guest commented that he and his companion had sat in the hot tub the previous night and had coffee while in the hot tub. The guests did not call upon their arrival or at anytime until well into the next day.

The review is not accurate. The lodge is a small lodge that has two levels. There is no basement to the building. There is only a first (ground) level and a second level. Each level has 2 suites for a total of 4 suites. There is complete privacy as no suite can see into any of the other suite as that is the design of the buidling.

Another area in which the review is not accurate is that the rate was not 225.00 it was 185.00. The guests stated to us that he really enjoyed all of the other amenities including the Infra-red sauna and the wine cooler.

We have guests that have returned several times over (especially on their anniversaries). Unfortunately, as much as we tried I am not sure that there was anything that we could have done to make this guest happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2008

The rooms are located in the basement of a residential building that is of moderate to poor quality construction. You could hear every footstep from the residents living upstairs beginning at 4:30 in the morning, the noise included a dog's footsteps as it ran back and forth over and over again. The building is located on a residential street with no views from the rooms.

The in-room sauna was a nice touch.

Check in was pleasant and the clerk was courteous and helpful. However the office was located about a mile away from the suites.

One of the reasons we chose this place was because they offered free wireless internet service. At 7:00am the internet wasn't working, I needed it for an important business meeting. I called three times between 6:30am and 9:30, no response until after 11:00. The off-hours number given on the voice mail message was inoperable.

I would not recommend this place to anyone, at $225.00 per night you can find something much nicer in Leavenworth.

  • Liked — The in-room sauna
  • Disliked — no view, noisy upstairs, poor internet access
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank flamrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAlpsRomance, Manager at Alps Romance Suites, responded to this review, March 2, 2008
It is always distressing to us if one of our guests is disappointed about anything.

What upset this guest was that he could not access the Internet. Inside each suite there is a Guest Guide located on top and in the middle of the eating table. To access the Internet the guest will need a web access key (an authorizing number) that is located on the 2nd. page of the Guest Guide. The first page is the welcoming page. The 2nd. page is the information page with information related to the suite such as how to access the Internet and how to turn on amenities in the suite etc. Unfortunately, the guest did not see this. Even more unfortunate, the after hours number that is listed in the Guest Guide as well as on display near the TV, and on the paperwork that each guest receives was not read properly by the guest and he had been calling a different number that was not associated with us. He was very angry that he did not get on to the Internet. This was the first time that a guest did not see the web access key number in the Guest Guide book. However, since that time, we have placed the number in an additional location on display near the TV.

We were not aware of noise from the guest above the suite. No other guests complained of hearing noises from any of the other guests staying at the inn. The inn does not allow pets and we are not aware of pets having been on the property at that time.

We are glad to hear that the guests enjoyed the Infra-red sauna and the HDTV and that check-in was pleasant and that the staff was courteous and helpful. That is important to us because we do everything we can to assist our guests and their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.6 mi away
Obertal Inn
Obertal Inn
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,836 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Leavenworth
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#6 of 17 in Leavenworth
635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alps Romance Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alps Romance Suites

Property: Alps Romance Suites
Address: 225 Prospect St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1028
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each suite has it's own private hot tub and sauna. Each hot tub is in it's own brand new gazebo that offers significant privacy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alps Romance Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing