We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to rent ski's and snowshoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osprey Rafting

Osprey Rafting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Osprey Rafting Company is the only local company that offers class 4 rapids in their private High Adventure put in on the Wenatchee River in Leavenworth Washington. Osprey’s professional and experienced guides have years of river experience. We’ve been Leavenworth’s hometown rafting company for over 20 yrs.(est. in 1991) and take great pride in supporting our local community. Rent Paddle Boards, Kayaks and tubes from our Osprey Paddle Shack. Book your white water rafting adventure on the Wenatchee River today!
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to rent ski's and snowshoes”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very attentive staff. Rented skis for first time skier and then next day snowshoes. Staff attentive and nice. Rates great. Would go again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Corinne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    16
    7
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Local ski and raft rental”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great service and good equipment! We rented alpine skis for Ski Hill. Staff is super friendly and efficient. It does take some time to get your equipment if they are busy. Optional rental night prior allows you to get on the slopes early. Prices seem quite reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LKBarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not so much”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Wenatchee River in early August is too low for a good rafting trip, at least on the portion that Osprey uses for tubing. You'd do better to go earlier in the year. We were scraping bottom most of the way. The folks are generally friendly but fairly vague in their instructions. At least it wasn't very expensive.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Entropy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent rafting”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Our guide, Pat Slasher, was great. We felt safe but we also had a lot of fun. I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Begonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So incredibly disorganized.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I wanted to go with a different company after seeing how much fun they were having coming down the river past Blackbird Island. That company was completely booked when we called so we called Osprey and they said they had room and the lady just sat there on the phone. No information, inquiry, anything. So I asked about tubing the river and she said sure, do you have a credit card and took my info. She then gave some very confusing instructions which didn't make sense. She said to just show up an hour early and she'd give us instructions and a map. So we show up to this mostly vacant lot with some broken down busses and drying out gear. A surfer dude-type greeted us and asked if we were going on some other trip and we said no. The girl behind the counter was totally out of it, didn't know any of the names of the roads and produced a horrible map with directions as to where we would go. She told us how to get there via landmarks. She'd already taken our name and then promptly forgot it so another employee came running out the door asking our name again when we were getting in the car. These same ladies had told us that "we close at 3, so you can go until then". Since the other company was either a 3 mile or 5 mile run that took hours, we thought this would be great. We could tube until 3:00. They tell you to park in the orchard. Well, you can imagine 3-4 cars lined up in an orchard aisle could create a problem since people are going on all different kinds of trips. People got blocked in, it was a mess. Like a previous poster said, they keep your keys out in the open. Every young person working there calls every man "bra" as though they are really hippie surfers in California. "What's up, bra?" "Hey, bra". So, I get that this is a summer job for people in their 20's but everyone seemed to be smoking a little too much weed to be helpful. They were all very nice, just not very helpful. So we got our tubes and a briefing on the river pitfalls and that it would take about 90 minutes. My wife and I looked at each other and said, I guess they just keep bringing you up until 3? We did the river and then asked where to go to be picked up and were told, "no bra, it's just one run, man". My wife pointed out that they may want to communicate that more clearly to the office staff and the kid offered to have us speak with a more senior staff but we decided to call it a day and leave. We will not be returning to Osprey. Too much left to chance. Oh, and with the hundreds of people that come through each day, there is one port-o-potty and no where to change out of your wet clothes.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osprey Rafting also viewed

 

Been to Osprey Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing