We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”
Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Obertal Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed July 20, 2007

A group of friends and I were traveling through the area on motorcycles and used this as one of the stopping points across Washington. Nice hotel. Clean rooms. Great location to walk around Leavenworth. It was nice to be able to stay off the bikes for the evening and just walk to dinner and around the town. Decent continental breakfast. Nice views from the balcony. I want to bring my family back here for a visit.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank gb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,040
    591
    150
    24
    4
See reviews for
543
901
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

Location, location, location. This hotel is located very close to the "downtown" area near the shops and restaurants. The parking lot looks like it could be tricky when busy if you're driving an SUV or a large pickup. When we were there, it wasn't busy, so no problems. The room was clean and the bed was nice also. The room had a small fridge and a microwave, both of which worked just fine. The place has a pretty nice hot tub as well. The continental breakfast was your normal, although the frozen waffles were pretty good. I don't know about summer rates, but definitely worth it during the off-season.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank BoiseBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedro Woolley, WA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

Went to Leavenworth in the middle of the week to view the Fall colors, I booked with the Opertal Inn. It seemed like a good deal, $99 for a King Suite with a balcony looking out on the mountains. While the Opertal has an excellent location, I was surprised at how small their "suite" was. The television cabinet/chest of drawers was in the middle of the room. When I looked behind it, the fridge, microwave and coffee maker was hidden behind it. The balcony looks out onto the buildings across the street, but you do have a mountain view if you walk out and look off to the right. Balcony is not big enough to sit on, even if they did provide a chair. Hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. Really not a bad deal if you aren't expecting a "suite". Also I would suggest something on the third floor, we were on the second and I think the people above us (very early risers) must have been doing gymnastics! Overall, we really did have a good trip and I would probably stay there again.

  • Liked — Excellent location, right in town
  • Disliked — noise from room above
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WoolleyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2006

We stayed four nights mid-week during Oktoberfest--the first week of October 2006.
The location of the Obertal Inn is perfect. Everything was within easy walking distance. We didn't have to drive anywhere except to visit nearby towns.
The mattress (king bed) was heavenly! The best sleeping I have had in years!
The wireless Internet connection was important during our stay, since I teach online and needed to stay in touch with my students.
The staff was friendly and helpful with directions and information. Even the complimentary breakfast was good--a nice variety and good supply.
The room was clean and very comfortable with lots of good lighting! And we had a mini fridge, a coffee maker and a microwave in the room--what a convenience!
Thank you, Obertal Inn! We had such a good time visiting Leavenworth.

  • Liked — location , amenities (incl Internet ), comfort, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid the weekend Oktoberfest crowds--go mid-week like we did; all the benefits of decorations, music, food , shopping-- without the crowds
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Eileen59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 22, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Obertal in June of this year. The Obertal has the cleanest rooms in any place we have stayed!

The staff is very friendly, such a feeling of home. We enjoyed the breakfast (expanded continental) and the out door hot tub.

One of the best parts of our stay was being right in the heart of the village. Such convenience! The adorable village is literally steps from your door. The cost is very afforable too. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2006

My fiance & I stayed at the Obertal Inn in May, 2006. The town itself is darling - tacky as hell, but a really interesting place to spend a day or 2. The hotel is located about 2 blocks from the main street, so it's close to just about everything. The front desk staff were very helpful, friendly & accommodating, & were more than happy to suggested restaurants when we asked.

We ended up choosing the deluxe suite with a hot tub right in the room for US$149/night. There are 4 of them, I think, but the front desk person said that 2 of the rooms were closed for renovation. The room was large, very clean, & furnished in typical hotel-style unoriginal decor, which was fine. The cost included a buffet-style breakfast of bagels, cereal, coffee, juice, etc. Again, nothing fancy, but it was sufficient.

The only issue we had was with the toilet - it wouldn't flush! We went back down to the front desk & asked for a plunger, which they cheerfully provided. We didn't think much of it until the next morning, when I heard someone plunging the toilet in the room beside us! That made me wonder if that was the reason why the other 2 deluxe suites were closed - maybe the "renovation" was a problem with their pipes?

Overall, I might stay at the Obertal again, but US$149/night seemed a little expensive for what we got. It was clean & the location was great, but it wasn't luxurious by any means.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lil_amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
1,031 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 17 in Leavenworth
409 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpine Rivers Inn
Alpine Rivers Inn
#8 of 17 in Leavenworth
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#5 of 17 in Leavenworth
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Property: Obertal Inn
Address: 922 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village. We have a variety of lodging options, from a plain hotel room to a 3 bedroom townhouse. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. Our townhouses, apartments and, suites offer excellent accommodations for families traveling together. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Four King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing