We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not much more to ask for”
Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Obertal Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Super close to everything, comfortable beds, nice shower. No not exactly upscale however in the context of Leavenworth and the surroundings, fits in quite nicely. The gal who runs the place, I believe Pam, is super helpful and accomodating. Oktoberfest weekend is jammed but they provided a quiet atmosphere along with parking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,855 - 1,861 of 2,068 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Although the new 2 bedroom condo accommodations were more than we really needed, we were very happy to have stayed there. The condo is fully equipped, with the exception of an iron and ironing board. The decor is lovely, and the furniture and beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is not included in the price of the condo rental, but is available for $8 per person in the main hotel building, which is across the street. The condos are built above some retail space, so there are stairs to climb if that's a concern for travellers. Location is great - right in the heart of the town. You really wouldn't need to get in the car to do or see anything in Leavenworth. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emeraldgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Rooms are nice size and comfortable, decor is average; quiet except for that early morning garbage truck. The breakfast is great, and the location is excellent. Carrying our cooler and other bags up to the third floor on an outside staircase was a surprise.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaInOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The rooms are clean and large. The location of the hotel is wonderful and the breakfast was great too. However, that is where the positive experiences for our stay ended. Since the hotel is pet friendly, we took our dog with us. We found it interesting that they put us in a second story room with a dog. The front office would not let us switch to a first floor room. The bathroom area for dogs is across the street which was somewhat annoying. The other annoying aspect is the garbage trucks run at around 5-7am and are very loud. My dog is scared of garbage trucks so we didn't get a lot of sleep. In addition, the front desk staff was rude when we checked in. They did not inform us prior to arriving that we can only have one vehicle in the parking lot. If another person in your party comes separate they have to park on the street (Oct-@March you cannot park overnight on the street). Lastly, there was no irons in the rooms. There are two for the whole hotel to share at the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wine-o_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We thank you for posting your review of our hotel online.

We are terribly sorry that you will not be returning. As a hospitality business, we rely on our guests having a great experience and wanting to come back every year, or maybe even multiple times per year.

We are sorry that you had to cross the street to let your dog go potty. Unfortunately we are in the middle of town and there is really nothing we can change about that. Ditto for the garbage trucks. We have reached out to the city, who controls garbage collection, and asked them about the schedule. Unfortunately the garbage has to be picked up during those times due to it being in the alley and the alley must be ready to allow delivery trucks to come through beginning at 8am.

As for the parking, you are correct; there is only one spot for every room, however, in the confirmation email we send to every reservation, the following is stated about parking:

"Parking
Free parking is available on site. One parking spot is assigned per room. Should you arrive with multiple cars, only one car per room may be parked on the Obertal Inn lot, unless an exception is made by the Front Desk Agent.

Please be advised that over-night street parking is possible from April through October. Winter parking restrictions are strictly enforced during the winter months due to the need for regular snow removal activities."

We apologize that you did not notice that, but we make every effort to communicate clearly to all our guests as to what the parking situation is.

Staff being rude is completely unacceptable to us. We take great pride in being super helpful and friendly to all our guests. If we were not with you, please accept my apologies.

Sincerely,

Hans & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is not our first stay at Obertal, and it will not be our last. The Rooms are clean and have room for everything....It is walking distance to everything - Wonderful complimentary breakfast - Manager is professional AND warm - price is very good....Excellent - overall....

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martian58578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our room was on the second floor. The hotel is a walk up so not the best for some elderly folks. The room was very large and clean. Nice king sized bed. The complimentary breakfast was very nice.The staff were nice. The town is very pretty but is not a place we would go to again as you can walk thall the streets in half a day.

Room Tip: The secons floor was good and we had no noise above us,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melfordearl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in a room with a king sized bed with a very comfortable mattress. At one end of the room was an electric fireplace with two sitting chairs. They serve a great breakfast every morning, with fresh fruit salad, french toast, waffles, bagels, eggs, etc. The room included a 37" TV that we used to watch some movies.

The Obertal is located in the heart of Leavenworth, within very easy walking distance of the entire town.

The only suggestion that I'd make is that they increase the water pressure in the shower. The water more or less trickles out, where I prefer a strong stream of water that actually gives a massage action.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 19 in Leavenworth
2,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 19 in Leavenworth
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aspen Suites at The Icicle Village Resort
0.3 mi away
Linderhof Inn
Linderhof Inn
#4 of 19 in Leavenworth
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#13 of 19 in Leavenworth
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Address: 922 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range: $117 - $673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village. We have a variety of lodging options, from a plain hotel room to a 3 bedroom townhouse. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. Our townhouses, apartments and, suites offer excellent accommodations for families traveling together. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Four King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing