We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mom's 70th”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Obertal Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Whitefish, Montana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mom's 70th”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by up keep of hotel. We had a great stay the noise level above us was minimal. The breakfast was awesome...love the oatmeal with fresh chopped fruit. Everyone was helpful and I would definitely stay there again. Location was perfect, we parked our car and walked everywhere.

Room Tip: we liked being on second floor by outdoor seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    565
    144
    24
    4
See reviews for
512
856
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, WY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

On 8/15/2013 we stayed at the Obertal Inn. The staff was superb, helpful and friendly in every way. The Room was clean and comfy. The location was perfect. They were able to tell us about the attractions, the restaurants and answered every question we had. It was amazing to me to find that you could purchase wine and beer right at the front desk. The breakfast was lovely and the fresh fruit compote was special. I would recomment the Obertal to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPENNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved the location---walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants. Very clean, well kept rooms and the Included breakfast had FRUIT! Most free breakfasts do not have much fruit choices. We will come there again.

Room Tip: There are steps to the 2nd and 3rd floors so if you are unable to do steps , tell Hans and he will g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I unfortunately broke my ankle and needed a wheelchair to get around the town. The pharmacy where you can rent one didn't have any so the staff at the Obertal Inn went to the local senior centre and borrowed one for me at no cost! They totally saved the day(s).

The staff were so friendly and the outdoor courtyard area is perfect for sipping some wine after dinner and chatting with other guests. We will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

After driving for six hours from BC, all we wanted to do was check in and rest. Our room was ready when we arrived and check-in was seamless! Great staff; very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean, spacious and the beds were comfortable. The outdoor terrace on the second floor is fantastic! After great (long) days of shopping and exploring Leavenworth, I relaxed on the terrace. Great, quiet place to unwind. The breakfast room is a bit small but the food was excellent and plentiful. The location of the Inn is second to none; one block off Front street so you are able to walk everything! Yes the Inn is older but, I have stayed in 5 star hotels that couldn't hold a candle to the Obertal for service. I have already booked my stay for Christmas and am looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked a single room for two adults through an online booking service. Based on the reviews I read, I chose the Obertal Inn for a two day stay. We were pleased with the accommodations. While the building is obviously older, they have done a nice job providing comfort and convenience. The beds were comfortable and very nicely appointed. The room was clean and met our expectations. I enjoyed the outdoor sitting areas and did not miss the hot tub. The location one block off the main attraction street was quite nice as it allowed some space from other tourists. We enjoyed being close to the river front park, walking there each morning. Yes the breakfast area is small, the offerings were outstanding for "free breakfast." Good coffee, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, English muffins, toaster French toast and of course, freshly baked waffles with a very nice offering of different syrups all made for delicious choices. The Obertal Inn is a great option for accommodations in Leavenworth.

Room Tip: We had a double queen and were very satisfied. However, I know they have rooms with electric firepla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate the feedback and promise you that we will work very hard to keep the surprises coming.

Sincerely,

Hans Mulders
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great location only a block from the main shopping street. The room was spacious with a sitting area in front of an electric fireplace. We had a room with a balcony which had several flower boxes attached, faced the main street but not large enough to sit on, The hot tub was not working and beware there isn't an elevator, so be sure you request a room on the ground floor or hike the two fllights up with your bags. The breakfast area is small with limited seating adjacent to the office. A pet friendly motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback and work very hard to ensure we improve on our services based on every review.

We are terribly sorry our hot tub has been out of commission. We are in the process of replacing a 34 year old dangerous hot tub with a brand new commercial tub. The State, City and County are literally harassing us with the most mundane, and in our eyes, ridiculous, updated.

We are very hopeful that we have finally navigated all the roadblocks, we are just hoping the Federal Government isn't going to make us get a permit as well. :-). The hot tub should be operational by the end of September, mid October latest.

Sincerely,

Hans Mulders
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#12 of 17 in Leavenworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#6 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Property: Obertal Inn
Address: 922 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village. We have a variety of lodging options, from a plain hotel room to a 3 bedroom townhouse. Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. Our townhouses, apartments and, suites offer excellent accommodations for families traveling together. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Four King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing