We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kitschy but comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Obertal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Obertal Inn
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Kitschy but comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Obertal Inn is one black off the main drag in Leavenworth, and two streets north of the river and its lovely riverside park. The hotel is aging, although not quite decrepit. It has the faux-Bavarian theme that characterizes the whole town--Bavarian signage, German restaurants, endless south-German trinket-shops. The mountains are gorgeous, and this helps. We found our third-floor room comfortable, despite the age of the fixtures. There was peace and quiet after 10 p.m. when the second-floor hot tub finally closed. The hotel, like the rest of the town, charges as much as the market will bear (and then some); but the mountains are so beautiful that one forgives the greedy impulses of Leavenworth's hoteliers and shopkeepers. This hotel is unusual in one particular way: it offers an excellent breakfast, produced by establishment's capable staff.

Room Tip: There is no elevator--even so, it's best to take rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciceronian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    952
    551
    142
    22
    4
See reviews for
493
843
36
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The only good thing was it was pet friendly. For what we paid not worth it, stains on the carpet, the room smelled, shower only half power, Stale smell,for 140.00 not worth it, would of went all the way to Spokane for an stra night at the red lion which is 60 dollars cheaper and a gorgeous hotel and pet friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsallen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We truly apologize to this guest for their experience. We throughly inspected the room after they checked out and cleaned the room extra carefully. We are always disappointedwhen a guest is less than satisfied with their stay. One small calrification, the reviewer indicates that "$140" was paid. Although that was indeed the total bill, this guest's actual room rate was $98.10. There were two pets in the room and we do charge extra for the pets. When state taxes are included, the total was indeed $140.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

It was in the middle of town, it was quite, and the deck was very inviting , and the staff were very helpful. The rooms were satisfactory, and the breakfast was good. We were here just one night, if you were to go river rafting, hiking, or other recreational sports, stay another night. The beer was cold , and the food, okay.

Room Tip: upper floors were next to the deck, you may find it noisy, we were on the lower side, it was just fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rologo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for leaving your feedback. We strive to improve our service and our product every day. We appreciate it when those efforts are recognized by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for one night. This hotel is right in town one block off the main street. It was clean, quiet and OK. Nothing special. The room had been upgraded with a granite counter top for the dressing area. Microwave and Refr that is handy. The toliet was the shortest and smallest toliet I had ever used and was more like a child size toliet. Strande for sure!
Also we were on the second floor with no elevator which was not bad but I would not of wanted to be any higher. Bed was very comfortable with nice linens. Flat screen TV. The breakfast was OK. The eating area was very small and crowded. We just happened to pick a busy time with no place to sit but by the time we dished out our food the place was cleared out. The room needed to be picked up a bit as people are messy and some of the items needed to be checked on and replaced. i.e. we had to find the attendant and ask for some orange juice.
But all in all I would stay there again and was pleased with price and location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet21215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Clean and comfortable, continental breakfast with great selection, love the deck area. Off the main street, so it is quiet, yet don't need to drive anywhere. Will come back again. Obertal Inn will be moving up the ratings chart quickly!

Room Tip: Some rooms have better amenities. Check them out. Netflix, fireplace, soaking tubs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gffjck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed just overnight, but first trip to Leavenworth and for my bday. Got there and was greated by nice lady at desk, gave our puppy a bone :) and off to our room. We were a little unsure if what to expect inside honestly. But was just perfect size, AC was nice, bed/pillows sooo comfy...and you don't see mini fridges microwaves anymore. Bathroom was tiny and our romote didn't work, but nothing too annoying. Cute little deck with tables/couches to relax in. After it cooled down outside we had some drinks with our puppy and enjoyed that. Check out was a bit early that would be the only biggest complaint honestly, 12/1pm be better. We didn't get to tryout the waffle bar there, smelled good though! We will be back, great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CNA78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans M, Owner at Obertal Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We very much appreciate your kind comments. We agree that the check-out time is kind of a bummer. Unfortunately we need the time to turn around the rooms for the next guest. We always try to accommodate special requests like early check-in or late check-out. Ask me or my wonderful employees and we will do everything possible to accommodate your request. Please keep in mind that it is not always possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a great stay here, the room was large and very comfortable. Our suite had a jetted tub, large enough for two. We added a few scented candle's filled up the tub and the romance of marriage did the rest. Being right in town and having covered parking was an extra treat, though we did not drive anywhere that week end. Another advantage was you didn't have to try to find parking in such a busy shopping town.

Room Tip: For sure get the jettted tub suite, great way to relax after a full day of shopping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leavenworth hotels
0.1 mi away
Bavarian Lodge
Bavarian Lodge
#1 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Icicle Inn at Icicle Village Resort
0.4 mi away
Enzian Inn
Enzian Inn
#2 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Anna
Hotel Pension Anna
#4 of 17 in Leavenworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Der Ritterhof Inn
Der Ritterhof Inn
#11 of 17 in Leavenworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
Fairbridge Inn & Suites
#12 of 17 in Leavenworth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Obertal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Obertal Inn

Property: Obertal Inn
Address: 922 Commercial St, Leavenworth, WA 98826-1414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Leavenworth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Leavenworth
#5 Family Hotel in Leavenworth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Leavenworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Obertal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please accept a heartfelt welcome as we invite you to spend a night (or two or three) at the Obertal Inn; we are one block from everything in downtown Leavenworth, also known as "Little Bavaria." Explore the shops, enjoy fine European cuisine and soak up the tranquility of our beautiful village.Our tastefully appointed guest rooms have two Queen or one King bed. All rooms have a small refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, and LCD TV. High speed wireless internet is free for hotel guests and is available in every room. All King rooms have electric or wood burning fireplaces and have a 37” LCD TV with a Blu Ray DVD player. Two King rooms have Spa Tubs in the room to enjoy a luxurious soak after your busy day. Wake up to breathtaking mountain views and enjoy a wide variety of foods on our breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Obertal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Obertal Hotel Leavenworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing