We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful way to celebrate our anniversary”

Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 89 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bremerton, Washington
1 review
“Wonderful way to celebrate our anniversary”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was a wonderful experience. My husband and I made a reservation to celebrate our 10 year anniversary based on the other reviews we read on TripAdvisor. It was perfect. The view was beautiful, complete with a Doe snacking out the window. The meal was great, no complaints about anything. Service was very good, the gentleman that served us (feel terrible that I forgot his name) was wonderful, had a great amount of information about the area and the food/wine we had without being overbearing. My husband and I are planing our next get away so we can stay at the lodge instead of just coming for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you Jamie for your gracious review. With the busy Oktoberfest taking place in Leavenworth, Mountain Home Lodge can make for nice dining getaway. Sometimes its hard to believe the Lodge is just 3 miles from downtown Leavenworth, when looking out over our 20 acre meadow from our dining room. We hope to see you again the near future. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    2
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
194 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good Food but Overpriced”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Maybe you are paying for the view which in our case, there wasn't one that evening as it had been raining all day. Maybe if we seen epic mountain views while dining we would have rated this $150 dinner for two higher. At any rate, the setting and décor is nice and the lodge is very nicely located. We found the alcohol choices limited and the pours very rare, especially for the price. The brie appetizer was excellent but spare. The salad and bread were delish. The main entrée of tenderloin, mashed potatoes and vegetables was somewhat underwhelming. It's never good to pay $150 if you can cook it better at home. Luckily I wasn't eating all of mine so my husband could have enough. The crème brulee wasn't crème brulee but the custard was good. Not sure if we'd ever go back. Maybe if there was a different menu and it was a clear day, to give the place a second chance. Also, we were very young for the crowd up there. We had an okay time. We actually had a better meal at Visconti's for about $50 less. If you go to Visconti's, highly recommend the lamb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review which we sincerely appreciate.  The weather was unfortunate with nearly record rain fall throughout the Pacific northwest the entire weekend.  Fortunately, our native deer braved the weather for our guests to enjoy; even the bear came to the orchard later in the evening.  We apologize for the confusion with our non traditional creme brûlée which Chef Ron chose to use caramelized bananas as the topping instead of a traditional crisped sugar glaze.  We hope when visiting the Leavenworth area again you will consider Mountain Home Lodge.  We will hope mother nature improves her view and you find our cuisine meeting your expectations in the near future. 

Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gourmet mountain dining”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The food could not have been better. The staff was accommodating to individual preferences. Breakfast was beyond the usual muffins and yogurt. A complete breakfast.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chisoxdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We too look forward to good cuisine when traveling. Having a complete breakfast is a great start to a day full of adventure. We noted on your hotel review that you also thoroughly enjoyed dinner at Mountain Home Lodge. Our Chef creates each menu featuring the freshest ingredients available. The bounties of local summer produce inspire his presentations. Thank you for sharing your kind praises with future travelers. Sincerely, Brad & Kathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Meal in a Perfect Setting”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The meal was wonderful. We were so happy that we decided to eat here. Not only was the food top notch, but you could not beat the view out over the meadow.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KSminsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We so appreciate you mentioning our restaurant. First time guests can sometimes be hesitant to reserve a dinner table before arriving, but with just 10 private tables, reservations can be limited. Our Chef does take pride in providing the finest ingredients and making sure that dietary issues are taken care of for that specific guest. We look for to welcoming you back for another dining experience in the near future. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hmmm, call first...”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Ignore my number score as this revirw is just to let you know that you shouldn't make an unplanned visit to the lodgr for dinner. Two reasons - reservations only and it's a two-plus mile drive in on a dirt road that is mostly one lane.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank allened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtmhl, Owner at Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for comment. Our restaurant has always required reservations due to its unique approach. Our dining room has just 10 private tables overlooking our 20 acre meadow and into the Cascade Mountains. Dining begins at 6:30pm with fine wines and appetizers in our great room and surrounding decks with dinner following at 7:00pm to your private table. Our Chef select menu is custom tailored to the appropriate season. When making a reservation, it provides us the opportunity to discuss that evenings entree and make adjustments as needed for dietary issues a guest may have. Hopefully on a future visit we'll have an opportunity for you to enjoy the restaurant.

Sincerely,
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Home Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing