We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A miserable experience!”
Review of Cafe Christa - CLOSED

Cafe Christa
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: American, German, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Upstairs across from the Maipole featuring German and Northwest specialties with 11 German beers on draft.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We dined at Café Christa on June 11th. The service was excellent and the restaurant was clean, except for the restroom which was VERY filthy. The food was miserable at best. Virtually everything was tough and greasy and, of the seven of us in our party, only one actually enjoyed her meal. (She had no meat). We spoke with the server who reported our problems to someone in the kitchen and then told us that "...different meats have different flavors" and "the chef says everything is just fine." In short, we were all extremely disappointed with Café Christa. We loved Leavenworth and will return but it is a certainty that we will not patronize Café Christa again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin E, Manager at Cafe Christa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank You for letting us know that we disappointed you and your friends. We should have addressed things differently while you were here. We are going through several menu re-writes and adding items that are not your typical heavy German fair. This week we added a Rockfish filet with a lemon caper sauce. Also, I would like to apologize for the state of our restroom we are going through a remodel and once finished they should be a wonderful change.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 143 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We went to Cafe Christa for dinner with a party of 6. We were greeted quickly and the server was very nice, considering she was the only one working. Having lived in Germany for several years, we were looking forward to authentic German food, we were very disappointed. The schnitzel tasted old or like it was cooked in old grease. When we mentioned this to the server, she said she would talk to the cook. She came back a few minutes later and said the cook said everything was fresh. For the price, I would expect much better food. They do have a beautiful view, but it does not make up for the quality of the food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavin E, Owner at Cafe Christa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Laura G,

Thank you for your very frank comments, regarding the schnitzel you had at Café Christa. We are very sorry you were disappointed. We are new owners as of last month and hold ourselves to high standards of service and food quality. We would like the opportunity to prove this too you, so next time you are in town please ask for Gavin or Carl and we would be happy to buy your next dinner! Thanks for your time.

Gavin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My wife and I had a late lunch and were shown to a window table by the new owner. The food was very good to good, the service was excellent and the view was charming. Our only gripe is that the wine list is in a shambles as the new owner brings on his own choices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rwwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ate here many times before, but this time was special. The new owner greeted us personally and gave us a choice of tables. We opted for the window table and enjoyed the proceedings on Front Street. We ordered Jägerschnitzel and Frikadelle. The food was served in a reasonable time, was hot and tasty. Tracy, our waitress was very outgoing and extremely cheerful. Overall, a pleasant experience.
On our way out the owner introduced his son to us and we all parted with a handshake. We certainly will visit this friendly place again.

Thank Klausmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited Café Christa on Mother's Day. We were the first guests in when it opened at 11:30 and were greeted as if we were VIPs. Our table was excellent, right next to the windows overlooking Front Street. We could hear the music and see the dancing from our table. I got the special of the day, a pork schnitzel with a sour cream and bacon sauce. It was quite good. My daughter had the Monte Cristo sandwich, which was excellent. Our server was very friendly and attentive. We will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Christa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing