We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Breakfast Buffet was great!”

J. J. Hills Fresh Grill
Ranked #23 of 88 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: American, German, Grill, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: J J Hills Fresh Grill offers a wonderful fresh grill inspired menu. Join us for great dining in a relaxed atmosphere, and select Appetizers, Steaks, Starters and Entree Salads, Dinner Entrees, Burgers and Sandwiches and full cocktail service and a children's menu. You'll also find many gluten free and vegetarian items on the menu.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Breakfast Buffet was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Really impressed with the breakfast buffet. The toaster was really slow and the waffles were sticking to the waffle iron but I really loved the hot food. It was great. I ate so much that I didn't eat again till dinner! Will come to this hotel again!!

Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie509, Owner at J. J. Hills Fresh Grill, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello and Happy Summer.

Thank you very much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Karl Ruether
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    43
    18
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oley, pA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not So Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We were looking forward to first of many nights good eating in Leavenworth, but the JJ Hill dinner upset our stomachs and we had to take a night off. The drinks were the worst margaritas we'd had-- made by the waitress/manager rather than bartender. She was friendly, but drinks were awful. Then, the food wasn't great, either. Vegetables were fine. Salmon was less than average tasty. Steak was average. Desert was okay.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie509, Owner at J. J. Hills Fresh Grill, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to our restaurant. We really appreciate our guests feedback good and bad so that we can use each opportunity to improve what we do.
It looks like we failed you. Please accept my sincere apologies.
I will discuss this with my team and make sure it will not happen again. We constantly strive for excellence and it is very disappointing to us when we don't reach that goal.

Have a great Summer.

Karl Ruether
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

I enjoyed their sautéed vegetables; the service and the food was good. It was a little windy on the patio but the server was gracious about moving us inside.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 113CPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie509, Owner at J. J. Hills Fresh Grill, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello and thank you for your kind words, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Karl Ruether
Owner?General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food / Bad Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Do yourself a favor, have dinner in town, you'll enjoy it much more!! The attitude of the servers at JJ's is they would rather be doing anything else but serving customers, and the food is mediocre at best.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie509, Owner at J. J. Hills Fresh Grill, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hello.

It looks like we failed you. Please accept my sincere apologies. We will use your comments to improve our service and everything we are doing in our restaurant. We strive for great food with excellent service every time. I am sorry we missed the mark here.

Sincerely,

Karl Ruether
Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Take your chances”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Agree with other reviewers who think the food is average at best. The meat in my dish was overcooked and old, actually inedible. The restaurant gave us a partial refund because of that. My husband's pasta dish was pretty good. I definitely wouldn't eat dinner here again. However, if you are staying at the Best Western, in which this restaurant is located, the included breakfast buffet was excellent, at least at 7:00 am when it opened. Don't know if they keep up the quantity/quality as the morning progresses.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ready_2_retire_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J. J. Hills Fresh Grill also viewed

 
Leavenworth, WA
 

Been to J. J. Hills Fresh Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing