We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brats & Beer!”
Review of Munchen Haus

Munchen Haus
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Leavenworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: When we first started München Haus, we had visions of an outdoor eatery and beer garden where family and friends could meet to experience a taste of Germany in the beautiful Alpine town of Leavenworth. It is with the help of our families and wonderful, dedicated employees that we are able to offer a unique Leavenworth dining experience.
Algona, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brats & Beer!”
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Just like in Germany. Great German potato salad, too! Seating is outside with mist sprayers for the hotter weather and was comfortable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    676
    323
    66
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed. It's like an expensive Costco sausage.”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

We just tried this restaurant, for something new. We love German food and were curious about what all the hype was...the lines are huge! We paid $20 dollars for two brats and sodas. Not a bad value; howevever, it was about the same as a polish sausage at Costco. In fact, I believe they used the same sauerkraut. Cleanliness was poor. The bench we sat on was sticky and dirty. We were going to sit inside the beer garden area, which actually had a nice atmosphere, until we saw vomit under one of the tables. Go to Andreas Kellar and have a nice meal for a similar price.

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jensons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela B, Owner at Munchen Haus, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
We were so sorry to hear about your recent experience at Munchen Haus! We are a small family owned restaurant and we strive to always provide an amazing customer experience at Munchen Haus. Please feel free to email me at munchenhaus@gmail.com so that we can remedy any dissatisfaction you experienced. We strive to provide the highest quality ingredients with hand-crafted sausages made in the Northwest by Bavarian Meats and Jahr's European Sausage. Again, we are so sorry and hope you will return to give us another chance! Take care, Pamela Brulotte, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
696 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Exactly What you Want While in Leavenworth!”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

It was nice finding a unique spot amongst so many usual touristy things… which I guess could be said about this as well. As far as we could tell, the only seating was outdoors which is just what we wanted anyway. You ordered your food when you first get there - not many options but the essentials were there and they were good! Once you go find your seat, there is a place to order drinks. They make the food fresh so we had to wait for our food but it was fine considering we were chatting, getting beer and looking at the place. No one disliked anything they got so try whatever you'd like.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Layla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not for Everyone - Just for lovers of Beer & Brats!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Our extended family visited in August, and although most of us loved the place, two did not! But then, they don't like German sausages or 'real' beer (they prefer Coors Light ...) If you do like those things, this place can't be beat. It is entirely outdoor seating (they've installed table-top gas heaters at many tables for colder days/evenings), the hanging baskets and flower pots are beautiful (typical for Leavenworth), and they have live music. You place your order at the counter, and they give you a buzzer which lets you know when to pick up. It's certainly not fancy, but the sausages are all very tasty, they have a huge vat of warm sauerkraut and a great selection of different mustards, as well as an outstanding on-tap beer list. So much fun and tasty food - we never miss it when we visit Leavenworth.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betty08WhiteRock_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great Eats”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Loved the Brats & Beer & Music. The only draw back were the flies, but I'm sure it was the time of year.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nugent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Munchen Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing